We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Keen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Keen
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for a few nights whilst working at Stanford and its really helpfully situated near the CalTrain and general down-town Palo Alto. The hotel itself is very clean and of super modern design, which I really liked. The staff are helpful and someone is always on hand if you need anything.

With its stylish looks and central location it's not the cheapest hotel around, but of the choices it was one of the better ones I think. In the unlikely event you don't have anything to do of an evening in Palo Alto, you can even borrow a Nintendo Wii if you're at a loose end!

The only thing I'd say about this hotel is the slightly poor breakfast, however, this does seem to be an affliction that plagues most american hotels so it may just be a cultural thing.

The bottom line: Stylish designer hotel with good service and quality rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExploringTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    71
    41
    17
    13
See reviews for
15
23
19
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Overall, I enjoyed my stay very much. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, and my room (though tiny - seriously small) was very clean and comfortable and had everything I needed. The location is great for visiting Stanford. My only real complaint is the noise problem that I think others have mentioned. I stayed over a weekend, and the bar next to the hotel was very busy/loud well into the night. This was not a problem at all on weeknights.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaward14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I stayed here one Saturday night with my husband and would have stayed longer, because of the excellent location, good price and the nice decor, if we would have been able to get a good night sleep. There's a club behind the hotel that's very loud, it goes right through the wall. Loud music and people on the street. Unless you plan to join the party people till closing time, I recommend you stay elsewhere on weekend nights.
When told the staff about this, they said that new windows are going to be installed as well as other sound proofing. Hopefully that wil solve this problem for future guests.
The superior room was a nice size and has a comfortable bed with duvet. More suitable for 1-person occupancy though. It looked good, but some things just didn't work for us. There was only 1 switch for the 2 overhead bed (spot) lights, on the wall, next to the bed. You had to get up to switch them off, impossible to use as reading light if the other person wants to sleep. The bathroom (including the toilet) has no door, you can close a curtain, but when sharing a hotel room I definitely want a door.
The location is very good, also for restaurants, Evvia is around the corner and Tamarine also within walking distance. Breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Front of building probably les noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfriedman, General Manager at Hotel Keen, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
We are pleased to announce that as of May 17, 2011, Bistro 412 on Emerson Street (the club whose noise was noted in this review) has closed its doors, thereby eliminating all noise issues. We are still looking at alternate window solutions despite this development.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Let me start off by saying that I travel 100-120 days a year fro business and have had the experience of staying at a wide variety of hotels. Our company is located near this hotel in Palo Alto, however, this is NOT a business hotel. Due to its location relative to Stanford University, this hotel is more suited to visiting alumni, students and parents of Stanford students.

While the hotel is beautiful, chic and trendy (think W Hotel but on a smaller scale), it has many serious deficiencies for the business traveller:

Rooms:
- Small. Far smaller than anything I've ever stayed at in Europe. More the kind of room size you would find in Tokyo (10 sq. m).
- No closet. Couldn't even find a cleaning ticket. Fortunately, there was a dry cleaner across the street and too my laundry there myself.
- While there is high-speed internet, the desk, which measures <1 sq. m (30 in x 30 in), was impossible to work on. Between the phone and clock on the desk, there was litterally no room for me to place my 15" laptop and mouse. For doing any work, you need to work in the lobby.
- Since there is no closet, where do you put a suitcase or hang your jacket/coat? There is a wall hook with two hangers. That's it. For the suitcase, you need to either leave on the floor or sacrifice the chair. I chose the latter since the desk was too small to work from so there was no need for a chair.
- I understand why there was frosted windows. Being located on the west side of the building, opening the window reveals rooftops with ventilation exhaust vents and the smells that accompany them.
- Finally, the bathroom. Shower was great.
- With the Eco-friendly sign reminding me to re-use my towels, I found that the beautiful, modern sink had no stopper/plunger. There was no way to plug the drain to partly fill the sink with water. Shaving required to have the water running all the time. So much for eco-friendly...

Hotel:
- the lobby was beautiful but again small.
- staff was very courteous
- lounge area had six chairs, 3 tables, a counter and 2 bottle of wine (in the evening). A very good selection of pastries, juice, coffee and cereal were available in the mornings.
- Spa/Pool/Workout area? Couldn't find them.

Summary:
This is a great hotel for short term stays only (1 or 2 nights max). If you're visiting Stanford for a Conference, Parent's Weekend or a sporting event, then this is a great alternative to the big chain hotels in the area. However, if you're a business traveller, stay away. There are other hotels in the area better suited to you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BIGH0W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Tucson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

The rooms are small. If you want a closet or ironing board, upgrade to the deluxe room. The rooms, although small, are very comfortable. The location is perfect. It is within walking distance to many parts of the university, to shops and places to eat, and the Caltrain station.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeysLuvBananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

The good. It is clean and the staff is friendly.
The bad. The rooms are tiny, many rooms have smoked windows you cannot see out of.
The first room I was in blew a fuse, I had to switch rooms. When I asked if they could reset the breaker they said, no..that the last time they did they lost power in other rooms.
The phone system is horrible, repeated calls did not make it to my room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmarket, on
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

The rooms are decorated really nicely and have some neat characteristics in them. We found the standard room a bit small for two people as there isn't enough closet space in the room. The deluxe rooms are better sized and quite comfortable.

the lilttle halogen light in the bathroom was a convenient night light.

The continental breakfast was great in the morning - yogurt, coffee, tea, apples and some sweet danishes.. The only thing that would make that perfect was if there was a bit a cereal.

The bathrooms were nice except I wish there was a door on the bathroom to provide a little more privacy and work as a sound barrier.

We would definitely stay there again and hope to stay there the end of November.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Java_in_Newmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.1 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#10 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keen

Property: Hotel Keen
Address: 425 High St, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1621
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Keen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Keen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing