We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Manager and Staff Make for a Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Palm Springs East
Ranked #66 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“The Manager and Staff Make for a Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel is around "the bend", for those of you familiar with that southern turn beyond the downtown area.
Cons: some of the folks staying there are definitely puzzling: a couple sitting in their car ALL DAY on a hundred degree day; an upstairs man giving me the most malevolent look of my life when I pulled in my second afternoon; and an affable man with a cute little dog, that I didn't realize was dealing drugs out of his hotel room until I saw how many people were cutting across the grass area to "visit" his room.
Pros: other folks I met were really nice, friendly, and normal.
The grounds are green, green, green and the pool is large. The shade of the palm trees is perfect for cooling off and reading a book. My best memories were of doing just that with my dogs.
The neighborhood is just beautiful - an early morning cut across the street will bring you into a high income area with a mix of bed and breakfasts and the Palm Springs well-healed (without being ostentatiously healed). There are SO MANY cute little hotels and convenient shopping centers about a mile down the road.
Though I don't see myself returning, it's not out of the question because I liked the staff a lot and will just focus on the good memories . . . but I did want you to know about some of the regulars (?) who stay there so that if that is an issue for you, you can look elsewhere.

Room Tip: You'll feel safer if you ask for a room by the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forgottensage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    20
    17
    12
See reviews for
17
24
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galiano Island, Canada
Level Contributor
390 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

This was our first Motel 6 experience. Everywhere else that was affordable was booked solid as it was a special event weekend. The price was reasonable and they would take the poodle, so we took the room. The first one we went into reeked of smoke, even though no smoking is permitted. We moved to a different room that smelled better. The rooms themselves are very tiny and cramped. The shower stall was tiny too. It got very noisy at night, when guests came home from the bars. However, the management dealt with that very efficiently and quickly, and soon all was peacefull again. The rooms are clean, though, and the property well maintained in a basic plastic kind of way. The staff here are great though. The people we dealt with (housekeeper, front desk and maintenance) all went out of their way to be be helpful and accomodating

Room Tip: over the pool, not over the parking lot is probably quieter, even though closer to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, ME
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Good, quiet budget accommodation in a very expensive area. Not too far from a local market which is an alternative to the very overpriced restaurants in Palm Springs. Convenient to major streets leading to Interstate 10.

Room Tip: Avoid downtown Palm Springs during the late afternoon and early evening. Allot of traffic and horre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadfly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We needed a place to stay in between our other long term reservations while we were in Palm Springs. Motel 6's are not usually our first choice, but I must say this one is different. The staff is extremely helpful and obliging and the manager lives on site. The gounds are spacious, clean, and the pool area is very inviting. Our little dog was welcome and at no charge. Our only complaint was the bed. My wife found it quite uncomfortable.
If you need a reasonable, clean, friendly place to stay in Palm Springs, then this may be your answer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OJM1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
430 reviews
275 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

I have stayed in all kinds of places from high end resorts to common motels (and even worse). There are many places I've liked, but I always like to try new places. So, if there is a place that I return to time and time again, it is a place to stay.

Make no mistake, the rooms are pure Motel 6, and not even the most modern version of Motel 6 with the fake wood flooring and euro-styling, but this is my favorite Motel 6 in the entire country.

Why? Well, it was one of their first (number 9 I think) and it has a style not present in their cookie cutter motels from later periods. It sits in a nice quiet curve in the windless part of Palm Springs. There are a couple of nice places for dinner within walking distance. The pool is massive for a Motel 6. The landscaping upscale. I really enjoy drinking the free morning coffee at one of the sheltered tables. Town is a hike, but the bus stops right outside, wisking you either downtown or out to the other towns in the valley. I especially like riding over to El Paseo and Rancho Mirage.

I always ask for an upper room overlooking the pool if posible (which makes watching your car a bit more difficult). The laundry and vending area is clean. The employees helpful. The price is OK, but has been creeping up over time.

Will I return? You bet I will.

Room Tip: Upper floor is better. Pool view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SenseIntoDollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
210 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed here again. Very basic but clean and cheap. Free HBO. Free local calls. Walk to the Koffee Espresso Shop for coffee drinks and pastries. Hang out with the urban hipsters next door at the Ace Hotel (formerly a Howard Johnson's). But pay one third what the hipsters are paying. (Not exactly-the word is out so you will encounter hipsters now at this Motel 6--a first). My only complaint--the hipsters staying at the Motel 6 woke me up at 2am when they stumbled home from the place next door.

Room Tip: Face the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Nice property with pool. Friendly and efficient staff. Small rooms. Clean, but old smoking burn holes in the sheets, blanket and bed cover. Good price of $50 in this city of $100+motels during high season. Be sure and count the annoying $3/day extra charge for wi-fi.

Room Tip: We use the fan setting on the a/c unit to drown out the inevitable parking and other guest noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Palm Springs
Quality Inn Palm Springs
#59 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#42 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Palm Springs
BEST WESTERN Inn at Palm Springs
#39 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.9 mi away
Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown
Motel 6 Palm Springs Downtown
#47 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cambridge Inn
Cambridge Inn
#63 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Palm Springs East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Palm Springs East

Property: Motel 6 Palm Springs East
Address: 595 E Palm Canyon Dr, State Route 111 at East Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8807
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Palm Springs East 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Motel-6, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Palm Springs East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Palm Springs East Hotel Palm Springs
Motel Six Palm Springs
Palm Springs Motel Six
Palm Springs Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing