We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot for economical stay”
Review of Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2010

I live in the area but needed a convenient place to stay while work was being done on my house for a few days. I was able to get a suite with kitchen which was great for convenience and saving a bit of money. I found the hotel to be convenient and charming and the little service I needed was helpful and friendly. It is a simple, modest place but very clean, comfortable and well equipped with such things as reasonable cable TV and wifi. The kitchen was basic and dated in style but equipped with essential dishes, pans etc. and entirely adequate for some cooking with even a gas stove. I had no trouble with wifi where I was and did not notice any noise problems except the occasional pair of people walking briefly right by the room, and that was not a problem late at night. There are some lights on adjacent buildings that are on all night but the window shutters did an adequate job of dealing with that. The shower head is mounted unusually low which was awkward. That is about the only thing that was an issue for me and more an inconvenience than a major problem. Parking is close by. The price was great; note that they do not offer an included breakfast. For me the kitchen was much better since I could have what I usually do but that wouldn't apply to all rooms. Overall I was very pleased with how nice it was for the rate.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 143 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2009

John and Barbara recognize me every time I stay with them. They are the most courteous and kind managers I've ever encountered. The rooms are spotless and well-maintained. The pool and garden areas are inviting places to drink coffee, read the paper, enjoy the continental breakfast provided. I've stayed in several of the local hotels, but I keep going back to the Country Inn because it feels like home. I'd almost like to keep it a secret, so that I can be sure to always find a room there!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamelaj61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

Great, small motel in Palo Alto. Wonderful location. Good value. Very clean with great maid service, friendly and helpful innkeepers. Employees aim to make your stay a pleasant one. Ceiling fans, but no A/C.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradotraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed here overnight last week to see his brother play in the Senior Games at Stanford. Although we didn't use it, we saw a bus pull up to a bus stop right in front of the motel so a person coming in on a plane would not be stranded. We also heard about a free bus that travels around campus and other specific locations. Also heard about walking tours of the campus and the second largest collection of Rodin outside France but it was too warm for that.

It was an unusually hot day so we opted for one of the upstairs rooms with an air conditioner and then enjoyed the very nice clean & cool pool. The large lawn with shade trees and flowers in the garden gave a very peaceful feel to the property. It was surprisingly quiet even though it is on a main road. We met a nice lady at the pool and invited her to join us for dinner. Found a good Vietnamese restaurant about half a block away named Pho something. We all enjoyed our meal. There are several other options for food within walking distance.

A complimentary continental breakfast of yogurt, fruit, individually wrapped sweet rolls and coffee was available in the office at 7 am.

This is not a 5 star hotel, but if you want a cute, clean, comfortable accomodation with reasonable prices in a pricey area, this is the spot. I think it was $76.50 with our AAA discount. We definitely will stay again if we have occasion to be in that area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmc_kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We arrived so tired, stressed, needing a place to stay the night. The best experience we've ever had from a delightful woman at the front desk. She could not been more inviting or warmer had we been members of her family. I promise we will be back on our next trip to Stanford. Bless you lovely lady, so mad I did not get your name. The Inn is in a lovely garden setting with flowers and big beautiful trees. Feel at home when you stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Just two weeks ago, I stayed at this hotel. I brought my children along with me. We found the couple running the hotel to be very warm and friendly. The rooms are very nice, clean and give off a cozy, "at home feeling". The whole experience was very pleasant and I would surely stay again. Planning on making reservations next time we plan a trip to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Joey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

I booked a room at this motel and found upon arrival that AC is not standard. I was given a room with a fan, no coffee maker, no fridge, no microwave and I was going to be there two months for a job. They charge $13/night extra for a room with AC and another $15/night extra to have a mini-fridge and microwave- all items that are standard in any other motel. The first day there, rather than leave a message on the phone, the owner turned off my electronic key because he wanted to talk to me. This happened twice more- just what you look forward to when you arrive at your door after a hard day in the field. They also charged my card without asking me or discussing it with me. Having stayed in motels frequently for my job, I have never had a motel simply charge my card without informing me or asking permission. When my card was declined because they happened to charge on a day when I had already used the max charges (it is a debit card with daily charge limits) they again turned off my key and further obssessed about my card being declined, despite the fact that I explained the way the debit/charge card works. They treated me like a crook. I was informed that I could not leave the privacy card on the door all the time (despite the fact that I have valuable electronics in there) and that I am not paying for privacy, but for the room. I had already made arrangements to have the room cleaned once a week as I am rarely there, working all day and I re-use the towels to save water. I was astounded that the owners believe that I am not entitled to privacy in the room which I am paying for. Daily the owner comes pounding on my door- disturbing me while I am working on the PC. He does not seem to understand that the telephone will serve the same function. I would never stay here again and would never recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank reithro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.4 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,047 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#20 of 27 in Palo Alto
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
3.7 mi away
Cardinal Hotel
Cardinal Hotel
#12 of 27 in Palo Alto
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn

Address: 4345 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: $147 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palo Alto Country Inn was built in 1954 along the El Camino Real, the main thoroughfare of that time. Shaded by large trees and surrounded by orchards, travelers would stay here when visiting Stanford University or the city of San Francisco. Founded by Italian immigrants, the Cesano family took care to provide excellent service, and clean, well-maintained rooms for their guests. Many became good friends as they made the Country Inn their home away from home. Today, the inn lies at the heart of a busy Silicon Valley. Destinations such as Google, Yahoo, Apple, Stanford and many Bay Area attractions are within easy reach. Although the surroundings may have changed, the Cesano children and grandchildren have carried on the traditions of providing an affordable and comfortable place to stay. The staff and the accommodations continue to earn the trust of returning clientele and the rave reviews of new visitors. Some special features of the Country Inn are the lovely garden patio that greets you as you arrive, the pool area with available barbeques and ample patio furniture, rooms with kitchens, free wi-fi, and consistently friendly service. At the Country Inn you will find all of the modern conveniences as well as enjoy the warmth and welcome of a quaint inn of days gone by. Please consider us as your hosts on your next trip to the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Palo Alto
Country Motel Palo Alto
Country Inn Palo Alto
Palo Alto Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing