We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Visited the Viceroy this past weekend. I wanted to get away for a night with the girls and sit in the sun and relax. The Viceroy was a great place to do it. Expensive --- yes! But in their defense it seems most hotels are expensive these days. I had set up the reservation via there web-link and put in a request for an upgrade if available. We didn't receive the upgrade, which was totally fine. We arrived at 12pm and our room was ready to check in. The room was spacious, clean and completely comfortable. Beds were amazing! The view from our room was not great - they called it a mountain view, which it was, but with a parking lot as well. The service was great. We called down for extra glasses, towels, etc, and they were at our door in 2 minutes. The hotel also knew it was my birthday and sent up a bottle of champagne which was fantastic!!! I would absolutely return to the Viceroy - maybe during the week when it's a little less expensive, or when they are offering hotel deals.

Room Tip: Make it a point to ask for a quiet room. The street noise and the parking lot areas can be loud. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marpleeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager90210, General Manager at Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear marpleeta

I was delighted to read your review and appreciate your comments very much. Yes, we are not into the high season and rather busy, especially at weekends. Your suggestion of a midweek visit is well put for the coming months. Please do let me know when you plan your next visit so I can assist in choosing a more appropriate room.

Best regards.

Don Devine
Guest Services Manager
don.devine@viceroyhotelsandresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

799 - 805 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2012

Fun hotel right in the middle of everything in PB. The suites are very civilized and clean, with lovely patios and grassy areas for stretching and hanging out. The beds are very comfortable. Pools are serene and kept clean. Food and drink are good, but expensive. Best of all, shopping and dining are one block away - no need for a car if not interested in driving. Would retun in a hartbeat. If you have a car, park on the street. No need to use valet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simonandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager90210, General Manager at Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear Simonandfamily

Thank you very much for such a positive and honest review of your stay with us. We do hope that you have the opportunity to return, in which case do contact me directly to assist. I might add that valet parking is included in your Resort Fee, along with several other amenities.

Best regards.

Don Devine
Guest Services Manager
don.devine@viceroyhotelsandresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Loved loved loved this hotel! We stayed there for 4 nights in January with our 2 kids (aged 5 and 8) at the end of a mad tour of California and it was like heaven. Great design, attention to detail, quality, and relaxing atmosphere. Having stayed in lots of boutique hotels this was definitely the best value. We were a bit nervous about staying there with kids, but it was fine, there are two adult only pools and one family pool, so it was ok to let them go wild in there. The food was great, and not too pricey considering. Perfect location too, close to, but just set back from, the main street, Before we went we compared the pics on the web site with the price, and were sure there there would be some catch or something wrong, but definitely not. If we go back to Palm Springs, which I hope we do, we'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There were four of us in a premium studio (two king beds) with a mountain view. Very spacious, nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magsinpoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager90210, General Manager at Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear magsinpoland

We hope that you will come back and stay with us again too. I was delighted to read your review and appreciate you taking the time to share. Do let me know if you plan on coming back.

Best regards.

Don Devine
Guest Services Manager
don.devine@viceroyhotelsandresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Viceroy was under-going extensive and noisy maintenance during our stay which severely hindered our enjoyment. This should have been 2 days of down-time on a 2-week US drive holiday; had we known this when we booked we would have stayed elsewhere. Rooms are quite well-designed and quirky but the bathrooms need updating (the toilet topped up its cistern every 20 minutes throughout the night and the shower is well-below the standard you would expect for this price-bracket - very old-fashioned with poor-pressure and a ghastly curtain made of cloth that had obviously got wet).

Fell well below expectations and consequently can't recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gracemullaghley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager90210, General Manager at Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear Gracemullaghley,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I must apologies that your accommodation did not meet your expectations. The noise you are referring to was emergency repairs to the property after the recent storm, I believe. The work was unfortunately not preventable. We take all reviews of our property and service seriously and will ensure we address your comments.

Regards.

Don Devine
Guest Services Manager
don.devine@viceroyhotelsandresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

There are lovely nostalgic touches in this quirky place. Some keen design features and then cracked bricks and concrete on paths and bathplugs that don't quite work.

Still Palm Springs was a nice stopoff between Las Vegas and LAX and we really enjoyed the stay and the drive. I don't know if we will ever go back, but we were glad we went.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager90210, General Manager at Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear Aussie_Andrew

Thank you very much indeed for your review of the hotel and destination. We appreciate your comments and rating.

Regards.

Don Devine
Guest Services Manager
don.devine@viceroyhotelsandresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This hotel was a tremendous disappointment. Their website looks great and promises a high quality, "classy" experience. What we found was on the edge of "tacky." The rooms are poorly insulated from sound. Fortunately, we happened to have ear plugs in our luggage, so were able to sleep despite the noise from outside and adjoining rooms. The decor is glitzy, but rather shabby at closer inspection, with lots of odd lighting fixtures. We had problems with the heating/cooling systems, and the door keys malfunctioned half of the time (We constantly got replacements.)

The staff was lackluster. Most were pleasant, but not responsive. Whenever we had a problem, we got a promise of help, but no follow through response. Unfortunately, we experienced a power outage of about five hours during our stay, no fault of the hotel. However, they were in no way prepared for the event and did little to provide for the comfort of their guests. There was not even a flashlight in the room. Fortunately, we had some small LED lights in our luggage. Otherwise, we would have sat in the dark for hours. Requests for a flashlight or candles (which the staff put in the lobby) were ignored/refused.

If this had been an inexpensive hotel, I think we would have been more accepting of the incompetence that we experienced. But the hotel is quite expensive.

I would advise you to avoid this hotel. Or, if you go, bring some emergency supplies.

Room Tip: Ground floor are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager90210, General Manager at Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear Judith W

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience. I am very sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. Yes, the power outage, due to the worst storm in over 3 years, was indeed uncomfortable and put the hotel and it’ staff under a lot of pressure. That said, we certainly should have been more responsive to your requests. We would certainly like to opportunity to look after you under normal conditions. If this is a possibility, please do contact me at the email below.

Regards.

Don Devine
Guest Services Manager
don.devine@viceroyhotelsandresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed at the viceroy palm springs in September 2011 with our son and daughter in law.
From the moment we arrived until we left ,we relaxed. Fantastic service fantastic hotel.
We will definitely go back

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager90210, General Manager at Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear JudyandChris,

Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful review of your stay with us. Our aim is to do the best we can to exceed your expectations and I'm glad we achieved this. Please do feel free to contact me directly the next time you wish to visit.

With best regards.

Don Devine
Guest Services Manager
don.devine@viceroyhotelsandresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,305 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#7 of 75 in Palm Springs
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#22 of 75 in Palm Springs
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#14 of 75 in Palm Springs
302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
#18 of 75 in Palm Springs
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs

Address: 415 S Belardo Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-7307 (Formerly Viceroy Palm Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#21 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $225 - $995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel box nestled in the heart of downtown Palm Springs, the historic Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs rests at the foot of the rugged San Jacinto Mountains on four acres of fragrant, beautifully manicured gardens. Its Spanish architecture punctuated by a series of secluded, private bungalows, calls forth the iconic, storied Golden Age of Palm Springs, exuberantly updated with Hollywood Regency interiors by renowned designer Kelly Wearstler. At Avalon every experience has been hand-curated by a team of collaborators and bona fide hotel aficionados. You might say it's a calling. A penchant for wanderlust. A mind for singular retreats and unrepeatable vibes. We hold an affinity for one-offs, anomalies and the irrefutable allure of a personal touch. Our trademarks are small batched. Think of us as your own private hideaway. All you have to do is stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Viceroy Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Springs Viceroy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing