We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“viceroy & coachella - a perfect combo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
long island, new york
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“viceroy & coachella - a perfect combo”
Reviewed April 20, 2010

This hotel is great - small - trendy - and the staff is superb. We stayed the weekend to see coachella music festival. We had a little trouble at check in - the people in our room had decided they wanted to stay until 5pm - but the Food Staff more than made up for it - while we waited by the bar - they could not have been nicer. the food at this hotel is amazing. And the entire staff - from the top down - do whatever it takes to keep the place clean, the food and drinks flowing and the atmosphere light and fun. Just what you want when you are on vacation. Thanks to everyone - especially John - Don - Stacey - and James. You all went beyond the call of duty and my friends and I appreciate it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
It was a pleasure reading your review. I am thrilled that your recent stay exceeded your expectations and that it made your Coachella experience that much better. Our goal during the festival was to provide a retreat for everyone to relax, get some sun, replenish and recharge before heading back out to the festival each day. Based on your wonderful comments, it appears that we accomplished our goal. I have shared your review with John, Don, Stacey, James and the rest of the team. On behalf of everyone at Viceroy Palm Springs, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    239
    155
    88
    81
See reviews for
138
552
64
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2010

I was SO excited to stay at the Viceroy. I love Kelly Wearstler's designs and could hardly wait to see her work in person.
Unfortunately, I wish I hadn't. The Viceroy is shabby and not well taken care of. I'm talking torn lampshades, paint on upholstery (from a sloppy touch-up gone wrong), mirrors that aren't securely mounted to the walls and huge dirty smears of gawd only knows what on white draperies... the list goes on and on.
Stay at the Parker. We spent an afternoon there and it was so lovely.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellomelanieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
Thank you for your candid comments. I apologize that your experience was not what you expected. We are currently upgrading our room products with fresh paint, fabrics and electronics and you probably experienced a room that has not been addressed yet. Although these upgrades will definitely freshen up our rooms, it is because of the beautiful grounds and outstanding service that we are known for. I do hope that you give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. In the mean time we remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, IL
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2010

My daughter and I had an amazing spring break at the Viceroy Palm Springs! The atmosphere is sophisticated and glamourous. We felt like celebrities, and even saw a few ;) The food is fantastic, we recommend the tuna fish tacos for a lunchtime snack. And of course, the setting is phenomenal at the foot of the mountains. We were also happy about the extremely close proximity to the town! The staff felt like family, and George was the best! Also, the robes in each room are to die for, we even purchased one.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindytravels01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Checked in on Sunday. Lots of people by the pool with a DJ thumping music. Our room was away from the action so it wasn't a bother.
Room 518, I was told is the smallest room in the complex. The whole place has been redone but if you look it seems to be a reclaimed apartment complex turned into a hotel. Nicely done but when I thought of it, the impression was hard to shake.
The staff was top notch. No complaints at all. Everyone on staff and pretty much around town was friendly and good natured. I even called a wrong number accidentally and chatted with the lady for a couple of minutes before ending the call. Something is in the water in Palm Springs.
Our room had no bathtub, which was mildly disappointing but did come furnished with a game of TWISTER! NICE! Point! Viceroy!
The shower was small and needed a bit more attention from the cleaning staff but still very comfortable and sanitary.
The bed was also comfortable and difficult to leave behind.
Parking on the street or valet.
The hotel was nice, I would recommend it to anyone if you felt comfortable with the rate you got. Again our room was the runt of the group and it was fine. Cheers!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utt959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay. During your stay you did enjoy one of our Regency Kings rooms which are the perfect size for a single person or a couple. All these rooms have the same amenities (including Twister) as our more expensive rooms. If you are here, as most people are, to enjoy the beautiful grounds, pools and Palm Springs sun these rooms are perfect. We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to the Viceroy Palm Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We got an excellent and beautiful room with great quality bathroom amenities. Everything is well taken care of. The hotel staff is kind and helpful – in fact they are great. Breakfast is good but expensive. Good location. I do recommend. We had a massage at the beautiful little spa... but girls had iron hand and I got a back ache and some frustration, so… think about it before you book your massage.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrazilRenata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your guest room, amenities, location and service. I do apologize that you ended up with a back ache after your deep tissue massage. I have also shared your comments with our Spa team for the proper follow up. On behalf of the entire team we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stayton
Level Contributor
251 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

This hotel was just what we needed after 3 days at Disneyland with our grandkids. Beautiful grounds, excellent service...older facility but very nice...great staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayflos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you found the relaxation that you needed after 3 days in Disneyland. I am pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and that my team was able to exceed all your needs. On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thank you
Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

I've stayed at Viceroy PS about five times now and it's fantastic. The staff is wonderful, their restaurant is top notch and their grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveAria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diefab, General Manager at Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Thank you for great comments. We are thrilled that this was your fifth visit to our property and that you continue to enjoy the amenities, grouds and food. On behalf of the entire staff, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#10 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.3 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#17 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#42 of 73 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,456 reviews
3.1 mi away
Parker Palm Springs
Parker Palm Springs
#26 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs

Property: Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Address: 415 S Belardo Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-7307 (Formerly Viceroy Palm Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#6 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#21 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel box nestled in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the historic Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs rests at the foot of the rugged San Jacinto Mountains on four acres of fragrant, beautifully manicured gardens. Its Spanish architecture punctuated by a series of secluded, private bungalows, calls forth the iconic, storied Golden Age of Palm Springs, exuberantly updated with Hollywood Regency interiors by renowned designer Kelly Wearstler. At Avalon every experience has been hand-curated by a team of collaborators and bona fide hotel aficionados. You might say it's a calling. A penchant for wanderlust. A mind for singular retreats and unrepeatable vibes. We hold an affinity for one-offs, anomalies and the irrefutable allure of a personal touch. Our trademarks are small batched. Think of us as your own private hideaway. All you have to do is stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Viceroy Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Viceroy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing