We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat, meat and more meat”
Review of Pampas

Pampas
Reserve with OpenTable
Pampas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 360 Restaurants in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: University Ave
Transit: The Palo Alto Caltrain stop is directly across the street.
Description: In the heart of downtown Palo Alto, fine dining meets entertainment and extravagance, and authentic Brazilian cuisine is served with contemporary style. Amidst this ambiance, you'll feel at home whether you're having an impromptu gathering, romantic rendezvous, family dinner, or business function. Let Pampas infuse the spirit of Brazil into your evening!
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Meat, meat and more meat”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Visited Pampas and thoroughly enjoyed it. The usual selections of meat plus I asked for, and got, chicken hearts. Excellent service, comprehensive wine list and an enjoyable venue for a meal.

I didn't even bother evaluating the buffet - for those wanting greens or other non-meat things. I was there for the meat...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank spbutterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    63
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Brazilian Restaurant”
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Food and service were very good. The salad bar was excellent with lots of choices to accompany the endless meat. Wine list as also good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shikhar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Meat Meat Meat!!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I didn't know what to expect when I came here for a luncheon but I was surprisingly delighted with this place. Parking was easy as there was a free 3 hour parking lot really close to the restaurant.

As I entered the restaurant, I was kindly greeted at the front and they showed me the way to the dining area. They explained the salads and appetizers were up at the ground level and our table was at the basement level down the stairs. Our food was prepared in advance for our meeting and we had 5 flavorful dishes of meat. I finished off the meal with a cup of coffee and a dessert.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shocking lack of service and food”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Management from this restaurant really needs to get out and benchmark other Brazilian steakhouses for they have much to learn. A weak salad bar - most others have smoked salmon and about twice as many offerings - was followed by weak food and service in the meat category. After being told of the "14" different meat items, our table saw about half of this offering. For sure, it started and continued with the cheapest sausages and chicken but the beef and lamb special offerings were rarely in sight and must have been the 6-7 items we never saw. Shockingly, the few servers that came to our table of 12 always started at one end and about half the time never made it past 2/3 of our group. We had a running joke of the "diet" side of our long table. Even when asked for servers, none came. The wait staff was totally disorganized. The only service people that frequented the table were those that took away plates, but some never brought back new plates and others of us just sat there for 20 minutes with totally clean plates. The typical green and red card seen at other such places was nowhere and when we asked for one, they brought a single card for the table (which was totally disregarded). When the restaurant decided they were done, they brought out this pineapple item which clearly sent the message to the wait staff that the game was over. Even the coffee came 15 minutes after being ordered as they said their expresso maker was "backed up." It's hard to think this restaurant will be around for long if any real Brazilian steakhouse opened nearby; from our experience one would imagine they have friends providing other reviews, all of which were 5 for 5.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank itour2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food + Good People = GOOD TIME”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

You have never tasted meat unless you have been to Pampas. This quasi brazilian\ quasi argentine steakhouse is a phenomenal place to bring friends and have high quality food and decent south american wines.
I went for the Rodizio, which I highly recommend-- it is worth every cent to try the savory Filet Mignon, sirloin steak, beef short ribs, lamb chops, flank steak, chicken and more. My favorite by far was the flank steak that had great flavor and juices on every single bite!

And at the end after such a great meal, we got grilled pineapples, which tasted sooooooo goooooooddddd! John got a salad too and was raving about how he didn't think salad could be so filling!

The service was good-- very attentive and friendly. They guys and I had dinner their for over 90 mins and left completely satisfied!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pampas also viewed

 

Been to Pampas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing