We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVOID AT ALL COSTS!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“AVOID AT ALL COSTS!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel was such a disappointment. I have stayed here in the past and had a good time, but the hotel has completely changed. The front desk clerk was SO RUDE! I made reservations months in advance and called the hotel to stay in the Regency Court. When I checked in, the front desk said that a wedding had taken over that area and I could not stay there. No apology was offered and since the hotel was busy, the only rooms available were in the front of the hotel on the street (so much for peace & quiet). The manager stood at the front desk the entire time and never once uttered a peep, apology or even made eye contact.

Then, the room! Oh God, the room! This was an awful room that looked right out of a horror movie! I don't know how this hotel has any repeat guests if they are renting out these rooms. Located under a staircase and next to a parking lot, the room was dingy with cheap furniture that looked like old Ikea that was never properly assembled in the first place (falling apart). A loud air conditioner in the corner welcomed you to what felt like the basement. There was a huge wall out about five feet (making one of the World's smallest patios), so you basically had a tiny view of the sky and that's it. The bed squeaked if you even looked at it, so hope you don't move at night, otherwise you will wake up the entire building. Even down to the door of the room (no self closer, you had better make sure you lock it behind you, and the lock sticks too). The room also didn't have the required California law posting about check in, check out, fire escape (I think we'd all die if there was a fire in this pit of a hotel).

The bathroom was an absolute joke! The toilet was actually installed crooked and the toilet seat was so old and worn that the white was wearing off! (How much is a new toilet seat, like $10?) The tub faucet was pulling away from the wall. The bathroom was only provided with two bath towels, one face towel and one washcloth. Hope you don't actually need a towel for anything. The tub/shower combo is a cheap, plastic one piece unit like you had in your first apartment. It creaks and the water pressure will take your skin off.

Oh, and the WiFi in the room never once worked. I called the front desk (different person, same RUDE attitude), but the maintenance worker did nothing about it and we never had internet in the room.

I could go on and on about the shortcomings in this hotel, but let me sum it up. Stay somewhere else! The price is too high, the quality is too low, the service is too poor, the rooms are too shabby, this hotel is over! There are so many better choices in Palm Springs, like under a bridge instead of this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sactown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHGouhier, General Manager at Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. Sincerely Marie Helene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    239
    155
    88
    81
See reviews for
138
552
64
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

For my birthday I wanted something special and got it at The Viceroy! The reception staff seeing it was my birthday said they had upgraded us to a villa! It was awesome. Bedroom, living room, full kitchen, and private back patio. The pools are awesome and they have a famly pool and adults only pool which is great! The decor in the room was a little worn down and could use an update. Very clean though and very quiet. We had breakdast at Citron and it fantasticly delicious. Great coffee! The location is perfect. You can valet your car and not need the rest of your trip. You can walk to everything which is super convenient. We will definitley be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah0661
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love this hotel! We had our wedding here in June of 2012 and it was perfect! All the guests were able to check in early so we could enjoy pool areas and have a great time before walking around the downtown area for dinner and cockatils! Then on the wedding day, Jessika the coordinator at the viceroy made everything happen with ease! It turned out so beautifully! Amazing room, beautiful scenery and perfect Palm Springs location! It was the best weekend EVER! And i am not just saying that because it was my wedding!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah0661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Spent the weekend at the Viceroy Palm Springs in late October with a friend - the weather was fantastic (low 90s), the hotel was OK but not what we expected for one of the top luxury hotels in PS.

Hotel:
This is an older property (1960s feel) that has been updated with fresh paint and hip decor/furnishings.

Rooms:

We stayed in a 2 queen bed premium suite on the lower level, that did not have a view. The room was well decorated with hip light fixtures and paint. It was a good spacious size and the beds were very comfortable with amazing pillows! The actual room though had an older hotel feel, our AC wall unit did not have temperature controls on it, so we had to have engineering come adjust it, the bathroom was was also updated with a very simple modern look. Unfortuntely, we saw ants in the bathrooom and when we called the front desk to ask about switching rooms they said that given where the hotel is, ants can be expected, so if we were to move rooms, we might have ants there too. I've never heard a hotel say you can expect to have ants in your room. Poor service and poor cleanliness? Also, the toilet made a very loud noise every so often, so we had to make sure the door was shut so we didn't hear it. We didn't mention this to the hotel, since it didn't seem they would take care of this.

Pools:
3 pools - 2 adult, 1 family. The Citron pool (adult) is very small and somewhat shaded by the buildings and trees, so it gets a bit less sun. Hot tub was also on the small side, but great! The larger adult pool was a bit bigger and got plenty of sun throughout the day. We got to the pool at 10am and there were already a few dead bees,flies and large moth in there, so not sure when the pool was cleaned. Other than that, the pool was great. Cool, clear water. It was quiet and relaxing.

Service:
The front desk experience was mixed. They seemed to be on it, but then were not. For a long wait at check in, we got a drink voucher for the bar, which was really nice! But the ants issue was badly handled.

The pool service was great - really attentive and friendly servers. Drinks were good!

Upon getting our car back from valet, we discovered it had a lot of bird droppings on it, when we asked the valet about it, he just said that they've asked about a tent covering because that happens. Really, and it's never been addressed? So we left with bird droppings on our car. That was disappointing.

Overall, this hotel was fine, just not a 100% luxury hotel experience. At times it was, but at others it just felt average. We still had a good time, but recommend lowering your expectations so you're not disappointed and know what to expect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The bungalows at the Viceroy are exactly what one needs for a Palm Springs long or short stay. They are comfortable with simple yet sleek design. The kitchens are great to make a cup of coffee or tea or have a full meal on your own. The staff is welcoming and the restaurant is lovely. It’s my happy place to stay when I’m in town.

Room Tip: I prefer the bungalows near the adult only pool. It's quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asonenbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on our California/Las Vegas Road Trip. The first room we had was very large with a very spacious bathroom and a terrace that looked onto one of the 2 swimming pools. It was very tastefully decorated. Unfortunately after returning from the pool our bathroom was flooded. Luckily we hadn't unpacked. We were moved to a 2 bedroom villa which was exquisite but very noisy as there was a wedding on very nearby. There were 2 ensuite bedrooms, a living room and a kitchen. It was very white. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning was excellent. Breakfast was very nice and the service was excellent. The service on reception was just ok. We had 2 free spa vouchers but were unable to use them due to our short stay at the hotel and were disappointed when not even a free drink was offered as a courtesy. Hotel is close to centre of town and within walking distance. Valet parking service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A stunning little gem hidden in Palm Springs, great location for central access.
Friendly staff and extremely comfortable and clean rooms, 3 pools and spa.
Valet parking included, would absolutely recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: ask on your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaytew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#10 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.3 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#17 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#45 of 73 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
3.1 mi away
Parker Palm Springs
Parker Palm Springs
#27 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs

Property: Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Address: 415 S Belardo Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-7307 (Formerly Viceroy Palm Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#6 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#21 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel box nestled in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the historic Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs rests at the foot of the rugged San Jacinto Mountains on four acres of fragrant, beautifully manicured gardens. Its Spanish architecture punctuated by a series of secluded, private bungalows, calls forth the iconic, storied Golden Age of Palm Springs, exuberantly updated with Hollywood Regency interiors by renowned designer Kelly Wearstler. At Avalon every experience has been hand-curated by a team of collaborators and bona fide hotel aficionados. You might say it's a calling. A penchant for wanderlust. A mind for singular retreats and unrepeatable vibes. We hold an affinity for one-offs, anomalies and the irrefutable allure of a personal touch. Our trademarks are small batched. Think of us as your own private hideaway. All you have to do is stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Viceroy Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Viceroy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing