We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Best Place to Stay in PA” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Palo Alto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Palo Alto
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Stay in PA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed here no less than 20 times for work. The location and staff cannot be beat. The price of the rooms varies so greatly that it goes from great deal to rip-off depending on the cost. But there really is no better place to stay in Palo Alto. It's a short walk to downtown PA for dinner. The bar is quiet at all times and offers some happy hour snacks. Business center is sufficient, as is fitness center. Although both seem small for the size of the hotel. The rooms are well appointed, clean, and comfortable. Bathrooms are large and most have separate shower/tubs. Valet is fast and room service is good food with better service. This hotel does nothing spectacularly, but does everything very well. This is my first choice for a room in Palo Alto.

Room Tip: I recommend a room on the second floor. That way, you needn't have to wait for the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTrav30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    188
    81
    25
    16
See reviews for
116
96
60
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

So it was bad enough arriving and walking into my room which like other travellers evoked a La Quinta or Best Western feel for $459 a night. Then to have a tiny cockroach climb past my business associates head and have a room service menu of chili con carne or something else terrible was too much. Never coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellnightmares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear travellnightmares,
I am very sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. I would appreciate it if you would reach out to me offline so that we might make amends, my email is tfleming@pahotel.com. It must have been very upsetting for you and your colleague and I hope that you will accept my sincerest apology Please know that I am probably as surprised as you to hear of the incident mentioned and we have addressed the matter accordingly. I am also sorry to hear that our limited overnight room service menu was not to your liking, I have shared this feedback with our Food and Beverage team for consideration. This overnight offering is intended as a convenience for our guests and we certainly want it to live up to the standard of our daytime offering.
Warmest Regards,
Tanya Fleming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've stayed in Westin hotels all over the world and this was one of the better Westin's I've stayed at. Here are some general comments on my stay.

Positives: - Service was very friendly and efficient. Everything I asked for was done on time and
effectively.
- Hotel is within walking distance to University avenue and the shops and restaurants in
downtown Palo Alto. Stanford University is more or less across the street. Thus the location is great for those with a stay focusing on Palo Alto.
- Rooms are clean and quite comfortable with all the needed amenities. Room had two free bottle waters which is not common for hotels in the US. I also received free Wifi as an SPG member.

Negatives: - The only one I could think of is that the hallways that lead to your room are a bit windy and confusing. This is nothing that the Westin can control at this point and wasn't a major issue.

Overall I had a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel for those staying in the Silicon Valley area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJtoSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Located right across the street from Stanford campus and close proximity to downtown Palo Alto. Great staff at front desk (Junious always welcomes me back by name) , restaurant and bar (Marilyn is the best!). Large, comfortable rooms, cozy sitting areas in lobby, and great breakfast buffet. I stay here four to five times a year and always have an exceptional stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLR179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Spent a night here for a birthday celebration. This was a nice room. I was fortunate enough to stay in a room with the fireplace and jetted tub. Its a nice sized room with a loveseat in front of the fireplace and flat screen tv. The bathroom was pretty large, with the shower and toilet in one room and the vanity and jet tub in the other part. Shower had double dual head showers. This was a very nice hotel that I'd definitely stay at again. It was on the pricey side for us, but a nice stay and worth it.

Room Tip: "Away from an elevator" is a good walk from the elevators. Fireplace rooms are on 1 and 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Pros:

- Oversized room in great condition with all the very best of comfy Westin trappings
- Beautiful large bathroom
- Friendly, well trained staff (GREAT lobby bartender and front desk clerks)
- Easily accessible, reasonably priced self parking
- Prime location in Palo Alto near Stanford and the downtown area
- Homey, elegant feel to the entire property

Cons:

- Room service food quality (particularly dinner) is downright awful
- Hallway and neighboring room noise was excessive, even with minimal occupancy
- Long walk through the windy hallway to the room proved mildly cumbersome at times
- Ancillary costs for bottled water, food, beverages, and service fees border on unreasonable

Summary:

This hotel is well managed. The base room rates seem fair and reasonable. Definitely stay here, but eat elsewhere -- the property is in need of major improvements to the room service food offerings.

Room Tip: Rooms away from El Camino Real are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTrekPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was in Palo Alto recently for a visit to the Stanford campus. My husband made reservations at the Westin Palo Alto, and it was a great choice. The Westin is located right across the street from campus. Stanford is a large campus of about 1700 acres. Getting around could be difficult, but the Westin is just across the street. The Westin is located very close to the downtown Palo Alto shopping and restaurant scene, and just a couple of blocks from the Palo Alto Transit Center where a person can get the CALTRAIN to San Francisco or the lower peninsula, as well as several buses which service San Mateo and Santa Clara Counties. Marguerite, the Stanford shuttle, also stops at the Palo Alto Transit Center. So, the hotel's location is a real plus. The hotel itself was pleasant and offers food. The breakfast buffet was basic, not imaginative, and not particuarly good. That is really my only low point. The rooms were pleasant and services were very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosalie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#16 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
2.1 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palo Alto

Property: The Westin Palo Alto
Address: 675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#7 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Palo Alto 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California at The Westin Palo Alto hotel, adjacent to Stanford University, and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants, shops, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Westin Palo Alto
Palo Alto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing