We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cool bijou hotel with very friendly and helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colony Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colony Palms Hotel
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cool bijou hotel with very friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

One block off the main drag in Old Palm Springs, quiet but walking distance to everything. Comfortable and relaxing with great music around the pool - no hotel piped muzak here! For 3 perfect days in Palm Springs stay at The Colony Palm Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneLAcupuncture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    170
    75
    31
    32
See reviews for
79
416
51
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is the sweetest little hotel in Palm Springs. Best for couples, romantic, nice rooms, but the most wonderful thing is the outdoor environment. Beautiful landscaping and little private getaway areas all over the place - even a lovely outdoor fireplace. There are hummingbirds that are so friendly that you can get right up to them and the place generally gives a wonderful feeling of serenity and centering. Highly recommended.
Only one criticism: what's with the starched sheets? They look nice but are murder to sleep on!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mgoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were very impressed with the hotel. The rooms are lovely and the pool area is beautiful. It's within walking distance of good cafes and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. The beds were super-comfortable and it was so quiet that we slept really well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fran1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I agree with what has been said with previous reviews on TripAdvisor. Wonderful setting and quite. The rooms are real large, but nice area to sit out by the pool or outside of the room. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shawn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

to keep is simple: WOW
I've been coming to PS for many years as a weekend respite from living in LA LA LAND.
I had never heard of this hotel prior to this trip, now that I've stayed here, I will NEVER stay ANYWHERE else when I come to the desert.
This hotel has the FULL package, amazing service, top notch food and drinks, comfortable bed, huge shower, fabulous SALT WATER pool, it's beautifully landscaped and has a great location - right behind the main street in PS - it's such a GEM.
I'm in the travel industry and have traveled quite a bit for both work and pleasure - so to be this impressed with a property is quite rare for me.
ENJOY this highly recommended fabulous desert oasis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went on a Groupon offer, which gave us 2 nights and a food and spa voucher for $242 for two nights.
A really pleasant boutiquey hotel in the centre of Palm Springs which had a really nice feel to it, and lovely gardens.
The layout of the garden makes for limited sun loungers in the sun during these winter months, and the sun goes behind the mountain around 3.30pm (although granted there is not much they can do about that!)
The pool and jacuzzi were clean and well maintained, and I enjoyed the music they played, although a little loud, and a little too eclectic for my tastes.
We got some lunch by the pool, which was tasty enough, but certainly not cheap!
Our room was nice and carried on the colonial theme, although a fair bit smaller than the other hotel we had come from (which was a fair bit cheaper). The TV is at a very strange angle over one of the beds. There is a well stocked bar, and room in the fridge for you to put in your own drinks.
Probably the biggest gripe is the wi-fi connectivity. It is appalling. We tried to watch something on Hulu on 3 separate occasions at various times of the day and night, and none of them worked. We gave up! Our cheaper hotel up the road had excellent wifi in comparison. As this was included in the mandatory 'resort fee' (something I absolutely loath and don't agree with) I would expect it to be much much quicker.
I think it would be great for couples who are not relying on an internet connection to provide their entertainment...!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moogharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you are willing to splurge, the Casita is well worth it. I wish the weather was a bit warmer but overall our stay was relaxing, pleasant and rejuvenating. The hotel premises are beautiful, well maintained and serene. We had brunch at the Purple Palm restaurant and thought it was very filling. We decided to venture out for other meals during our stay and found lots of amazing options within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deevyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#11 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#14 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#22 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#6 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Palms Hotel

Property: Colony Palms Hotel
Address: 572 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6030 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#10 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated Luxury Experience in the heart of Palm SpringsDowntown Palm SpringsSituated in Downtown Palm Springs and the Uptown Design District, this romantic hotel is close the Palm Springs Art Museum, Palm Springs Convention Center and the downtown shopping and restaraunt area.Restaurant and SpaThe hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Voted by Condé Nast Traveler as on the top new restaurants in the world, this popular restaurant features upscale Mediterranean cuisine.Luxury In-Room amenitiesHD LCD televisions include premium cable/satellite channels. Guestrooms also feature beds with pillowtop mattresses, premium down bedding, signature C.O. Bigelow amenities, full minibar with top shelf liquor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Groupon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Colony Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palms Resort
Colony Palms Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing