We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great space, good food.... and you can hear one and other!”
Review of Jake's

Jake's
Ranked #13 of 319 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Granvia Valmonte & Tamarisk
Description: Welcome to Jake’s, the hip, casual American bistro in the Uptown Design District of Palm Springs. Dine alfresco in our charming courtyard or intimate dining room while enjoying our chef-inspired originals and gourmet comfort foods, along with a full bar and interesting wine selection. We are a quintesstiol Palm Springs restaurant, serving great food by friendly people, since 2007!(closed for the summer beginning 07/03-09/25/17)REOPEN 09/26/17
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great space, good food.... and you can hear one and other!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wasn't able to obtain a Saturday evening dinner reservation so we decided to try for lunch and glad we did. Jake’s has a great atmosphere with a lovely intimate garden and a smart inside dining room. I ordered the seared Ahi with field greens; great light vinaigrette was the perfect accompaniment for the tuna. My partner had a very well prepared vegetable omelet. The horseradish bloody mary had great zing, even better on the second sample. Deserts looked great but too decadent for lunch! Can’t wait to go back and try for dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tryingfor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    182
    38
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newton, MA
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Not so hidden jewel.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was surprised to read the comments about service in some of the reviews. Ours could not have been better. Server was attentive without being intrusive. One of the owners came over during our meal to ask if how we were enjoying. We ordered the peanut butter pie for dessert and our waiter and both owners came over to ask how we liked it. Seems they just added it to the menu. If we had not just had dinner, I would have ordered another piece it was so good. A great ending to a very nice meal. The menu is has simple but interesting choices. Food is well prepared. The patio is nice place to eat. Plan on having dessert when you decide what to order. Just look at the deli cases in the next room and you will understand why!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and service.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was my 3rd visit to Jakes and again I was impressed by the quality and freshness of the food. I had the Lobster special with sobe noodles and it was exceptional. The lobster was sweet and fresh tasting and the sauce with the noodles was superb, but not overpowering for the delicate flavor of the lobster. One of us had the ribs which looked and apparently were delicious, the pork chop also made top marks ( not an easy thing to do as much of the pork here is tasteless but this was not). I look forward to my next visit..

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ce212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small intimate Atmosphere!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Make reservations! Quite popular at lunch time. Very good food and nice selection. Didn't even know about Jakes (I'm a local), but impressed. Looked like the Desserts would be fabulous!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank missdorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Tiny little place that packs a lot of wow! Beautiful for outdoor dining. Excellent waitstaff and food that is fun and interesting. A must-do in Palm Springs.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RanchodelNorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Jake's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing