We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed bugs”
Review of Hotel California

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palo Alto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel California
Ranked #3 of 4 Palo Alto B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bed bugs”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My room was infested with bed bugs (room 115). If you plan to stay in this hotel, do a thorough inspection of the room before you enter. Check out the bed bug registry website for any updates or additional reports (bedbugregistry.com).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
3
5
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Hotel California is located over a group of shops on street level, including a bakery that sends nice aromas and heat into the hallways. I'd say it is a boutique hotel, except that it's more like a boarding house in which each room has its own bathroom. Very small room with very small bathrooms (shower only). Furniture is mismatched, old, and in various states of decomposition, no extra sockets for computer, towels are small and thin, and bathroom supplies skimpy. Old fashioned 13 inch TV with no premium movie station. Management is disorganized.
Pros: Great location, good value for the area, clean (no bugs), good water flow (when it is working). Room was on the street, but double windows that effectively shuts out the noise. Air conditioning units work well (but in centigrade).

Room Tip: Non courtyard rooms may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palo Alto hotels

Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had to be in Palo Alto for a couple of days on personal business. I remembered this place because a telecommuting colleague said he used to stay there when he was visiting his company, so took a chance. It's as odd as everyone says if you're expecting a traditional chain hotel or hotel room experience. It's small, all rooms are different and decor is a bit tired. But my room was clean and quiet, the stay flawlessly convenient, and the price couldn't be beat. I'd book again under the same circumstances.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deewigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My room was not clean. I saw two bugs crawling around. The electrical outlets were horrifying. On the last night it was very hot so I decided to turn on the A/C. It came on as heat!! Needless to say I got no sleep that night. The room window faced into a courtyard that was not secure. Leaving the window open with only screen made me very uncomfortable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda55138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The rooms are very small and generally uncomfortable. The inner courtyard is bizzarre, and since the room windows face it, you need to keep your blinds close unless you don't mind having no privacy. I never had breakfast in the kitchen as it seemed unclean and there wasn't much except for some fruit and loafs. The location is very good, with lots of great restaurants and coffee shops close by, with the Caltrain just down the road. Although compared to other more expensive properties in Palo Alto it may be a reasonable deal, don't expect much from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brandon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was our second extended stay at Hotel California and it was just as pleasant as the first. Probably the most conveniently located hotel in town. California Ave has a dozen restaurants: Subway is nearby and down the street is Cho's dim sum stand, almost next door to a price fixe $200 per person place. Palo Alto's best wine shop (Vin, Vino, Wine) and weekday bus service to Stanford and the VA hospital.

The hotel has a shared full kitchen and two markets are nearby. Coffee/doughnuts/fruit in the morning, and a washing machine you can use in the evenings.

It is not to everyone's taste: the rooms are small and the furniture is antiquey, but my wife and I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillTuckerUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Most motels in Palo Alto are on The Strip (El Camino) and run like one. They may be OK, but for $100 a night, Hotel California is on a real street, with a great coffee shop next door and great places to eat or have a drink just steps away. Most notably, it's run like a country inn from my childhood - personal touches, a shared kitchen and lovely patio. Fruits, breads and coffee set out early each morning. Beds very comfortable. Rooms are small, quaint, and clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.7 mi away
Creekside Inn
Creekside Inn
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stanford Terrace Inn
Stanford Terrace Inn
#24 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Stanford Motor Inn
Stanford Motor Inn
#19 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#21 of 27 in Palo Alto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 2431 Ash St, Corner of California Avenue, Palo Alto, CA 94306-1803
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Palo Alto
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing