We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place for sharing, or go solo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calafia Cafe

Calafia Cafe
Ranked #22 of 345 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for sharing, or go solo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Food is mostly very good (there have been some misses, usually with pasta or other grains). Soups are outstanding, as are salads, and appetizers. They make their own delicious sodas. The market has some good deals -- rotisserie chicken is piping hot and fresh at 5 pm, and is a plump rocky chicken. Good music in the market cafe, noisy because of acoustics in the main restaurants. Service is pleasant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaTravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    54
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
mountain view, ca
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great interpretation of California farm to table”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I think this is the type of place that exemplifies what makes California farm-to-table, organic cuisine so special - I try to take all friends visiting from out of town here, as well as go to dinner with friends when we can. The restaurant gets crowded because it is small, but it is worth the wait. Not very kid-friendly in terms of separate menu and more basic options, but we have taken our kid here with success anyway. The family style table is fun and works, but probably the coolest place to eat in the whole joint is at the bar facing into the open kitchen. Bonus points for having Pliny the Elder on draft when we were there (that stuff is challenging to find!). The menu is creative and the food tastes great - a bit pricey but it is special and different from a lot of the other local restaurants.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stevling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The food here is just that good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had brunch here this weekend and I can sum up the food in one word: WOW. The food is outstanding. I had the biscuits and mushroom gravy. It was one of the best things that I've ever eaten. My only complaint is that I would have liked more of that luscious gravy. I also tried some other entrees and really enjoyed everything. The quality of the food definitely sets this place apart from most restaurants in the south bay / peninsula. Go here. You won't regret it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting Vegetarian and Vegan food, with meat offered as well.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I always try something new when I go and have found so many different flavors there. Not everything is exceptional for me but different and interesting. There vege burger doesn't have enough density but it is delicious.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rubylaserjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Palo Alto priced farm to table.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Fresh ingredients, delicious ingredients, and clever combinations. Run by the ex-Google chef, the food is well worth a visit. Menu is divided by vegetarian and meat-eater and the pricing is Palo Alto.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kpopnevastop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calafia Cafe also viewed

Palo Alto, CA
Palo Alto, CA
 

Been to Calafia Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing