We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colony Palms Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Alcazar Palm Springs(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Movie Colony Hotel(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Arboles Hotel(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Palm Springs(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Andreas Hotel & Spa(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Inn(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
WorldMark Palm Springs(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (837)
Filter reviews
837 results
Traveler rating
487
193
85
38
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
193
85
38
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspurple palmboutique hotelpool areamini bardeluxe roomoutdoor fireplaceromantic getawaypoolside servicemid weekold schoolbeautiful poollounge chairsopen hoursthe parkersmall hoteldowntown areadowntown palm springs
Filter
Updating list...
422 - 427 of 837 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We loved the Colony Palms. Two story building, 49 rooms and 7 casitas, laid out in an L-shape surrounding the pool. The bar and restaurant face the pool. Although right on Indian Canyon Road, once inside the hotel, it is quiet ( except for the music blasting out of the speakers around the pool ) and calm.

The staff are exceptional, friendly, genuine and welcoming without being obsequious. they all seemed to have a certain pride in the hotel and were knowledgeable and helpful.

The restaurand is excellent, we had two fine dinners there. Broad menu, some real imagination, good preparation and informed server.

Coffee is available poolside from 0600, a definite convenience. Room was comfortable, with interesting decoration. Couple of minor issues, could not open bathroom window as the handle was missing and the shower. When I saw the Speakman shower head I was encouraged, but, alas the shower can only deliver a pathetic little dribble of water. It would be a stretch to call it a shower. Towels were a little thin for the price and positioning, and a tad threadbare.

Those gripes notwithstanding, we found the general ambiance welcoming. It would be even better if not for the loud music pounding out of the speakers on every side of the pool. ( you can't get away from it ). Mercifully, it is, at least, turned off early in the morning.

Bottom line, we really liked it, and would go back.

Room Tip: When you enter your room, you will hear the same music blasting away outside being piped into your room. The soource is the TV, even though it does not appear to be on. Using the remote to switch it off solves the problem.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed Sunday-Friday in a ground level room facing the pool. We had no problem sleeping, it was quiet. Self parking very close by if you don't prefer valet. Pool is large and heated comfortably. Located in north end of PS, several restaurants within a 5 minute walk; walking to south end of PS with more restaurants, M Monroe statue etc takes 15-20 minutes (a pleasant evening walk). Room is not large but bed is very comfortable. Room has full cocktail service supplies: shaker, multiple glasses, corkscrew, etc. Room does not have a coffee maker, hotel coffee service begins 6 am. There is a good coffee shop across the street that opens at 5:30 am (Koffi) Hooded robes in rooms, pool towels are pretty large. Rooms have the usual soap, shampoo, etc and also toothpaste.Resort fee and utlity fee about $25/night. Drinks and dinner by the pool were very tasty and pleasant. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ground level away from ice machine.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jisabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I love the colony palms. Our room was nice and clean and I loved the ambience music in the room and in the common areas of the hotel. It truly was relaxing. This hotel is small and quiet, great for relaxing. The restaurant by the pool is alright, nothing special, just convenient. It's a little hard to get a chair at the pool on weekends unless you wake up early enough to save one. The rooms are stocked with beverages which is a big plus.

This property is beautiful at night and has a romantic vibe to it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway, my favorite place to stay in Palm Springs!

Also restaurants in the area close very early so make sure you do not wait until after 9 to go to dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennaberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We enjoyed our recent four night stay at the Colony Palms. It is quite pricey, however, compared to similar Palm Springs properties particularly when one includes the $24 per day "resort fee" covering parking, wifi and coffee. My biggest problem with the hotel is that the internet connectivity was absolutely terrible. It was very hard to get any of my Apple devices to connect to begin with. It took me over an hour of trial and error. The staff was not knowledgeable and not very interested in helping because they told me that other people were successfully connected. If you need to do anything other than email, you will likely be very frustrated. Web browsing was extremely slow and you can forget using music streaming services like Pandora or Spotify. I was not able to do most of the work i needed to do during my stay. Ive had faster wifi connections in the mountains of Guatemala and Argentina at much less expensive hotels. I would not stay here again for this reason alone unless they decide to pay for a higher bandwidth connection.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank BuenosAiresSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Colony Palms for two nights in a single room. The rooms are surprisingly stocked with a full bar and the proper extras just in case your party turns romantic. While the room was not large it has a comfy bed and large shower. Breakfast and dinner were enjoyed while over looking the pool. If you want to just relax and soak in the sun, the pool has plenty of lounge chairs and a number of cabanas to kick your feet up and read a book. When I visit again, I would probably not return to the spa, but everything else was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews