We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is lovely ...rooms are great. and pool is divine.”
Review of Colony Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colony Palms Hotel
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff is lovely ...rooms are great. and pool is divine.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

LOve this Place....It's quiet. has a real since of the old Palm springs history. The rooms are clean and well appointed. It's close to everything and DOG Friendly... one of my favorite hangs in PS.
PS I love you!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    181
    80
    33
    32
See reviews for
87
437
53
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The grounds are meticulous. The vibe is serene.. The staff is excellent. Privacy -food and ambience are all over the top.
We would definitely come back again.
I would suggest they change their policy and say "No children allowed".

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you are looking for an amazing getaway, and if you want to take your little four legged friends, look no where else than the Colony Palms Hotel. We have been going there for five years, and this review is long overdue. Thank you to David, Jason, and Christine for making this our home away from home. They treat us like family and look after our needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanguy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stopped in at the hotel in the afternoon and asked how much for the next two nights. They quoted me one price which was too much and as I started to leave they offered me the price of $199.00 a night. That sounded good to me! I was thrilled. When I checked out two days later my bill said that I owed an additionall $26.00 a night as a "resort fee." So the room cost $225.00 a night NOT $199.00. I feel I was tricked. Hotels don't tell you the real price anymore. They suck you in and then stick it to you. Now we all have to read all the fine print on every reservation we make online and we have to grill the front desk as to all the little extras they will sneak in on us. I will never go to The Colony Palms again. I don't trust them. The federal trade commission has sent letters to the large hotel chains telling them that the "resort fee" policy is not a policy that they should be making. Let's do all we can to put an end to it.

Room Tip: Ask about resort fees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hiltop10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We absolutely love CPH! We've been staying there since 2009 and have always had a wonderful stay. In just a few years the plants have matured into part of this oasis, creating a hidden gem near the heart of downton. We find the staff is always attentive and pleasant. The front desk staff is always there to help out and make restaurant recommendations without disappointment. All the employees are pleasant from the pool attendant, the engineer, the landscaper, wait staff - everyone is very pleasant and eager to assist.

As for the rooms, we have tried the entry level room all the way to their giant two-story suite, and everything in between. Our favorite part is the pool and especially the bar! Have we had some fun afternoons there!!

The crowds are mixed and the only time we've seen families with young kids is during spring break. We learned not go go during that part of the year to avoid any screaming. Our experience even then has been that parents understand that it is a mostly adult hotel and they at least try to mitigate any screaming from the young ones. I can appreciate this. At least the parents make an attempt to keep their kids from screaming.

We were there a few weeks ago and are planning on our return shortly. Can't wait!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtP674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The location of this hotel was ideal for our stay. You have your choice of valet or self-parking. Once parked we didn't use the car it again until our departure, which was way sooner than we would have preferred. Just about everything one needs is within walking distance.

Check-in was simple and friendly. As we arrived quite early that day we pre-registered and they held our luggage until the room was ready. If you want to maximize the day at the pool simply change in the spa area. We found they offer complimentary coffee and newspapers poolside until about 10am.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful and relaxing with all of the lush plants. This hotel is neither too big and just as important for me, not too small. I believe there are about 50 rooms total spread around the property. There is seating at the pool and in other areas too if you want. The cabanas were very comfortable and away from the pool. The restaurant and bar called the Purple Palm offers service inside and out. We skipped breakfast but had a very good lunch there, choosing to sit at the bar and admire the beautiful view of the mountains. I was very impressed with the wide range of liquor offered, not just the typical offerings you would expect.

Our room was very pleasing with plenty of closet space and a very impressive mini-bar with lovely glassware, coasters, martini shaker, etc. The bed was extremely comfortable with soft white sheets and comforter and great pillows. Our bathroom was huge and the toiletries the kind you gladly take home. We didn't see any children at the pool when we were there but I've read some families do bring their kids.

We didn't use the spa but I simply had to give perfect marks for everything else as we did not have a single complaint. The entire staff including housekeeping and maintenance were always greeting us and it was almost embarassing when they would hold a gate or stand out of the way when you pass. Very professional and I really appreciated the attention. One of my pet peeves is when the staff carry around walkie-talkies and you can hear their conversations outside your room. I noticed here they wear small headphones and mic.

Our entire stay was great and we intend to return as soon as possible. If you find yourself in Palm Springs but aren't staying here I would recommend you at least stop by and have a drink or a meal and see for yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryO134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have always been a big fan of Palm Springs. Finding a place that allowed for a chilled relaxing vibe was very hard, until a friend told me about this secret hideaway.
The Colony Palms Hotel is the BEST !!! I travel to the desert twice a month for work and always stay here. I have been in love with the property for over 9 months !
The staff is so friendly and kind. The property is just gorgeous. They have beautiful water fountains, a variety of seating area's and a amazing pool. It is a small hotel, which gives you a feeling of seclusion. The food is amazing and very fairly priced. I have the opportunity to stay anywhere in the valley and I am addicted to the CPH. I could not find a better way to unwind from a long and stressful work day. The location is fantastic. You can walk to downtown for some nibbles and shopping. But really why would you leave paradise ?
I have told many friends about it and they have thanked me countless times.. If you want a treat go to the Colony Palms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLR2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.1 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#17 of 73 in Palm Springs
171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#10 of 73 in Palm Springs
288 reviews
3.6 mi away
Parker Palm Springs
Parker Palm Springs
#31 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Palms Hotel

Property: Colony Palms Hotel
Address: 572 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6030 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1936 by reputed Purple Gang Mobster Al Wertheimer, the Colony Palms Hotel was once a saloon, speakeasy and gambling house that later became a playground for Hollywood ICONS including Humphrey Bogart, Marilyn Monroe, Clark Gable, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin & Rita Hayworth. Colony Palms Hotel has maintained its nobility as a stunning four-star boutique hotel spread out over a three acre property. The rooms promise subtle sophistication with brilliantly colored mosaic tiles and fabrics, rich woods, and suzani headboards. Many have fireplaces and claw-foot bathtubs. Mature gardens throughout the property provide privacy, and intimate outdoor spaces, and the rooms open to the a central courtyard with pool. The hotel’s restaurant, the Purple Palm boasts exquisite cuisine and a stunning view of both the pool and San Jacinto Mountains. The newly redesigned Spa offers a serene atmosphere and top of the line treatments. Colony Palms Hotel also plays host to a variety of stunning weddings and events, with the option of utilizing a newly refreshed private event space or a full property buyout for a truly intimate celebration. Colony Palms Hotel is a mix of modern luxuries with a dash of romance and tranquil getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colony Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palms Resort
Colony Palms Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing