We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great stay the way it should be.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Palo Alto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Palo Alto
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great stay the way it should be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at the Westin Palo Alto recently for a wedding. There is nothing outstanding about the Westin, but there's nothing negative either. It's in a great location. The rooms are great. The service was great. The bed was comfortable and I enjoyed a wonderful restful sleep. The gym is adequate for a hotel. The pool looked great, but I didn't have time to make it out there.

I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    182
    78
    24
    15
See reviews for
108
91
59
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
333 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We were here on business & used limited facilities, so can only tell you about that. The bedrooms were very spacious and do too was the bathroom. I returned to my room after the first night and house keeping had not visited my room, so I requested they did. Breakfast was superb and there was plenty of choice from th buffet to a la carte. Service was good. The bar closes at 23.45 so don't stay here if you want a late drink.

The hotel was well located for Silicon Valley and the Stanford Mall and, of course the Uni. Certainly would return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Youngklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Park the car and leave it. The Westin is conveniently located with walking distance of Stanford University (across the street) University Ave. shops and restaurants, Stanford Mall (Macy's, Bloomingdales, Microsoft and Apple stores etc.), Town & Country shopping center (more shops and restaurants) and Cal Train. We used SPG points and enjoyed their pool, cozy bar, and great location to visit our son and his wife.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GEOAHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stay here annually when I travel for work, and this place never lets me down. The front desk staff are the best and the most helpful. The valet parking attendants are the friendliest and most professional. The rooms are so very nice and spacious, clean and so relaxing. I cannot think of anything bad to say about this hotel at all!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tnn1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A great place to stay for Standford Football. Our upgraded room was large and comfortable. Saturday we walked a few blocks over to the Stanford game. Sunday we had wonderful brunch, complete with chocolate fountain. We will do it again next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Westin Palo Alto is a very nice hotel - rooms, amenities and location are quite good. But it's really annoying 1) to be charged for internet access and 2) then to be double charged - twice. I am still trying to get the extra charge removed from my bill a week later.

Room Tip: This hotel has a lot of very long hallways. If you want to be close to the elevator, make sure to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RKTrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Last Saturday my family and I attended the Stanford vs. Washington State football game and decided to book a night at the Westin Palo Alto for the night. The Stanford stadium is a short walk away from the hotel and very convenient. After a great football game, we walked back to the hotel for our relaxing night's stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was outstanding! Plenty of room for our family of 5. The beds were amazingly comfy. Our balcony/patio from our 5th floor room had a great view. We ordered room service and the food arrived quickly and was delicious. We went for a swim in their very nice pool as well. All in all a great stay and I will stay there again the next time we go to a Stanford football game.

Room Tip: Go for the 5th floor if you want nice views of the South Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris101264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westinpaloaltoGM, General Manager at The Westin Palo Alto, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Chris101264,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We're pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, our hotel, your room and the proximity to the Stanford stadium. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again this Season or next.
All the best,
Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.2 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#16 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#3 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
2.1 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#7 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Palo Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Palo Alto

Property: The Westin Palo Alto
Address: 675 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2301
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#7 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Palo Alto 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience California at The Westin Palo Alto hotel, adjacent to Stanford University, and within walking distance of some of the best restaurants, shops, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Palo Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Palo Alto Hotel Palo Alto
Westin Palo Alto
Palo Alto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing