We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but inexpensive”
Review of Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2008

Very pleasant little gem that's modestly priced in an otherwise expensive area. Set back from the road so it's fairly quiet. Not a very new motel, but quite nicely kept. Very friendly desk staff, and it's not a chain hotel, so you know they must be doing things right to last this long. You could spend twice as much and not get anything better. Good sized room - the only negative was that the mattress was a bit too firm for my taste. Other reviewers have commented on the strong smell of room deodorizer - I recall that it was noticeable at first but not overpowering.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank optixguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 143 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2008

We stayed here while looking around Palo Alto considering a move to the area. Overall, the motel was clean with good parking, but you could hear the conversations of other guests through the paper thin walls. Thank goodness the other guests were generally fairly quiet because there was no sound proofing at all. Also, no fridge in the room, which would have been nice.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank betterbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2008

I had a nine day stay and found my room always nicely cleaned. The management (a very nice couple) was very responsive and helpful. While amenities are simple, one I really enjoyed were the grills by the pool. I enjoyed a great evening with some friends I met there.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMRguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2008

Found this motel through tripadvisor and an excellent find it was. Not fancy, but comfortable and very clean and a tremendous value for the area. Nice grounds outside too, with a tree-shaded lawn and a swimming pool. Friendly staff. Caltrain is a 15 minute walk away so you can do SF or connect to BART or whatever and leave your car in the parking lot. Wifi worked six days out of the seven I was there ( I did find another wifi access point easily enough), and the only grounded (three-prong) electrical outlet was in the bathroom, so not a perfect laptop world but certainly useable enough. Otherwise absolutely no complaints -- great place for the price in Palo Alto.

Stayed: April 2008
2  Thank grapegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2008

As others have stated, for the price and the area, your getting a decent value.

A few issues they could improve on.
1) No hair dryers! We travel a lot and haven't been to a hotel in a while that didn't provide hair dryers. We didn't notice this until we were getting ready our first morning. Tried to knock on the managers door, but he just double locked it first without answering. After my wife went back to knock again, he finally answered, but said he didn't have a key to get one...huh? So, we had to drive down the street to buy one ourselves. Even Motel 6 has on the wall hair dryers.
2)Ants! Had some every day, not in mass, but still cruising the room.
3) Wireless, during the first morning the wireless worked, well kind of, then lost it completely. I was able to open the bathroom window and get a signal from the Holiday Inn Express next door.
4) Breakfast: sugar danishes, oranges and yogurt... oh, they do put out 2 or 3 bananas if you are lucky enough to get there when the office opens. Since they already have hot water, putting out packs of instant oatmeal would be a nice healthy and inexpensive improvement.

Bottom line: For the area you can't beat the price and would be OK for one night for sleeping and moving on. Not sure that I would spend another 3 nights there.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FunTrvlCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

A VERY pleasant place to stay! I am immensely impressed!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GaryCallsMeVince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

$85 out the door. Quiet, clean, no complaints. This isn't a 5 star hotel but it beats paying 300+ for the hotel across the street. Continental breakfast wasn't anything to brag about. The "clean" smell is a little overwhelming but at least it's clean. Trader Vics restaurant is just up the road. Save your $$ on the room and spend it there.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DH1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
1.4 mi away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,061 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
Comfort Inn Palo Alto
#20 of 27 in Palo Alto
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palo Alto
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
3.7 mi away
Cardinal Hotel
Cardinal Hotel
#13 of 27 in Palo Alto
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn

Address: 4345 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
Location: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: $148 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palo Alto Country Inn was built in 1954 along the El Camino Real, the main thoroughfare of that time. Shaded by large trees and surrounded by orchards, travelers would stay here when visiting Stanford University or the city of San Francisco. Founded by Italian immigrants, the Cesano family took care to provide excellent service, and clean, well-maintained rooms for their guests. Many became good friends as they made the Country Inn their home away from home. Today, the inn lies at the heart of a busy Silicon Valley. Destinations such as Google, Yahoo, Apple, Stanford and many Bay Area attractions are within easy reach. Although the surroundings may have changed, the Cesano children and grandchildren have carried on the traditions of providing an affordable and comfortable place to stay. The staff and the accommodations continue to earn the trust of returning clientele and the rave reviews of new visitors. Some special features of the Country Inn are the lovely garden patio that greets you as you arrive, the pool area with available barbeques and ample patio furniture, rooms with kitchens, free wi-fi, and consistently friendly service. At the Country Inn you will find all of the modern conveniences as well as enjoy the warmth and welcome of a quaint inn of days gone by. Please consider us as your hosts on your next trip to the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Palo Alto
Country Motel Palo Alto
Country Inn Palo Alto
Palo Alto Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing