We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At these rates, should be perfect.”
Review of Colony Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colony Palms Hotel
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
table42please
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“At these rates, should be perfect.”
Reviewed April 3, 2008

This was our second visit to the Colony Palms Hotel. We went when the hotel first opened. Since we were staying at a new property, we did not right a review out of fairness to the property on our prior visit. We liked the rooms and property enough to wait a few months to return. It had a nice vibe and felt like it was going to be a cool and relaxing place to call home in Palm Springs.
We returned last weekend, it was a mess on so many levels of service, hospitality and style. Sad because it had (has) so much potential as a Palm Springs hang out. It feels as if rich kids decided to open a hotel. They hired talented designers, spent a lot of dads money, made it look pretty, had friends out, then got bored and mad when daddy said he did not want to spend any more money, so they went back to LA and left a few friends to run the hotel. Rooms are very nice and really comfortable, much better than others in Palm Springs, but already need maintenance and are dirty. Housekeeping is poor, nice amenities, great beds and in-room bar. Towels worn. Ceiling fan rattled all night. Pool lounge chairs are filthy and no one keeps the public areas clean during the day or night. The gates from the parking lots should lock at night. Very unsecure property. They are already cutting corners by adding not-so-chic furniture and knickknacks around the property. We were told by another guest that the GM lives on the property. Maybe he stays in his room all day and watches TV, because no one is running the place. It is obvious that the GM does not know how to run a hotel or for that matter, care about guests or service. To observe his lack of attention to the guest or his surroundings explains the problems. We never saw him ask a guest how things were going or even pick up a tray of dirty plates that he walked by poolside. We have never seen a GM so concerned with himself rather than his guests. We arrived on Friday, looking forward to a quiet dinner and swim at the hotel, only to find out the restaurant and pool area were closed for a loud private party complete with karaoke! Lack luster apology, a bit like we were lucky to have a room. The pool and restaurant area is so central to this property, that to close it to guests on any night, let alone a Friday night is a mistake, besides the fact that they never advised us they would be closed and it was noisy until late. They do not have other pools or restaurant options on property for the guests. We were hungry and did not want room service, so we had to get back in the car to go grab a bite, and not able to take a swim. Every question has to go to 4 people for an answer. We like casual hip style, but currently this hotel is sloppy due to poor management. The restaurant is very special and the saving grace of the property. It is still a work-in-progress, but they get it, unlike the hotel. The server on Saturday night told us it was a new menu and new chef. Food was very good, better at lunch, a bit $$$. The server told us that more options were being worked on. The restaurant is charming and makes the property. It feels authentic and stylish. Flip flops work at dinner and we love that. but the menu is still a bit dress shoe. The hotel was heading in that direction, but something happened in terms of vision, execution and service standards. The spa is still not open. The "resort fee" is a joke at the price of the rooms. Go enjoy a great meal in a beautiful, casual room, but think twice about staying the night, at least for now, and ask if the pool is open.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
7 Thank table42please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    181
    80
    33
    32
See reviews for
87
437
53
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2008

The Colony Palms is a recently renovated 1930's historic boutique hotel. Staff is friendly and professional. The poolside bar/restaurant has a great vibe.

We've stayed in hotels all around the world and the Colony Palms compares quite favorably to any boutique hotel.

We also tried a number of the restaurants recommended in TripAdvisor, but the hotel restaurant: Purple Palm was definitely a class above in terms of food and service.

Not sure why there are a few cranky TripAdvisor reviews - we thought the overall experience was great.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PaloAltoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

After some difficulty finding availability with properties ie Viceroy..my wife called 2 weeks before our weekend getaway to ask questions re: this property because of it's proximity to downtown area.

We learned their rates were roughly $300-350 a night (rates were cheaper online) and that the advertised Dinah Shore Package was unavailable. Moreover their advertised spa was yet to actually open. Same with fitness room.

We felt the rate too high based on other properties in this price range especially with the limited amenities (spa etc).

We did not book. BTW, we are a married couple w/no kids 38 yr old and pretty hip as 'hip' goes. Which is this properties prime demographic.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank whenthemusicstops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

First and foremost, when staying in Palm Springs, please realize that you may not find the service that one expects elsewhere. As long as you realize this, you will be prepared for your travels.

In regards to hotels in the area, I have stayed at several of the high end Palm Springs properties and find primarily the same service levels. What separates The Colony Palms from other desert properties is the care of management and staff. There is a concentrated effort in attention to detail and while I have read that other travelers have experienced disappointment, if brought to the attention of Management (actually, directly behind the front desk), they address it immediately and with intent. Furthermore, there is a very special little feel to the place that wraps you with a feeling of lightheartedness, ease and relaxation. Combine that with the care that you receive from staff, heartfelt care, this certainly overcomes any negatives one may experience. Oh, and the rest of the property, beautiful! She really is a beauty ...

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank verypleasedSouthPas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2008

Just getting ready to book another trip to Palm Springs and want to share my experience a couple of weeks ago at the Colony Palm. Normaly we book into the Zoso or Viceroy because of their central location, design and the ability to take the four legged family member along. On this occasion all were booked and a friend recommended the newly refurbished Colony Palm which also has a pet policy.

We were lucky enough to get one of the bungalows with a beautiful private spa and built in lounge area. The attention to detail and design are apparent and the overall feeling is one of quality. The hotel has a very european vibe in its style. It reminded us of trips to the South of France or ST Barts in the Carribean.

The pool area is beautiful and is flanked by the remarkable Purple Palm restaurant which I have to say has the best food in Palm Springs and a great Sunday brunch. A little pricey for brunch in Palm Springs but certainly worth the money.

The only negative of the hotel is that they do not have secure parking other wise it is the most freshly done choice in the desert!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank rishgrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2008

I decided to stay at the Colony Palms Hotel because of its historical significance and its beautiful pictures and some good reviews

Check in was kind of wierd. The personnel were harried and unfriendly. I was shocked that there was a resort fee of $18 which they say included a newspaper, coffee (which we never got) and free parking (quite frankly, anyone could park in their parking lot as it's accessible to the public).

The inner courtyard where the pool, bar/lounge and restaurant are located looked pretty and inviting. But it turned out that the chairs and benches are really uncomfortable and metal furniture is a bit cheap and rickity. The piped in music was annoyingly loud and we had to ask to have it turned down. Judging from the people at the inner courtyard, it looks like it caters to the younger crowd, who is probably into the "hip scene" but doesn't understand the value of good service.

We stayed in Room 34 which they call a "Superior King" and they pointed out as having a "pool view". It turns out that there is a view to the pool but only as you go up the stairs to the 2nd floor and if you keep the entry door open and crane your neck to peek through the door, otherwise, you have a view of the parking lot through the windows on the other wall. I called the front desk and asked they were sure if we'd gotten a Superior Room, which they said we had. I asked what made this a superior room and they said it was larger than their regular room. I couldn't imagine a room smaller than the one we were in.

The worst part was the room was disgusting. The queen bed barely fit, the closet was skinny/tiny - (maybe 12" wide), the bathroom had two pocket doors that grated and rumbled with the noise of an airforce jet taking off when you tried to open or close it. Worse yet, these doors that you had to struggle with all your might were dirty with grime - no doubt from past patrons who'd had to struggle with those pocket doors. The pocket doors never completely closed, leaving about a 3/4" gap so you really couldn't have privacy. The bath floor was painted concrete and looked dirty and unsanitary, lighting was very poor and the bathroom light switch was not even in the bathroom - you had to walk outside the bathroom to get to it - can you believe that? The ceiling fan wobbled wildly when you turned on the fan. The bar area was just stocked with all kinds of expensive booze and the salty/sweet snacks were out of date - i.e. probably rancid. The LCD TV while nice and big and adjustable, but didn't work. We had to call to have it serviced. After they got it to work, it had very limited channels, and terrible audio sound. There was one chair - a nice large leather chair - but it had no reading light, even though there was an outlet close by. So, we had to read by the two night stands - which by the way did have 3-way bulbs which helped the room lighting. The room was located on the corner, right next to the highway - and was noisy if you opened the windows. The carpet looked dirty, too. The exterior door were beautiful - loved those, but unfortunately, they would slam shut if you let go of them. The linens and towels were wonderful. But the pillows were way too puffy and hard - ended up with a stiff neck.

The outdoor pathways were not even when you transitioned from one pathway to another - these were clearly marked/painted for safety. but I still considered them unsafe as you had to keep your eyes down to make sure you wouldn't accidentally trip as you walked down a corridor.

Never tried the restaurant - we were afraid to, after the experience with the room.

Good thing I only booked one night there. The second night was at another hotel which turned out to be absolutely wonderful, which was the The Horizon Hotel, which is ranked much higher on TripAdvisor's Hotel Ranking than did The Colony Palms - I should have known better.

The Colony Palms has no qualms in deceiving its clientele - I just can't imagine how they could in their own conscience label the room we got as a "Superior" room. They need to get back to the basics like smile and be happy, maintain the property, and ensure that they can deliver what they "promise" and stop deceiving. Henceforth, I'm referring to it as the "Colony Qualms".

  • Liked — nothing!
  • Disliked — dirty, misleading/deception, poorly maintainted, over-priced
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trtse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

I just had one of the most relaxing weekends of my life. I stayed just two nights at The Colony Palms and never wanted to leave. I was impressed with almost all aspects of the hotel as well as the employees. I was greeted by young, attractive, and most importantly, attentive and friendly employees from the moment i pulled up to the front door, throughout dinner, and then at the bar.

On the way to my room I passed through the lobby and by the beautiful pool in the middle of a well groomed, gardened courtyard. Aside from the attractive landscaping the crowd by the pool, which i found out start to congregate before 10am, was also an attractive, mixed group of people. The soundtrack of my entire weekend was a mix of Sinatra, Louis Armstrong, Ella Fitzgerald, Michael Buble, ect., and it couldn't have fit the mood of the hotel any better.

The room I stayed in was just one of the standard rooms in the hotel but it didn't feel that way. The bed, towels and robe, the bathroom, all of it felt like they made a mistake and upgraded me to a better room. They cut no corners in the rooms of this hotel.

At the restaurant, The Purple Palm I ate a few of the best meals I've had for a long time. I dined one evening and ate brunch another afternoon and I can't say enough about the quality of the food. I had dinner with three other people and had the pleasure of trying four different entrees and three different deserts. The service at dinner and brunch both were exactly as the food, exquisite. I should mention that if you are lucky enough to be at brunch on a sunday you will be serenaded by an entertaining but not distracting live jazz quartet.

In the evenings I had cocktails at the bar where I was served by bartenders who literally had a following. People came to the bar at the Purple Palm for the specialty drinks concocted by these well known bartenders. Not to mention the "mystery" drinks that aren't written down anywhere, you just have to enquire about them. I had a nice giggle when the tab came and i saw the clever names of the cocktails on the tab. Just that little bit extra that would make me want to go there instead of somewhere else. The night crowd was very similar to the daytime crowd, a mixed group of friendly, attractive people.

All in all the hotel was an incredibly possitive experience and I would strongly recommend it to anyone who was planning a trip to Palm Springs. Hotel was wonderful and the service was so extraordinary that I felt inclined to send thank you cards because of the way I was treated. Worth every penny.

  • Liked — The hotel itself and the service throughout the facilities.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmy_kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.1 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#15 of 73 in Palm Springs
171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#11 of 73 in Palm Springs
288 reviews
3.6 mi away
Parker Palm Springs
Parker Palm Springs
#31 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Palms Hotel

Property: Colony Palms Hotel
Address: 572 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6030 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1936 by reputed Purple Gang Mobster Al Wertheimer, the Colony Palms Hotel was once a saloon, speakeasy and gambling house that later became a playground for Hollywood ICONS including Humphrey Bogart, Marilyn Monroe, Clark Gable, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin & Rita Hayworth. Colony Palms Hotel has maintained its nobility as a stunning four-star boutique hotel spread out over a three acre property. The rooms promise subtle sophistication with brilliantly colored mosaic tiles and fabrics, rich woods, and suzani headboards. Many have fireplaces and claw-foot bathtubs. Mature gardens throughout the property provide privacy, and intimate outdoor spaces, and the rooms open to the a central courtyard with pool. The hotel’s restaurant, the Purple Palm boasts exquisite cuisine and a stunning view of both the pool and San Jacinto Mountains. The newly redesigned Spa offers a serene atmosphere and top of the line treatments. Colony Palms Hotel also plays host to a variety of stunning weddings and events, with the option of utilizing a newly refreshed private event space or a full property buyout for a truly intimate celebration. Colony Palms Hotel is a mix of modern luxuries with a dash of romance and tranquil getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colony Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palms Resort
Colony Palms Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing