We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of beauty and comfort”
Review of Colony Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colony Palms Hotel
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This little gem is not quite on the Palm Springs strip but very near to it and is a comfortable walk to it. As soon as you walk on to the property, you'll be greeted by hummingbirds and a plethora of blooming flowers, a classy pool/bar/restaurant area that feels very much like old Hollywood (in the best way, not just the see-and-be-seen way). The staff are pleasant and eager to please, and we found the other guests friendly and willing to strike up conversations as well. The hotel is older, but decently maintained authentically decorated. Food and beverages are a bit pricey, but tastey and good--mostly worth it. We highly recommend over some of the larger hotels in the area...this one just has SO MUCH charm!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JSM958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 800 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We love the Colony Palms- atmosphere, pool area, bar, restaurant and spa are all lovely. Great food and service. Valet and housekeeping excellent as well. The only thing preventing a perfect score is the truly abysmal Front Desk service and lame gym. They don't know or have any information and either don't forward messages or the people receiving them don't return calls. Calls about spa appointments, items left behind, reservations, room information. As for the gym, they have antiquated elliptical and treadmill and a broken bike in a small, dark room in the rear of the spa. Once they provide better training and customer service and invest a few $ in the gym, this will be a perfect score.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marystanforddc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Colony Palms Hotel last month for only 1 night! I wish we had stayed longer! It was such a neat hotel- small, but charming! As a photo buff, I took many many photos of the hotel. Really fantastic decor in their guest rooms and also a HUGE bathroom and HUGE shower! When we arrived, the temperature of the room was perfect and their was music on. And with its close proximity to downtown, I'd recommend this as a great base for a visit to Palm Springs! Really loved it! The "mini-bar" featured full size liquor bottles. Really beautiful touch!

Room Tip: We stayed on a Sunday- cheaper rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citygirll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were dealt accessible Casita #7. Terrible unit -- avoid at all costs. Being accessible, there is no bathroom or shower door, which means zero privacy even for couples and water everywhere on the floor when showering (especially thanks to a cheap handheld shower head). With a Casita we had an outdoor patio area and although it was private, it faced the parking lot so street noise was prevalent.

We were able to change units after first night and our second Casita was the same layout and quality but at least had doors for the toilet and shower. However this unit smelled strongly like cigarette smoke and also the toilet fan did not work. It took an entire day to air it out to be tolerable. The in-room safe was not operable and had to be serviced, the shower head was heavily corroded and worn and the area rug was stained. These wear and tear items can be overlooked for a lesser hotel, but not for a property that claims to be luxury.

The website for Colony Palms is very misleading and was a warning flag for us. There you will notice very few room pictures by design since they are far from luxurious. In reality rooms are dated, spartan and worn. In our attempt to change rooms after the first night we viewed other room categories and they were of similar quality.

The "free" internet was extremely frustrating. It was very slow and unreliable and required logging in constantly -- borderline unusable. Yet you are still charged a $26 per night "resort fee"? Ridiculous.

The restaurant was solid but expensive. The staff and grounds are nice and the easy self park was appreciated.

Overall I don't understand the rave reviews for this property. Perhaps there is some nostalgia here that I'm missing. If you are looking to sit by the pool and drink all day, I understand the appeal. But as a first stay for a well traveled person, I absolutely do not recommend Colony Palms. The accommodation was exceptionally poor for the price. For the most part it felt like we were in a upscale motel room that had to be tolerated, which is unacceptable for +$400/night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank monday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We enjoyed three wonderful nights at CPH. The room, staff, gardens and restaurant exceeded our expectations - this venue is truly an "oasis"!!! Well located within walking distance to downtown Palm Springs and a wonderful variety of restaurants and shops - but you would neven know while inside the elegant, lush and secluded hotel grounds. The Purple Palm Restaurant was wonderful! The only improvement the hotel could make to the experience would be to reduce the music volume at the pool - otherwise, all was perfect and I look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventure-must
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I got married at CP last fall. We HIGHLY recommend this as a wedding venue and a place to stay in PS in general. It was the perfect venue for a wedding our size (135) since we were able to book out the hotel for the weekend and fill it with just our guests. Our guests raved about the hotel & all of the touches during the wedding. Most of that credit is due to what a delightful property CP is and how terrific the staff was throughout. Very friendly and helpful. The rooms are great, the pool area is awesome, and the overall vibe is super cool. Food & drink was a big hit as well.
We have stayed here on a few other occasions as well and always had a great time. We will come back here frequently and highly recommend this hotel, for a wedding or just a relaxing few days in PS.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank jer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The good: nice pool, decent restaurant, lovely gardens, nice shower in bathroom. Good service in restaurant.
The not-so-good: Rooms not so great to hang out in if you want to escape public spaces, loud air conditioning, thin walls (diagnosed neighbor with sleep apnea), attached "patio" tiny and not inviting at all. Appears that most rooms do not have attached, appealing outdoor spaces. Service at front desk and poolside were sluggish.

For my money, I'll go back to Viceroy next time. Several pools, spot-on service and most rooms have nice patios/decks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#14 of 75 in Palm Springs
302 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
373 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#7 of 75 in Palm Springs
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Palms Hotel

Address: 572 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6030 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $244 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1936 by reputed Purple Gang Mobster Al Wertheimer, the Colony Palms Hotel was once a saloon, speakeasy and gambling house that later became a playground for Hollywood ICONS including Humphrey Bogart, Marilyn Monroe, Clark Gable, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin & Rita Hayworth. Colony Palms Hotel has maintained its nobility as a stunning four-star boutique hotel spread out over a three acre property. The rooms promise subtle sophistication with brilliantly colored mosaic tiles and fabrics, rich woods, and suzani headboards. Many have fireplaces and claw-foot bathtubs. Mature gardens throughout the property provide privacy, and intimate outdoor spaces, and the rooms open to the a central courtyard with pool. The hotel’s restaurant, the Purple Palm boasts exquisite cuisine and a stunning view of both the pool and San Jacinto Mountains. The newly redesigned Spa offers a serene atmosphere and top of the line treatments. Colony Palms Hotel also plays host to a variety of stunning weddings and events, with the option of utilizing a newly refreshed private event space or a full property buyout for a truly intimate celebration. Colony Palms Hotel is a mix of modern luxuries with a dash of romance and tranquil getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Colony Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palms Resort
Colony Palms Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing