We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
Ranked #69 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have never written a review but I am just amazed at what I just experienced! I stayed at this hotel 2 years ago under a different name. I was trying to find it again. I finally found it and couldn't find a way to make a reservation online so I decided to call. When I called, I noticed it had a different name. I asked the gentleman why. He was obviously irritated with my question. I mentioned that I had a hard time finding it again. He seemed even more irritated. I finally politely asked if I was bothering him. He rudely said "Have a good day" and hung up on me! WOW! I hope the owner realizes whats going on. :(

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank 111DebbieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

The person who wrote this review did not stay at our hotel. We have contacted Trip Advisor to have the reviewed removed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 336 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

This property at one time must have been fabulous. The setting, views, and location are great. However, everything is showing signs of deterioration and cost cutting. Our room was tired and the tile floors always looked unclean, probably because of the many chips. Bedding and linen barely passable. Ice machines in pool areas not working. Breakfast minimal and variety limited. John at front desk accommodating and checked us in before 4:00 pm time limit. We would look for other possibilities before returning.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Charles,
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us and the hotel staff and management strive to deliver the best overall hotel experience for each of our guest's. The hotel is continuously upgrading the guestrooms, public areas and overall service and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you have children and expect them to have FUN swimming in 80+ degree temperatures while staying in this run-down facility - forget it. This place only allows people under the age of 18 in a 3 1/2foot deep pool while there is much bigger 4 1/2 deep pool just steps away. The front desk guy, David, will act pleasant while he takes your money the night you check in but in the morning he'll quickly lie to your face. He'll tell you that there is no manager on site to take your complaint and tell you a Korean lady owns this dive. Then he'll call Frank and lie to him and tell him that your family of 4 jumped the locked fences at 900 am in the morning to swim in the pool. The gates will be unlocked with other guests sitting poolside but DAVID will still lie to FRANK on the phone and FRANK will continue to tell you, his paying guest, that you should read the signs posted in the doors by the pools. Even if you are traveling from out of state DAVID and FRANK expect you to read these signs from your home. They will tell you all about the pool on the phone but fail to mention this MAJOR detail.
They also have limited pillow supplies, the worlds dirtiest and stained carpets, cloudy off white water from the tap, towels big enough to dry off a chihuahua and the most limited "continental breakfast" in Palm Springs. Expect a cold bagel and instant coffee.
I'd recommend this hotel to no one including people who like to be treated like trash, lied to and cheated.
I bet DAVID and FRANK's mothers would be so proud of them as men.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Disappointed443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel staff and management take great pride in delivering the best overall hotel experience for each of our guest's. The vast majority of comments about our hotel are very positive and your experience was certainly the exception and not the rule. We look forward to exceeding all of your expectations on your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We are happy with this place - the room was larger than we thought with a frig and micro so we liked it even though it could have used a better cleaning -- the light switch in the bathroom was grimy when we got there and the housekeepers skipped our cleaning the first day (management - check up on those housekeepers). The rest of the decor was dated but reasonably clean. The common grounds, great! Beautiful pools, steam room, hot tub and nice and quiet. The exercise room is pretty standard for these days and everything works, we used it and are happy. The other reviews are right, though: the breakfast is very skimpy - just carbs like toast, bagels, cereal, sad-looking danishes, not-so-great coffee and sugar water juice. Management: Hard boiled eggs, yogurt and a waffle maker wouldn't cost much and would bring you up to speed with real continental breakfasts. And could you just add a few more chairs?

The location is great -- we walked the mile to town and its a close drive to anywhere you want to go. The price was very good and only went up $40.00 for the Friday, not hundreds. We'll likely be back -- we are right next to expensive resorts and enjoying cold drinks by a lovely pool for a good price.

Room Tip: we stayed on second floor and it was quiet but honestly I think it would be quiet enough on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweeneyn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for sending us your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel continues to look for ways to improve the overall hotel experience and we will certainly take your recommendations into account. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We just returned from a first time stay (5-days Sun-Thurs) at this property. Since we were busy attending a tennis tournament during most of our stay and really only needed a clean, comfy place to sleep at night, we wanted a convenient, affordable hotel. This hotel fit the bill perfectly.

Since our stay was not over a weekend, the hotel was not terribly full and we got a great rate. Our room was better than expected (not as outdated as some reviews have said), although the carpet was a bit stained and needed replacing and the TV was old. The fact that our room had two separate sinks/vanity areas was an unexpected and convenient amenity. The beds were comfy and the room was very quiet. The adult pool was large, quiet, and clean. The small workout room by the pool has minimal equipment. We found the hotel staff to be efficient and friendly. The only disappointment was that the continental breakfast was VERY minimal and was served in a conjested area with little seating. You're better off spending a few bucks and eating a nice breakfast at either of the two nearby full-service restaurants (next door or directly across the street). They're both excellent.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back corner on the 2nd floor (#233). There were fewer people in that area so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Bill,
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us. I will be certain to pass on your kind words to the staff and management. We look forward to your next stay with us when your travels take you to the Palm Springs area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Wonderful Hotel. CLEAN,FRIENDLY, VERY HELPFUL STAFF,I love that you have your own patio area.Also a separate pool for families. Totally enjoyed my stay. Prices soo reasonable expecially for PALMSPRINGS Hotel centrally located easy walk. Lots of Great Restaurants nearby.Also included a nice continental breakfast.Can't wait to go back!!!!

Room Tip: Across from adult pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvwoman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel staff and management work diligently to deliver the best overall hotel experience and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Palm Springs area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

It's not like me to put friends visiting me up at a hotel for a few days without first checking it out but I heard from another local friend that this place was pretty cool. Cool? The place is awsome! My friends enjoyed the hotel so much we spent most of their stay at the hotel pool and not mine! The staff was top notch, the grounds were very nice quiet (until our thrird cocktail poolside anyway..lol) and the rooms were extreamly comfortable. We also took full advantage of the free continental breakfast each morning and endless cups of coffee. The best part was, my friends have decided they would rather stay at the Garden Vista durring future visits instead of my place. Perfect! Less cleaning up after guest for me!!

Room Tip: If you choose a room on the back of the property you get a pool view from your patio and a mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Brad,
Thank you for the compliments and we are thrilled to hear that your guest's enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to their next stay with us when their travels take them to the Palm Springs area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Movie Colony Hotel
Movie Colony Hotel
#59 of 75 in Palm Springs
347 reviews
3 mi away
Villa Royale Inn
Villa Royale Inn
#47 of 75 in Palm Springs
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Vacation Villas
Desert Vacation Villas
#55 of 75 in Palm Springs
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#24 of 75 in Palm Springs
631 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#23 of 75 in Palm Springs
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#45 of 75 in Palm Springs
2,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Address: 1875 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-2917 (Formerly Shilo Inn Palm Springs)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range: $85 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, a 100 percent smoke free hotel, offers affordable rooms and suites in Palm Springs, home of over 100 golf courses. For onsite recreation, guests will find an outdoor adults only pool, outdoor family pool, two whirlpools, a sauna, steam room, and fitness room. Guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast with their room rate. While there is not a full service restaurant inside the hotel, there are dining destinations nearby. Guests will find Billy Reeds Restaurant and Lounge across the street, Bakers Square in one block, and many more restaurants within a short drive. Conveniently located on Highway 111 close to downtown Palm Springs and the aerial tramway. You will find yourself surrounded by luxury in each of the 124 exquisitely appointed suites at this lovely hotel situated amidst beautifully landscaped courtyards and pools. Children 12 and under stay free with an adult. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. The Palm Springs airport is approximately four miles from the hotel. There are 124 rooms, including suites, on two floors. Standard amenities include air conditioning, alarm clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, telephone, free local calls, and television with ShowTime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing