We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Awful Guests”
Review of Motel 6 Palmdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Palmdale
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Palmdale
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I just finished a two week business trip to Palmdale, CA. I didn't know where I would be staying, so I was holding my breath after reading the reviews about the Ramada. When my boss pulled into the Motel 6 parking lot, I was relieved at first. The Motel 6 has both pluses and drawbacks. The good thing is that the staff is very responsive. I was upset to find that the carpet in my room was filthy enough to turn my feet black. However, it only took a mention to one of the very friendly and accommodating housekeepers for someone to appear instantly at my door with a carpet cleaning machine to scrub it like new (it was actually an appealing shade of blue). They went out of their way to make the very modest room (no tub, microfridge, coffeemaker or even shampoo) as neat and comfy as they could. Even though the "rules" stated that extended stay guests only got their bedlinens changed every 3 days, they would have changed mine every single day given the chance. Now the drawbacks. I don't think I'll ever stay in an outside-access room again after this experience. The guests were almost entirely contractors working on the new hospital across the road. They had trucks with loud engines and car alarms that were parked next to my bed and they woke me at all hours of the day and night. Maybe this is OK for a 1-night stopover, but 2 weeks of this was mindnumbingly exhausting! The other guests were inclined to quarreling and domestic disputes. It was a common experience for me and my boss to overhear guests screaming profanities or witness people repairing broken-down cars. One afternoon the police appeared outside my door to break up an altercation. I quit using the outdoor pool because I got sick of beer-guzzling guys hitting on me. To end this on a positive note, though, the location of Motel 6 is great. You can hop a bus to the Antelope Valley Mall from the Del Taco next door. There's an AM/PM convenience store and a great diner called Lucky Roxy's Cafe in the same parking lot as Motel 6. If the guests weren't such obnoxious jerks, this would have been a relatively pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BuickMackane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2005

$51.99 a night less an AARP 10% discount as a sleepover on the way from Arizona to San Francisco. The location is fine close to the interstate; the staff was friendly, informative and very pleasant; the property was well maintained. The room was a standard small Motel 6 room, but it was very clean and the furnishings were in good condition. We felt safe, we slept fine. What more do you expect at these prices in California? It fit the bill!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outofthewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
944
Reviewed March 30, 2005

but maybe a little too clean; pungent odor of cleaner or disinfectant upon entering room, and you could only get the windows open 4 inches to air the place out. Aside from that, everything was fine. Front desk people were friendly and helpful (though I didn't have any problems to report). There is a DelTaco next door, and a Sizzler and Albertsons a half mile West.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Elkton,MD
11
Reviewed April 2, 2003

Terrible Hotel. It was 100 degrees and the air didn't work. Each morning I would complain and the manager would say, we have it fixed, only to wake at 2 am sweating. No reason to be lied to night after night just to keep you there. FINALLY AFTER 4 NIGHTS OF THIS, we checked out and went elsewhere, so exhausted, we could not enjoy our vacation. There is only one air unit for the entire hotel so changing rooms in the hotel did no good.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takako0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfmanwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmdale hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Palmdale
Ramada Palmdale
#10 of 15 in Palmdale
413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palmdale
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus John Jay Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Palmdale
Holiday Inn Palmdale
#6 of 15 in Palmdale
240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Palmdale
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Palmdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Palmdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Palmdale

Address: 407 West Palmdale Blvd, Palmdale, CA 93551-4243
Location: United States > California > Palmdale
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Palmdale
Price Range: $63 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Palmdale 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Palmdale is located off US Hwy 14/138. An on-site restaurant and shopping nearby allows time for fun. Visit the fairground, stadiums and raceway within 10 miles. Enjoy our outdoor pool. Relax with Wi-Fi available in all modern rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Palmdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Palmdale
Palmdale Motel 6
Palmdale Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing