We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”
Review of Hotel California

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palo Alto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel California
Ranked #3 of 4 Palo Alto B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was our second extended stay at Hotel California and it was just as pleasant as the first. Probably the most conveniently located hotel in town. California Ave has a dozen restaurants: Subway is nearby and down the street is Cho's dim sum stand, almost next door to a price fixe $200 per person place. Palo Alto's best wine shop (Vin, Vino, Wine) and weekday bus service to Stanford and the VA hospital.

The hotel has a shared full kitchen and two markets are nearby. Coffee/doughnuts/fruit in the morning, and a washing machine you can use in the evenings.

It is not to everyone's taste: the rooms are small and the furniture is antiquey, but my wife and I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillTuckerUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 41 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Most motels in Palo Alto are on The Strip (El Camino) and run like one. They may be OK, but for $100 a night, Hotel California is on a real street, with a great coffee shop next door and great places to eat or have a drink just steps away. Most notably, it's run like a country inn from my childhood - personal touches, a shared kitchen and lovely patio. Fruits, breads and coffee set out early each morning. Beds very comfortable. Rooms are small, quaint, and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

The rooms are tiny and the TVs sure have about 20 years behind them. The shower was almost too small for a 6'/200lb person, and the closet and the bed should've gone to an antiques shop. However the location is fantastic, and the kitchen is nice. I expected more from the "complimentary breakfast" though. The free wireless internet works well, and the patio inside is a nice place for a morning cup of tea or an evening a smoke.

Room Tip: Check the size of the shower and the age of the closet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cjelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Our room (119) was infested with bed bugs. I trust they're remedying the situation, but beware. I've stayed there many times, and I generally like the place. But I probably won't again any time soon. Pay no attention to my ratings; I just wanted to mention this issue.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank i_just_want_internet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

This is the smallest hotel I've ever stayed in. I am literally not sure a fat person would fit into the shower. The decor and amenities are laughably outdated and meager. It has a kitchen and free breakfast if you enjoy bad coffee and frozen pastries.The management, though, was friendly, and this hotel has a quaint charm to it. The best part is it's location. It is a few blocks from CalTrain and from Marguerite. The Stanford campus is a nice walk away, and there are several restaurants and coffee shops nearby. It's one of the cheaper options around and transportation convenience and free Internet also helped make it good for a budget. Basically, it's a good option if you just want someplace cheap, clean and convenient to stay at night while you do other things most of the time. I stayed there for a Stanford Reunion and it was perfect for that purpose.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located but is so overpriced! The room was very very small. Everything was so old (bed, linens, pillows,13'' tv, AC, furniture). The clearly have not spent any money to update the rooms for a long time. Nevertheless, it was very clean. There is a 24 hours kitchen available to the guest and a basic continental breakfast (cereals, toasts, costco muffins). They also have a free wifi internet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Travelers_163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Absolutely a total dump - someone in a cafe on University recommended it - so I thought "how bad could it be" - Palo Alto - near Stanford etc - Ugh! It was the sorriest excuse for a hotel I have ever seen - I moved to the Four Seasons as early as I could the next morning!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Baci30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.7 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
1.9 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stanford Terrace Inn
Stanford Terrace Inn
#25 of 27 in Palo Alto
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
2.1 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
950 reviews
1.7 mi away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#4 of 27 in Palo Alto
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 2431 Ash St, Corner of California Avenue, Palo Alto, CA 94306-1803
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Palo Alto
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing