We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More or less”
Review of Joya

Joya
Reserve with OpenTable
Joya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 357 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $83
Cuisines: South American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Florence Street
Transit: Palo Alto Caltrain stop is just a few blocks away.
Description: From tapas to entradas, Joya Restaurant and Lounge provides a modern interpretation of the rich culinary lineage of Spain and Latin America. Joya is proud to have teamed with Shopworks (designers of W-Hotels in New York, Chicago, San Francisco, Seattle and San Diego) to create a natural-hued, contemporary restaurant and lounge that imparts guests with a feeling of comfortable exclusivity. So if you are looking to enjoy a refined Latin-influenced dining experience, new age cocktails and festive live music, we invite you to join us at Joya Restaurant & Lounge.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“More or less”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Besides the place itself and the great service, I'm disapointed. The food did not measure up the reviews. We order 4 tapas: Scallops (good), devil eggs ( very good), ceviche ( super boring) and the calamari ( soggy and bland). I would go back to try again, maybe it was a bad day...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ligiarbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    92
    26
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious authentic dishes”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My family and I stumbled upon this place when we were in Palo Alto visiting Stanford. The food at Joya is delicious with very authentic Puerto Rican and Cuban dishes on the menu. If it's your first time trying this type of food I would recommend you get a few of the tapas. You can't go wrong with any of them. We had the picadillo and platanos which were delicious. The atmosphere of the restaurant is modern but still warm a cozy with a fire place and service is top notch. Overall I would definitely visit again if in the area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty and great location...”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stopped in with a couple of friends for a late lunch at Joya. The place seems to always be busy, so sometimes it is hard to have a quiet conversation. But the food is always good (nothing spectacular, but a decent variety). Overall, this is a good spot to dine and to people watch on University Ave.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chase B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loyola, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun supper place with friends”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Joya is a fun place to have drinks and light supper. The tapas sampler is good starter while everyone around the table has a cocktail or glass of wine. All the tables have view of the bar scene which has been hooping every dinner time I've been here. The small plates are the way to go of the rest of the meal. Grazing is the best way to experience this place. At lunch it is quieter and the small plates are an easy way to have a light business lunch. the wine list is decent and has a good variety. The servers try hard but can be overwhelmed at peak times. I'll be back again wehn i just want a relaxing dining experience with OK food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
1 review
“Tapas and Sangria”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The tapas here are great, the best is the paella. It has all the right flavors and is presented beautifully to the table. The white and red sangrias are also highly recommended, and pair nicely with just about any dish on the menu. The restaurant itself is very "cool" and the decor suggests a young, urban flair you wouldn't normally expect in a restaurant with this style of cuisine.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sudheer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joya also viewed

 

Been to Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing