We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“To avoid !”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Sun Inn
Ranked #22 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
bruxelles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“To avoid !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Disappointing hotel ! The rooms are old and poorely decorated. Very noisy ! and customers not well educated.
Dominique

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dauminik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalsuninn, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with the Royal Sun Inn and taking time to review.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the stay, but would have been better if could have put observations in detail so that we could have addressed it.

In any case we have adequate steps to improve the rooms and décor seriously and have a special check on all the amenities.


Please choose us once again during your next visit and see the difference.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    90
    60
    31
    35
See reviews for
35
129
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Royal Sun Inn itself was another ordinary motel in a quiet neighbourhood in Palm Springs. That's not too bad, and it's pretty close to downtown too, so the location is pretty convenient. The owner there appeared to be a little reserved at first, but after some chatting he proved to be really friendly. He also turned out to be really helpful too despite the many stupid things we did there. First, I had left my iPhone charger at the previous accommodation, and he very nicely went out of his way to help me source for a new one that was left behind by the previous occupants. Even though we didn't succeed in the end, I truly appreciate his efforts.

Next, I stupidly left my bag on top of the car as we were leaving, and as a result the bag fell off the car and went missing after that (go on and laugh, that was an amazingly stupid thing to do). When we realise our folly, the bag was already gone. When we went back to Royal Sun Inn, the bag was not found, but the owner was really helpful about it. In fact, that night, after we had left Royal Sun Inn, the owner called us to gave us an update about the bag (because we had filed a police report, and the police was liaising with the motel too - in fact, I have to say the Palm Springs Police Department was really helpful too, calling me constantly to update me about the bags whereabouts - it was found in the end). I was really impressed by that commitment.

Overall, I will say the motel itself was an ordinary one, nothing overly special, but the service is really impressive. Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starfrosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

This was an average hotel who provide you with everything you require in a fairly short stay. The rooms are of a reasonable size, with microwave and fridge. Nice enough pool area and reasonably priced when compared with the rest of Palm Spings. The location is reasonable and it takes about 20 minutes to walk to the popular downtown area.
The negatives for this hotel were the rubbish towels as they were old and haggered. The wifi went down one night and the reception area closes during the night and you have to ring one of two rooms to try and get hold of somebody. He then advised us that we would have to wait till morning for the internet server to be rebooted. Didn't really like the sketchy interent and having to chase round the hotel to get hold of somebody!
All in all though not a bad place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green valley az
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

This is an average hotel. Good points are - hotel isn't over priced, has free wi-fi, lovely lobby, has an ample breakfast, located near the downtown area. Rooms are equipped with a microwave and a small refrig, and the beds are quite comfortable.

Not so good - bath towels should be replaced as they are extremely thin and quite small. The breakfast room is very small - 3 tables - and becomes very crowded. The young lady who works the room - does a fantastic job of keeping everything supplied. There are a couple of tables outside the room - but too cool to sit outside. There is also seating by the pool - but again it was too cool to sit there. The staff could be a tad more friendly and welcoming.

I would stay there again, if I were in the Palm Springs area.

Room Tip: Rooms have a nice balcony and a beautiful view of the mountains. Elevator is available if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t7er5ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Beds are comfortable, furnishings fine. Internet was a bit spotty despite my room being close to the office. I stayed here due to price. but have found nicer places at good rates on other visits.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redheadca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Great location and very good value for the price. I have been to Palm Springs many times and never stated at the same place twice. I shall stay at the Royal Sun Inn again. Rooms are good and so is breakfast however toe room is quite small.Some painting is needed and there are scuff marks on the elevator which need cleaning. The front staff when we checked in were very unfriendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tradlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry NSW
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

On checking in I found the only person in my 3 week holiday in Mexico & the States that was not pleasant. I was also charged $65 + Tax per room which though still cheap seems different to most others. Check rate when booking as my friend who lives in PS said that it should have been only about $40 per night. View of Mountains was fabulous and bed was clean and comfortable. Room is very dated but quite OK for a quick stop over of 1 night. Breakfast was available in the pool area. As a single I asked for assistance with my luggage which was not available

Room Tip: Facing the Mountains...Sunrise was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cody14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#42 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Palm Springs
Quality Inn Palm Springs
#59 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.0 mi away
V Palm Springs
V Palm Springs
#37 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stardust Hotel
Stardust Hotel
#12 of 23 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Palm Springs East
Motel 6 Palm Springs East
#66 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Musicland Hotel
Musicland Hotel
#23 of 23 in Palm Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Inn

Property: Royal Sun Inn
Address: 1700 S Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Sun Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sun Inn known as the “Best Kept Secret” in the desert, due to its ideal location in a quiet residential neighborhood, near the intimate Botanical Garden, away from the noise of the busy streets, yet conveniently situated to most attractions and the famous Downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing