We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”
Review of Colony Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colony Palms Hotel
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2007

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ARFSFBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 800 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2007

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lisar3064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2007

We had a Deluxeroom and stayed 2 nights. The room is quite spacious, the bathroom is definitly spacious with a tub, shower and a separate toilet. The ambiance is really colony style, the pool is good, also the jacuzzi. Bathrobes are complimentary and free of charge. Tons of thick towels. Very friendly staff at the reception. Free coffee and tea at the bar in the morning. Parking space next to the hotel and also free of charge.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeinMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

I've enjoyed Palm Springs more and more over the past few years. All of the upscale hotels seem to have something to offer, but no hotels have it all - beautiful grounds, well trained articulate staff, excellent food and a great energy. I know it's asking a lot, but coming from LA where you can have anything you want, my wife and I are looking to be blown away.

The Colony Palms exceeded all expectations. The grounds are so misleading from the street - it's truly a hotel you don't need to leave once you arrive. You HAVE to try the restaurant but make reservations first! My only complaint was that locals swarm the place and we were not able to get "prefered" seating as a hotel guest but that only meant we had to wait an extra 20 minutes, a small price to pay for the quality and presentation of the food.

Polite valet, attentive desk staff and the cleanest rooms I've ever stayed in (and I'm a Four Season traveler.)

When you are in Palm Springs, spend the extra money on a one of their Casitas and enjoy the Hotel that offers it all.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

This is a charming hotel with a very helpful staff BUT the thermostat is set at 72 degrees and ran at 74 degrees. No one can change it to a lower OR higher temperature. I was unable to sleep in the heat. People may wish a warmer or cooler room for various reasons, but you can't have this here.

If this were an environmental reason, then there would be solar panels, recycling bins, native plants, and fluorescent bulbs. There was none of that, so the reason must be to save money.

If they would change this issue I would stay there again, but if the comfort of their guests is not important I sadly will have to find another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank stirlingmonkey333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

I recently had the pleasure of spending 4 glorious days at the newly renovated Colony Palms Hotel in the heart of Palms Springs & the original Movie Colony neighborhood. I have been a Flight Attendant for 21 years, Domestic & International,so I speak from experience of having spent many nights in all types & classes of hotels around the world. Now. to add a twist to this review, I am a resident of Palm Springs and was to begin a 3 weeks vacation right here in my home town, starting with lunch at the Purple Plum Restaurant at the Colony Palms Hotel. As I was dining pool side with a spectacular view of the San Jacinto Mountains, I requested a tour of the grounds & to particularly have a look at one of the Casitas, which are set apart from the rest of the Hotel. I could not resist at this point but to book Casista #8 for the next 4 days! I hoped for rest & relaxation with beautiful & peaceful surroundings and this is exactly what I experienced AND MUCH MORE! From the king size bed with the top of the line bedding(I had to force myself out of bed each morning)to the lucious bath towels & robes that are provided for the oversized glassed-in shower & for the tub/jacuzzi on the spacious private patio---I knew immediately that these 4 days would exceed my expectation, and they did! How lovely to return to my Casita each evening to find my bed to be turned down to just fall into. I dined several times at the Purple Plum Restaurant,I everyyhing was outstanding. I can honestly say that the Angus Burger with goat cheese & pesto shoestring fries is the best anywhere! Therefore, my advise is to run, don't walk, to this new "Oasis in the Desert" for dining or for a wonderful "get-a-way".You will be glad that you did.Thanks to a very professional & effecient staff, I am writing this review as it is evident that they have succeeded in bringing a lovely hotel & restaurant to Palm Springs that I will happily recommend to everyone.

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank sunsetPalmSpringsCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2007

Called a couple of days before to confirm my reservation. They said they had no record of it. I couldn't believe a small hotel could have
so much trouble getting their books straight. But with some back and forth - which should not have been necessary - my reservation was confirmed.

After arriving at the parking lot of the hotel I was thinking "Oh my gaahd, what kind of cheap motel did I accidentally book?" At most, it
felt more like an apartment than a hotel. Their website was definitely posh and slick and nothing like what I came upon. The hotel was in the middle of a remodel - I wish they would have had the
courtesy to inform me when I called a few days earlier so that I could have had the option to change my mind.

And it's not really located downtown - it's actually at least 2 -3 blocks to the restaurants and shops downtown. So in the dead of the summer heat, you have to drive the few blocks as it's unbearable to walk even a block.

To get to the reception, I walked past the pool, which was a scary murky green with 2 people sunbathing in the middle of the afternoon -they like being crispy fried I supposed. It reminded me of a Holiday Inn atmosphere.

I was greeted by a very sugary sweet (read: not genuine) desk staff and was told I was "upgraded" to a room with a fireplace - uh, how is
that an upgrade when it's 110F outside...hellooo?! So I asked to be put in a regular room without the fireplace.

The room, thankfully, was very boutiquey w/ exotic decor, excellent linens, very comfy bed, robes, super spacious shower w/ 2 shower heads with great water pressure, etc.

Because the room was as presented on the website, I give it a 3 raing
rather than the 2-rating the rest of the hotel earned.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank finicky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#14 of 75 in Palm Springs
302 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
373 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#7 of 75 in Palm Springs
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Palms Hotel

Address: 572 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6030 (Formerly the Palms at Palms Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $247 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1936 by reputed Purple Gang Mobster Al Wertheimer, the Colony Palms Hotel was once a saloon, speakeasy and gambling house that later became a playground for Hollywood ICONS including Humphrey Bogart, Marilyn Monroe, Clark Gable, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin & Rita Hayworth. Colony Palms Hotel has maintained its nobility as a stunning four-star boutique hotel spread out over a three acre property. The rooms promise subtle sophistication with brilliantly colored mosaic tiles and fabrics, rich woods, and suzani headboards. Many have fireplaces and claw-foot bathtubs. Mature gardens throughout the property provide privacy, and intimate outdoor spaces, and the rooms open to the a central courtyard with pool. The hotel’s restaurant, the Purple Palm boasts exquisite cuisine and a stunning view of both the pool and San Jacinto Mountains. The newly redesigned Spa offers a serene atmosphere and top of the line treatments. Colony Palms Hotel also plays host to a variety of stunning weddings and events, with the option of utilizing a newly refreshed private event space or a full property buyout for a truly intimate celebration. Colony Palms Hotel is a mix of modern luxuries with a dash of romance and tranquil getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colony Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palms Resort
Colony Palms Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing