We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility”
Review of Colony Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colony Palms Hotel
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I love the colony palms. Our room was nice and clean and I loved the ambience music in the room and in the common areas of the hotel. It truly was relaxing. This hotel is small and quiet, great for relaxing. The restaurant by the pool is alright, nothing special, just convenient. It's a little hard to get a chair at the pool on weekends unless you wake up early enough to save one. The rooms are stocked with beverages which is a big plus.

This property is beautiful at night and has a romantic vibe to it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway, my favorite place to stay in Palm Springs!

Also restaurants in the area close very early so make sure you do not wait until after 9 to go to dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennaberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 790 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

We enjoyed our recent four night stay at the Colony Palms. It is quite pricey, however, compared to similar Palm Springs properties particularly when one includes the $24 per day "resort fee" covering parking, wifi and coffee. My biggest problem with the hotel is that the internet connectivity was absolutely terrible. It was very hard to get any of my Apple devices to connect to begin with. It took me over an hour of trial and error. The staff was not knowledgeable and not very interested in helping because they told me that other people were successfully connected. If you need to do anything other than email, you will likely be very frustrated. Web browsing was extremely slow and you can forget using music streaming services like Pandora or Spotify. I was not able to do most of the work i needed to do during my stay. Ive had faster wifi connections in the mountains of Guatemala and Argentina at much less expensive hotels. I would not stay here again for this reason alone unless they decide to pay for a higher bandwidth connection.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank BuenosAiresSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Colony Palms for two nights in a single room. The rooms are surprisingly stocked with a full bar and the proper extras just in case your party turns romantic. While the room was not large it has a comfy bed and large shower. Breakfast and dinner were enjoyed while over looking the pool. If you want to just relax and soak in the sun, the pool has plenty of lounge chairs and a number of cabanas to kick your feet up and read a book. When I visit again, I would probably not return to the spa, but everything else was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in a Deluxe guest room. It was a package purchased through Groupon. I've never bought a Groupon before and was concerned we'd be treated differently etc...NOPE! Top notch service from the moment we arrived. The hotel is located on a main road but once you enter, you'd never know! It's a private peace of relaxation! LOVED IT!! The room was spacious, very clean. The TV, pretty small, but that's okay. Ours came with a claw foot tub...yeah! Complimentary coffee by the pool in the morning. (I'd eat breakfast at Cheeky's across the street for sure) Poolside service all day and night. Very attentive staff. Chilled water poolside and plenty of towels. (pool/spa open 24hrs) I'd eat lunch at the resort for sure. Dinner was okay. Not as good as Copely's accross the street, but the same price, so... However, if you never want to leave the resort you can accomplish that without any problem and enjoy good food. LOCATION is amazing. We walked to everything!! Never needed our car. I don't recommend this place for families with small children, if you want the old retro mid century modern experience typical of Palm Springs, or if internet is mandatory for work. (Internet was not working the 3 days we were there, alerted the staff, they knew and said it was in the works to be fixed...never was before we left) BOTTOM LINE: HIGHLY RECOMMEND

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martinimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a gem of a hotel. Good sized rooms and lush surroundings. Small but nice pool bordered by lounge chairs and cabanas on 3 sides and the bar/restaurant along the fourth side. Great service by a very attentive staff. I am already planning my next visit but I would not bring the kids as it has an adult atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marnyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Colony Palms for three nights, and I would have loved to stay a few more. The hotel is really charming and has a laid-back, luxurious feel. Our room was on the second floor and though there wasn't really a view, it was quiet and had a small balcony. The king size bed was so comfortable, and the room was large with a very spacious bathroom and shower. The amenities were really nice as well. The pool area is very charming and inviting. The restaurant spills out onto the pool deck, and with misters it remained quite comfortable in spite of the 90 degree temps. Breakfast was delicious, but unfortunately we didn't have a chance to eat lunch or dinner. They have parking in the back, but there is a valet as well. We were happy to find a great public tennis facility just two blocks away. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I was very pleased with this romantic hotel and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: It would be nice to have a view of the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have been to Palm Springs (and the cities in the vicinity) many times over the years and this is by far the best hotel I have been to. Very sophisticated and cool with terrific facilities. The rooms were good sized and very comfortable. The pool area was beautiful with lots of seating and cabanas with a real nice restaurant and bar facing it. Very comfortable. They cater mainly to adults, so I think they generally discourage any children. The location is within walking distance from the downtown area. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
2.2 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#13 of 75 in Palm Springs
295 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#10 of 75 in Palm Springs
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,288 reviews
2.1 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#20 of 75 in Palm Springs
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Palms Hotel

Address: 572 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6030 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $243 - $706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1936 by reputed Purple Gang Mobster Al Wertheimer, the Colony Palms Hotel was once a saloon, speakeasy and gambling house that later became a playground for Hollywood ICONS including Humphrey Bogart, Marilyn Monroe, Clark Gable, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin & Rita Hayworth. Colony Palms Hotel has maintained its nobility as a stunning four-star boutique hotel spread out over a three acre property. The rooms promise subtle sophistication with brilliantly colored mosaic tiles and fabrics, rich woods, and suzani headboards. Many have fireplaces and claw-foot bathtubs. Mature gardens throughout the property provide privacy, and intimate outdoor spaces, and the rooms open to the a central courtyard with pool. The hotel’s restaurant, the Purple Palm boasts exquisite cuisine and a stunning view of both the pool and San Jacinto Mountains. The newly redesigned Spa offers a serene atmosphere and top of the line treatments. Colony Palms Hotel also plays host to a variety of stunning weddings and events, with the option of utilizing a newly refreshed private event space or a full property buyout for a truly intimate celebration. Colony Palms Hotel is a mix of modern luxuries with a dash of romance and tranquil getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colony Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palms Resort
Colony Palms Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing