We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Colony Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Colony Palms Hotel
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I came here for only 2 nights (wish I could have stayed longer!). My room was beautifully decorated, clean, quiet, spacious---basically everything you want in a hotel room! Pool area wasn't super huge but sufficient, with an adjacent bar and surrounded by lush foliage that made it feel both tropical and secluded. Great location that you could walk easily to the downtown area in 5 minutes. Highly recommended. I'd go back in a second!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethinhoboken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    178
    79
    33
    32
See reviews for
82
431
52
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VENICE, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I have been visiting this hotel since it reopened about 6 years ago. Its a great getaway for a few days of relaxation. I spent my 40th birthday here with 8 friends and I have nothing but good memories. The rooms and beds are comfortable, the pool area is great with good food and always lots of nice people. Its also very easy to walk to the main strip and go to other restaurants without having to get in your car. Palm Springs is a place to truly relax, and the Colony Palms is the perfect place to take it down a notch and enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABWVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

After reading the reviews about the poor service here, we were nervous about staying at this hotel. Contrary to our fears, we received friendly, helpful service all the way around, from check in, to resolution of a small issue in our room, to pool and bar service, etc. The King Deluxe room was very nice with a spacious bathroom and the small in-room fridge housed our yogurt and cheese that we like to eat for breakfast. The grounds by the pool were beautiful and serene and we lazed happily, barely getting up for anything for three days. On Sunday, we were pleasantly entertained by a live band and female vocalist who played mellow Jazz Standards from 10-2. Conveniently located one block from the strip. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quieter than lower ones and rooms at the back of the property are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeWitt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel itself was really nice - great pool, beautiful grounds, convenient location and comfortable rooms. The only complaint from the trip was the front desk staff. The girl working during check-in was not friendly and completely unhelpful when we had questions. When the front entrance was blocked due to construction and we asked if there was another way to exit the hotel, she didn't really go out of her way to point us to a different exit, but instead vaguely waved her hand in the direction of the pool and told us there's a side gate somewhere.

Later during our stay, our fridge started to smoke and smelling funky, so we called the front desk to get maintenance staff to check it out. She said they're on their way but 10 minutes later we were still waiting. We called again, her response: "i told them but they're working on something else". I mean... our fridge is smoking, you'd think this would take priority. Another 10 min later, still no word from maintenance. It was only after we physically went down to the front desk that they sent someone up.

Overall, I'd stay here again but maybe next time limit my front-desk staff interactions.

(Another con to add: outrageous prices on certain items at the restaurant. I looked into getting a green juice one morning - $6 for first ingredient, $2 for each additional is a joke.)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lempelziv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHmanagement, Manager at Colony Palms Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Greetings lempelziv,

We apologize for any inconveniences that you may have experienced during your stay with us at the Colony Palms Hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to discuss your stay.


Jason Perry
Hotel Manager
CPH
(760)969-1804
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Initial confusion when we arrived late evening. They gave us a room we had asked NOT to have. Ended up in a very tiny room one night, but we went to another of type we asked for next day. Kind of a hassle wasting part of our day to move rooms, but It worked out. Heard similar stories by the pool from others who had initial problems with management. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food good, and beautiful grounds for a city block. Lots and lots of people at pool, and people got up a dawn( literally) to save space and then go back to bed. We managed to get space, but only after learning the ropes first day. Great jazz by pool on Sunday. Somewhat expensive for the amenities included..."resort" fee was ridiculous and felt like a rip for nothing. Horrible, dark old fitness room with limited space and equipment, valet parking totally unnecessary. Spa looked uninviting ....old and dark ..looked like 2 service rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VWBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHManager, Manager at Colony Palms Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit; however, please accept our sincere apologies for the unfortunate experience you encountered upon check-in. I'd like to ask you to reach out to us to further discuss the experience at info@colonypalmshotel.com. We hope to hear from you. Thank you again for providing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for last minute baby moon getaway. Hoping to stay in Palm Springs but avoid the party scene - the Colony Palms pleasantly obliged. We stayed in a casita. While the room was sparsely decorated, we loved the large outdoor bath and private patio. We felt so nicely tucked away from any hustle and bustle. The poolside restaurant had wonderful service and food. The only real minus was that during this busy weekend, poolside chairs and lounging was very limited. By about 11:00am there was not an open lounge chair to be had. The pool seemed a little cramped - chairs per guest ratio is not balanced. Otherwise fantastic stay and will be back in the future!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lajollatravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
468 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I've stayed there and this place rocks it! I was a little surprised to see a couple of negative reviews subsequent to my visit because customer service was really really good while I was there.

First thing about the hotel - valet parking. Not a must here by any means, but nice nonetheless and sets the stage for a relaxing experience.

Second thing you will notice walking into the hotel is the lush surroundings around the Very Nice pool, the bar and restaurant just the other dude if that -- all in an authentic 30's architecture that oozes luxury of Old Hollywood and secret Palm Springs getaways!

Now I've stayed in two different parts of the hotel - the back part definitely feels more motel-ish than hotel-ish and does not share the same architecture or luxury as the rooms off to the side which are definitely part of the original architecture and are really really comfortable.

Third, the restaurant. It is really really good. So good we skipped going to Roys - or any other restaurant that weekend.

Being able to just hang out in our little piece of heaven poolside, at the restaurant at outdoor seating or by the fireplace at night or the hot tub, it was a magical weekend. (We did our exercising by riding in the Tour de Palm Springs and riding up to the tramway so it wasn't all plush lol!)

Highly recommended.

As for drunk or drugged staff I never saw or experienced that either visit and I'm usually pretty clued in to that kind of thing. Hopefully what another Tripadvisor reviewer experienced was an anomaly...

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.1 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#17 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#10 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#12 of 73 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
3.6 mi away
Parker Palm Springs
Parker Palm Springs
#27 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Palms Hotel

Property: Colony Palms Hotel
Address: 572 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6030 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#9 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1936 by reputed Purple Gang Mobster Al Wertheimer, the Colony Palms Hotel was once a saloon, speakeasy and gambling house that later became a playground for Hollywood ICONS including Humphrey Bogart, Marilyn Monroe, Clark Gable, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin & Rita Hayworth. Colony Palms Hotel has maintained its nobility as a stunning four-star boutique hotel spread out over a three acre property. The rooms promise subtle sophistication with brilliantly colored mosaic tiles and fabrics, rich woods, and suzani headboards. Many have fireplaces and claw-foot bathtubs. Mature gardens throughout the property provide privacy, and intimate outdoor spaces, and the rooms open to the a central courtyard with pool. The hotel’s restaurant, the Purple Palm boasts exquisite cuisine and a stunning view of both the pool and San Jacinto Mountains. The newly redesigned Spa offers a serene atmosphere and top of the line treatments. Colony Palms Hotel also plays host to a variety of stunning weddings and events, with the option of utilizing a newly refreshed private event space or a full property buyout for a truly intimate celebration. Colony Palms Hotel is a mix of modern luxuries with a dash of romance and tranquil getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Colony Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palms Resort
Colony Palms Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing