We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be a new cook”

Yard House Palmdale - Antelope Valley Mall
Ranked #3 of 212 Restaurants in Palmdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Yard House is an upscale-casual eatery known for great food, classic rock music and 130 taps of imported, craft and specialty ales & lagers. Whether you’re in the mood for a grilled burger and a pint of your favorite ale, or seared ahi and a chilled martini, Yard House has something for everyone. Yard House is the perfect place to unwind and take a break - meet old friends for happy hour, or make new ones, celebrate a special occasion, or gather your family for dinner.
Palmdale, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Must be a new cook”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Wife likes a calimari appetizer and salad as her dinner. Experience @ YH has told us that they over cook their calimari, putting it out dark brown. We made a point of requesting it to be cooked " light golden". It came out dark brown and was sent back with profuse apologies from both the waiter and manager. While we waited for the return the rest of our meal arrived including a cheese burger for our 4 y/o granddaughter. Upon cutting it for her I found it to be raw, not just rare but RAW! Served to a child and with a label,on it that said "Medium"! It too was sent back with the manager who, of course, apologized profusely. By the time it came back, labeled "medium well" and in fact pink and "medium rare", we had all finished our meals.
To their credit, neither the calimari nor the burger appeared on the bill and we were offered a comp desert.
I e-mailed Yard House corporate headquarters 3 days ago about our experience in the spirit of quality assurance feed back as I was not looking for any kind of "freebie" as we were adequately compensated by management. I have not had any kind of response from YH to that e-mail. It is not likely that we will be returning any time soon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wintalldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House Palmdale - Antelope Valley Mall, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hi Wintalldude - We appreciate you letting us know our management team acknowledged your concerns regarding your granddaughter's cheeseburger and the calamari your wife enjoyed. However, it is concerning that you did not receive a response for our Guest Relations team and we do apologize. Please reach out to us at yhguest@yardhouse.com we'll follow up with you about your visit right away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    58
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Noisy,busy, fun happy hour”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Appetizers and drinks at happy hour are a good value and good selection including vegetarian options

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katsoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“luv this place”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I am not found of spinach but this place makes a cheese spinach appetizer which I cant believe I eat. have eaten here at least 10 times and my finiky son loves the food here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kylesgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Never again !!!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Bad food, bad service. Thought I would die of thirst. Burnt crab cakes arrived before the drinks. I had to remind the server to bring my beer. Twelve bucks for a "roasted turkey club sandwich" that had deli type meat. Ridiculous!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House Palmdale - Antelope Valley Mall, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi Denelle K - We were disappointed to hear about this experience. Providing our guests with guest focused, attentive service is a large part of the dining experience and we apologize for letting you down. This is clearly an opportunity that we want to address right away. I know we can do a much better job and would welcome the opportunity to show you a better dining experience. When time allows, please email us at yhguest@yardhouse.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Could Have Easily Been Very Good”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

4 of us wanted to try out the Yard House Saturday night. We decided to eat at the bar, when we found a 45 minute wait for a table. The bartender asked for our drink orders as if she were doing me a favor, a little grumpy with an attitude. Got the drinks, perfect. We ordered the Steak sandwich and it was perfect. Spicy Chicken sandwich, not very good. Both came with cold fries which were returned for hot and fresh. The other 2 had the wraps and loved them. All this being said, the bartender did become a better server, after her and I had a little talk on the side. I simply ask her why she was rude to us. Gave me a story and all was good after that. Will I return, most likely. Just a note, don't be afraid to get what you pay for. These folks need us all to return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House Palmdale - Antelope Valley Mall, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hi Mickey P - Thanks for sharing this review. We were disappointed to hear our bartender was not at first friendly and that two of you received cold fries. Please accept our apologies for letting you down. This is clearly an opportunity that we want to address right away. When you can spare a moment, please contact me directly at yhguest@yardhouse.com. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns in greater detail so the appropriate corrections can be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yard House Palmdale - Antelope Valley Mall also viewed

 

Been to Yard House Palmdale - Antelope Valley Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing