We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at Garden Vista Hotel for two nights this past week while visiting in Palm Springs. The staff here were very nice and I got a great deal for queen beds, two week nights, through expedia for less than $120. They offer free wii fi here, a pool, and ample free parking. The rooms are clean and spacious, but a bit outdated. There's a mini fridge and microwave in each of the rooms so it's pretty convenient. Only a few minutes from downtown the location is great and just off the 111 on Palm Canyon Drive. They also provide free breakfast in the morning, but it's take it or leave it (cereal, juice, coffee, wrapped bread slices, and pastries that all look like you could've just picked them up from seven-eleven - but hey, it's free). The water in the bathroom was kind of milky, but like one other guest said, I guess it's the minerals from the dessert. Good hotel for the price we paid, but expect basic amenities in the room (don't expect extra towels or your standard individualed botteled hotel toilettries)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frances c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Frances,
We appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel staff & management strive to deliver the best overall hotel experience for each of our guest's. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the staff and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 336 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

We booked a room here because we stayed when it was the Shilo and it was great.

Well, we weren't disappointed. The room was clean and comfortable, great water pressure in the shower, firm, supportive but soft mattress. I love that one can open the patio door and get fresh air into the room!

The rates were great! We decided to extend our stay to seven days and the staff could not have been more accommadating to us.

The breakfast is a little limited, but sufficient to start the day.

We look forward to staying again in the near future. Thanks Garden Vista Staff!!

Room Tip: all rooms have courtyard views and the entrances are off the highway, so noise is at a minimum.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

David,
Thank you for sending us your feedback on your stay. The hotel management and staff work diligently to deliver the best overall hotel experience for each of our guest's and we will be sure to pass on your kind words to them. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels take you back to Palm Springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We all loved this hotel. Receptionists are all really nice, helpful and polite.
Rooms are comfortable. It seemed that the double rooms with king bed were renovated and two queen bed were older.
Pool and jaquzzi were nice - the water in jaquzzi was maybe even too warm :)
Breakfast was again usual continental but with fresh oranges :) Would definately go back there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela_Aule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

The hotel staff and management would like to personally thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the staff and management; we look forward to your next stay with us when travelling to the Palm Springs area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Had a week long stay here recently. The room was large, clean, quiet and reasonably priced. Room opened up on a lovely central area with 2 pools. The front desk staff were very helpful, particularly Frank who went the extra mile to provide excellent customer service. Great location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for sending us your feedback on your stay with us. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the hotel staff and management as they work diligently to deliver the best overall hotel experience to each of our guest's. We look forward to your next stay with us when your travels take you to the Palm Springs area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The walls and partitions of this hotel are extremely thin. You can practically hear EVERYTHING your neighbors say and vice versa. I will definitely avoid this hotel in future! Any movement and conversation around your room can be heard clearly. This also means whatever you say to your roommate can also be heard by others.

Other than the above, the hotel has good facilities (heated pools, laundry, steam room...etc). The staffs are very helpful too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2loveN2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel staff and management take great pride in delivering the best overall hotel experience. We apologize if there was a noise issue during your stay and we can assure you that your next stay with us will exceed all of your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the cleanest and least expensive hotel in Palm Springs. If you want romance and memories there are better options. If you are looking for a quiet, reasonably priced place to stay that's clean and probably a little dated, you found it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

The hotel staff and management want to personally thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. The hotel team works diligently to ensure that we exceed all of our guest's expectations. We look forward to your next stay with us when your travels take you to the Palm Springs area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

About the only thing I can say about this place is that the front desk staff was nice. Otherwise it's just a beat-up former Shilo Inn (signs everwhere still say so) that is badly in need of renovation. The bed and pillows were lumpy, the paint is peeling everywhere...just not that good. And definitely not worth almost 90 bucks a night.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arland V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us. We apologize that we did not meet all of your expectations. The hotel is continuing to upgrade the guestrooms and common areas and we are confident that the next time you stay with us we will exceed all of your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Springs
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,048 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
695 reviews
7.8 mi away
Bryce Canyon Pines
Bryce Canyon Pines
#2 of 6 in Bryce
542 reviews
2.8 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs

Address: 1875 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-2917 (Formerly Shilo Inn Palm Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range: $85 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs, a 100 percent smoke free hotel, offers affordable rooms and suites in Palm Springs, home of over 100 golf courses. For onsite recreation, guests will find an outdoor adults only pool, outdoor family pool, two whirlpools, a sauna, steam room, and fitness room. Guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast with their room rate. While there is not a full service restaurant inside the hotel, there are dining destinations nearby. Guests will find Billy Reeds Restaurant and Lounge across the street, Bakers Square in one block, and many more restaurants within a short drive. Conveniently located on Highway 111 close to downtown Palm Springs and the aerial tramway. You will find yourself surrounded by luxury in each of the 124 exquisitely appointed suites at this lovely hotel situated amidst beautifully landscaped courtyards and pools. Children 12 and under stay free with an adult. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. The Palm Springs airport is approximately four miles from the hotel. There are 124 rooms, including suites, on two floors. Standard amenities include air conditioning, alarm clock radio, microwave, mini refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, telephone, free local calls, and television with ShowTime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Garden Vista Hotel Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing