We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best in PS”
Review of Colony Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colony Palms Hotel
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply the best in PS”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have stayed in Colony Palm on three occasions, and this peaceful and romantic place never disappoints. From it's beautiful gardens fragrant with jasmine and roses to Moroccan themed room the place soothes your soul! My only complaint is the food, the menu is limited and not interesting at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eradatmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    178
    79
    33
    32
See reviews for
82
431
52
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The pictures on the website really don't do justice to the property -- we almost didn't book here because we really couldn't get a sense of what it was like. It was the other reviews that swayed us, and we're glad we didn't miss out.

The rooms are generally appointed in a Moroccan theme, and ours was excellent. A king-size bed, and beautiful mini-bar with surprisingly reasonable prices, a variety of glassware, and cocktail mixers. The bathroom is huge, with a large vanity and shower. I was kind of surprised at the lack of a tub, but the shower was nice and large.

The rooms are arranged around a central courtyard, and there are steps up to small non-contiguous sections of second floor porch, with about 2-3 rooms per set of stairs. There was a bistro table and chairs for each room.

The pool was very nice, and the hot tub is secluded around the corner. There is drinks service at the pool area, and plenty of chairs, because the hotel itself is quite small. The pool is open 24 hours, which is a nice benefit, though at dinnertime it's a bit too close to the outdoor tables for privacy. However, this place actively discourages children, so there was virtually no noise around the pool area each day.

We ate at the Purple Palm restaurant the first night and it was very good, but we went out the other nights for some variety. If you don't a little walk, you can walk to "downtown" where there are lots of restaurants and cafes. We got there just at the end of the low season, and most places where open and not crowded, which was great.

Overall, we'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon9769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay at the hotel, the grounds are beautiful! Lots of wonderful greenery and hidden corners with wonderful private seating areas. The hot tub and pool were great. The room was also really nice and comfortable, however there was no tub and the small bar fridge was a bit noisy. Overall a wonderful place to stay, great for a couple of small group of friends who want to relax! Very close to all the shops and restaurants. Just note that when the room is cleaned they turn the tv on and it plays mood music. They must have forgot to turn the music off in one of the vacant rooms and I could hear the music all night. When I told them I heard music they quickly sent security and turned it off. They acted very quickly and I didn't hear it again. Overall a must stay!!! I would book here again for sure!

Room Tip: Room 26 is located beside the air conditioner units. Inquire if you room has a tub if you want a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We come to Palm Sprngs about 4 times a year for some poolside R&R. Our traditional favorite has been Alcazar, but due to last minute booking they could not accommodate our stay. We read the reviews and selected Colony Palms. Glad we did! The rooms are spacious and very well appointed from the quality of the linens to the toiletries. The turn down service last night included a spray of lavender. Well done! The location made it all to easy to walk out to some very fine restaurants (and we did). But the Purple Palms onsite is not to be missed! We had 2 luncheons there and both were superb! I was blown away by the preparation on the scallops the first day. Had the Fall Palm salad the second. Presentation and taste were excellent. We will be back!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Really enjoyed staying here. Could have spent days lounging by the pool. The outdoor poolside bar was small but very adequate, and drinks were well made. Breakfast was also excellent. Only complaint was strict check-out. Could have used an extra hour or so.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Colony Palms has received some great reviews so I was excited to visit and ultimately I wasn’t disappointed.

The location was perfect for us and within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. Like other boutique hotels in the area the Colony Palms can be hard to spot from the road and once you enter you feel like you have been transported a million miles away.

The hotel has a lot of history, opening in 1936 it was originally an underground speakeasy and brothel owned by mobster Al Wertheimer. The rooms are set around the central pool area which boasts casitas, a billion lush plants, an outdoor bar and their restaurant Purple Palm. I bought two cocktails by the pool and it came to about $35, pretty pricey considering they were served in plastic cups and I fetched them myself.

The rooms are nice, they are all moroccan themed with a tapestry hanging above each bed. Some rooms feature claw foot bathtubs and private seating areas but are all relatively small (think updated motel room). Our air conditioning was a little hit and miss so we were too hot most of the time.

All in all the Colony is a great place to chill out and relax, it’s not perfect and it’s a little overpriced but if you love small, quiet boutique hotels this might be the one for you.

Room Tip: This is a glorified motel, the decor and service is impeccable but it's definitely not a hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkSaguaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here after Christmas and through New Year's. We were in Room 26 which is a bit far off, was a handicapped accessible room. They are strict here about both check in and check out, even though they did not appear to be extremely busy, at 4:00pm and 12:00 noon respectively, so make sure to plan accordingly. We asked for a late check out, and all they could do was 30 minutes extra. The room was sparse, with a painted concrete floor, walk in shower, and nice decor. As other guests have remarked, the wi-fi is very spotty in some areas and this included our room. We were able to connect, but honestly, dial up would have been faster, the staff suggested coming closer to the lobby. The grounds remind me of a larger "Melrose Place" and are well kept, with wonderful mature landscaping, great touches like a constantly lit fire pit with chairs, and little nooks in the landscaping with lawn or lawn chairs. The gardeners do a wonderful job here. Parking was easy, and both the parking and wi-fi are included in the daily resort fee of about $26.00. My wife used the gym, and liked it, the staff was respectful and let guests have privacy, but were attentive when needed. The pool and spa were well heated, and there were plenty of lounge chairs and towels. We would stay here again if in the area. This is not a great place to bring your kids, as it really ruins the intimate and relaxing ambiance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.1 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#17 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#10 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#12 of 73 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
3.6 mi away
Parker Palm Springs
Parker Palm Springs
#26 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Palms Hotel

Property: Colony Palms Hotel
Address: 572 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6030 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#9 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1936 by reputed Purple Gang Mobster Al Wertheimer, the Colony Palms Hotel was once a saloon, speakeasy and gambling house that later became a playground for Hollywood ICONS including Humphrey Bogart, Marilyn Monroe, Clark Gable, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin & Rita Hayworth. Colony Palms Hotel has maintained its nobility as a stunning four-star boutique hotel spread out over a three acre property. The rooms promise subtle sophistication with brilliantly colored mosaic tiles and fabrics, rich woods, and suzani headboards. Many have fireplaces and claw-foot bathtubs. Mature gardens throughout the property provide privacy, and intimate outdoor spaces, and the rooms open to the a central courtyard with pool. The hotel’s restaurant, the Purple Palm boasts exquisite cuisine and a stunning view of both the pool and San Jacinto Mountains. The newly redesigned Spa offers a serene atmosphere and top of the line treatments. Colony Palms Hotel also plays host to a variety of stunning weddings and events, with the option of utilizing a newly refreshed private event space or a full property buyout for a truly intimate celebration. Colony Palms Hotel is a mix of modern luxuries with a dash of romance and tranquil getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Colony Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palms Resort
Colony Palms Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing