We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Velvet Cake..melt my heart!”
Review of Gypsy Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gypsy Rose
Ranked #16 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
omaha
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Red Velvet Cake..melt my heart!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Ok, first I will start off with the red velvet cake. I'm not even a sweet lover, but, oh my goodness, besides the lovely grounds, the laid back vibe and the great people, I need to come back to grab another red velvet cake!

Thanks ladies for a wonderful stay!
Mia & Juliette

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uniquegetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casitaslaquita, Owner at Gypsy Rose, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Making Red Velvet Cakes this morning thinking of your review. These have dark chocolate chips inside of the deep red cake!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    8
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
46
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have stayed at Casitas Laquita many times, and each time we dread the day we have to leave. Whether we are poolside in the sun, cooking at the grill, or just chilling with the staff, this is the best place to be in the desert. We love being able to run to the stores nearby or go to the farmer's market, and then come back to the full kitchen in each unit. We save money by cooking at "home" so that we have more money to play golf!!! We absolutely love this place and wish everyone could spend some time in this paradise in the desert.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great--we loved the fact that all rooms have similar access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We travel across the globe and the Casitas Laquita Resort is one of our favorites. We spent hours each day relaxing poolside enjoying the view of the mountains and recharging our batteries. Denise, Johanna and Doreen went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. We had the room with private spa which had a private backyard and spa tub where we spent many evenings watching the bright stars. We left fully relaxed and hating to return to the east coast snow. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and close to the beautiful pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKSnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My Partner and I recently spent another lovely weekend at Casitas Laquita. We have been returning to Casitas for many years because the minute you walk through the gate it is like walking into paradise. The rooms are wonderful and there is something to meet everyone's needs. The full kitchen provides everything we need to be able to eat and drink outside around the pool if we choose.The pool area which dominates the center of the property is stunning and without a doubt the place where countless numbers of lifelong friendships have begun. We along
with many other women retreat to Casitas to celebrate, to relax and sometimes to heal but regardless of why we walk through the gate we always leave happier people. The simple truth and the most significant fact about this resort is that the owners, Denise and Joanna, are the soul of Casitas and that as beautiful as the physical property is, without them it would just be another hotel. They are welcoming and incredibly helpful and so very kind. Doreen brings a charm and character we all adore and Alejandra the house cleaner adds to the warm spirit of the resort. We have never sent someone there who has returned and reported a negative experience. Last week we referred out of town friends and they were reading some things on this site and called us to ask about them. All I can say is that none of what those people said made any sense to us. Maybe there was some problem in the translation. There were never two people more clearly meant to own this type of business than Denise and Joanna. And to pay for housecleaning just doesn't happen. Maybe there was a language issue or something. Either way after my friends called and I read that review I needed to write my own. We have met people at Casitas from all over the world and most people while they are there are trying to figure out how to extend their stay or planning their next visit before they leave. That is just how inviting and comfortable the resort is and how friendly Denise, Joanna and Doreen are and how committed they are to making your stay as perfect as possible.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The site is even more beautiful than the pictures. Denise, Joanna, and Doreen are wonderful and very accommodating, asking if we need more cream for our coffee or their wonderful coffee cake. They even changed the music to an artist we had suggested! Alejandra was also wonderful at checking in about servicing the room and asked if we needed more towels. I will definitely go back! - Minnesota Lyn

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsielyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This resort is a favorite of mine and my partner's. We CHOOSE this resort because of the personal touches, the beautiful rooms, comfortability and friendliness of the owners. Joanna's coffee cake is such a 'sweet' touch to the morning meal as well. We rode the Palm Springs Century and it was a quiet oasis after such a long afternoon. We have been back time and time again and will continue to recommend this gem in the desert for years to come.

Dr. Dana Tate

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Property is well maintained, love the coziness of the pool area & the wonderful women who own the hotel. Fresh baked bread every morning with coffee and juice. Owners are on property & very friendly and accommodating. We wouldn't stay anywhere but here!!!

Room Tip: This is a woman owned & operated lesbian resort who cater to making it the kind of place you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,902 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
856 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#36 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,747 reviews
3.1 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#41 of 73 in Palm Springs
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gypsy Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gypsy Rose

Property: Gypsy Rose
Address: 450 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806 (Formerly Casitas Laquita Inn)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private,safe,quiet sanctuary embraced by the sun and majestic mountains. Each suite captures the Spanish Colonial motif. All have full kitchens and some have real fireplaces. A private yard with large jacuzzi is found in the ultimate romance suite. Amenities include outdoor Kiva fireplaces, newly remodeled suites with 32" flat screen TV's, free high speed WiFi throughout the hotel and outdoor areas. A large heated pool is surrounded by a grassy area and comfortable cushioned lounge chairs Foliage abounds with 45 indiginious palm trees jutting up in the clear blue sky. BBQ areas available for your evening dinner or lunch. Close to downtown Palm Springs yet secluded for that private stay you will enjoy at Casitas Laquita the INN Place to Stay. No Resort Fees. The ONLY hotel in Palm Springs catering to Lesbians and their friends. All welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Gypsy Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casitas Laquita Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing