We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Palo Alto
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Like every Westin we have ever stayed at, this one also proved to be very nice. The location is perfect, within walking distance to the cute strip mall (Town & Country) and to downtown Palo Alto. We parked for free on the street because it is a safe area. Our son was not given a kid's fun pack by the receptionist as other reviewers mentioned -- not sure if our receptionist was having a bad day or just didn't remember. The rooms are very elegantly adorned and the bathroom is absolutely gorgeous! There is also fresh coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning which I greatly appreciated. Would definitely stay here again next time we travel to Palo Alto.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank cvliang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear cvliang,
Thank you for sharing your experience via Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit, including our rooms and bathrooms, location and added touches such as coffee and tea in the morning. I was disappointed to hear that your young one did not receive a Westin Kids' Club bag and will address with our team to ensure consistency in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 669 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Call me cheap or call me thrifty, but for what we paid for this room, it had BETTER be decent. It was quite nice, although we were at the far back of the property, and the hallways are more confusing than a halloween corn maze. Beds are awesome. Bath was exquisite, though the shower was a just tad cramped (with the sq feet in the bathroom, making the shower stall a bit larger wasn't an issue.) Seperate tub was a nice size. Staff was very nice to work with and did their best to assure we were happy. Overnight parking was $10, and valet was $15...so we figured for the extra $5 it was worth it to have them park our car; when you see the underground parking you'll probably agree to let them deal with it.
We stayed here because a family member was in nearby Stanford Medical Center. We paid $135 for a Saturday evening, $255 for Sunday (same room), and couldn't get Monday because the hotel was booked. If we'd been able to keep the room, the price rose to $419. The $255 I can understand and might grumble about (but would pay), but there's no way I would've stayed here for the $419 price quoted for Monday. I understand Microsoft vendors stay here often and get a great corporate rate. Yay them and boo me.
With a walking mall just down the street, we chose to have dinner in one of the many local restaurants rather than at the hotel. (Another in our party tried it and said the food was good, and moderately priced.) We talked to a Palo Alto cop who assured us this was a safe neighborhood for walking to local shops and nearby Stanford Mall.
Didnt use the wifi because it was $15/day and I have 3G in my tablet. Didnt try the pool due to chilly weather but some brave souls were out in it and it looked well-maintained. Various water features around the property give a nice, relaxing, backyard sort of feel. Despite the higher-than-I'm-used-to rate, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Quite, relaxing property. Great weekend rates, but find someplace else during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Doug R,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with the Trip Advisor community. We are pleased that you enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel. We understand that the rates in the area can be higher than many are used to and are pleased that you were able to take advantage of our lower weekend rates. We hope that your family member is fairing well.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Westin for our vacation in Palo Alto California. The hotel was spotless clean. The gentleman behind the reception immediately whipped together a goodie bag of gifts for our young kids. All of us had a fabulous time.

If you are looking for a quiet place to stay right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Silicon Valley, then this is the best place to stay. Especially so for families on vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RPI-Alum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear RPI- Alum,
It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your vacation at the Westin Palo Alto. I expect our team enjoys giving out the Westin Kids Club bags almost as much as the kids enjoy receiving them. We hope that you will come back and see us again.
All the best,
Tanya F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Not much has changed since I last stayed at the Westin Palo Alto five years ago. The hotel is comfortable and conveniently located, but customer service is not the hotel's strong point.

The staff is always polite and professional, but otherwise useless. Any special requests are met with a "sorry, we can't/won't do that." The staff at this Westin should read my other recent review for the Grand Hyatt Taipei and take some lessons - you're more likely get repeat business visitors if you try finding solutions rather than defaulting to "no."

On one evening, the hotel's internet service -- which is NOT free - broke. Multiple calls to the front desk got little more than a polite "I'm sorry" with no indication that the staff was trying to escalate the issue. If you're traveling on business, as I was, this is not acceptable, especially if the hotel charges about $15 daily for internet service.

The swimming pool had debris in it and didn't look like anybody had cleaned it in a while. (To be fair, the temperature outside never got above 60 while I stayed there, but that doesn't excuse a dirty pool.)

With all that being said, the beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean, the location is within walking distance to University Avenue, and the valet always returned my car quickly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NooYawkuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear NooYawkuh,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience via Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness, location and comfort of our hotel but disappointed that interactions with a member of our team left something to be desired. I would appreciate further details so that we are able to address and improve for the future. Please feel free to reach out to me at tfleming@pahotel.com. Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Over the last 4 years, I have stayed at numerous hotels in the Palo Alto area, and none come close to my great experience at the Westin. It has the best location to Stanford & downtown. It is always immaculate (the room, lobby, fitness & pool areas). The room rates are always reasonable for the value you are receiving. And my favorite reason for staying here is that the staff never says no! The front desk always accommodates any request I have, which is very refreshing. In the future, whenever visiting the Palo Alto area, I will always stay at the Westin.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This lovely hotel could appear to be too much like a museum where everything is beautiful but you don't want to touch it. The staff made all the difference in providing warmth and personality. Our check-in was prompt and efficient, though they won our 4 year old's heart. She was given a Westin kids pack that had a wonderful sun hat, "map of the world", and decorate your own postcards. What a surprise! We've stayed at other Westin properties but have never been offered such a sweet welcome for the kiddo. I'm not sure if we lucked into a more kid friendly property or if this is a new Westin program. Needless to say, after we unpacked in our spacious pool-view room, our little explorer was donning her new hat and pack.

Our room was bumped to a Starwood preferred room which gave us complimentary bottles of water and corner location. Our bathroom was the size of a small bedroom with a soaking tub on one side, an enclosed glass rain shower on the other. Our bed was luxurious and room super quiet, despite being next to a side street.

We did not eat in the hotel. Hubby used the gym and gave it the thumbs up. I should have worked out and taken advantage of the use of Nike workout clothes and shoes, as I did not bring my own. Hopefully this will be a feature in our next Westin stay so I can try it. Smart marketing.

Would love to stay here again as the location is prime and the room was perfect.

Room Tip: If you have the Starwood program but purchased on an external site, they still might upgrade you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The valet met our vehicle immediately and unloaded our baggage onto a cart (hanging the jackets, of course!). We were checked in and shown to our room in a very prompt and courteous manner. We were given information about the area and engaged in pleasant conversation on the way to our room. Our bags were brought into our room and set on the luggage racks. Our jackets were hung in the closet and our ice bucket was filled. We were asked if we need anything further or any other assistance. The room was very nice and overlooked a courtyard garden. The spa-like bathroom was beautiful with marble and contemporary fixtures. It was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJtraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
776 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
414 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palo Alto

Address: 675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#6 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: $153 - $737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Palo Alto 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California at The Westin Palo Alto hotel, adjacent to Stanford University, and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants, shops, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Starwood, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Westin Palo Alto
Palo Alto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing