We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware Resort Fees.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Ranked #42 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Main problem is the outrageous fees. They don't tell you when you make the reservation is that you have to pay $25 per day, per person to use their own hotel pool, even on the days you don't use it. We had 4 people in the room for a double queen room. We stayed for 3 nights over the 4th of July weekend. The room was $199 per night on hotels.com, but the hotel charged us $199 + $60 resort fees and taxes +$50 per day to use the hotel pool. The whole stay was $930, on a $600 reservation. Crazy! We didn't even use the pool on Friday and they backdated the fees to charge us for Friday as well. They enforce this heavily. There are security guards at all 6 entrances to the pool, and they won't let you into the hotel pool without a wristband, even if you show them your room key and are staying at the hotel! I have stayed at 100's of hotels and have never seen this bizarre policy.

Also, stay at the main pool, the tiki bar pool has way too many drunk people on the weekends, it also smells like urine and vomit at night, as well as the hallways of the hotel. The police were there escorting some one out the night we were there.

Hotel room was great and soundproof, which was crucial, but I will not be coming back here, just because they scam you on resort fees and wristband fees for the pool. Stay away, stay far away. There are a lot of great hotels in Palm Springs, this is not one of them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank worldtravelersteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

We're sorry to hear of these frustrations associated with your stay, as we work to be entirely transparent regarding the competitive resort fee of our property. It's clear that you had concerns regarding our pool, and for that we apologize, but we do hope you were able to take advantage of some of our many other offerings afforded by this charge. We'd welcome the opportunity to further discuss this visit and to welcome you back, and we hope that you'll reach out to our team again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,071 - 1,077 of 2,573 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

All looks good from the internet pictures but the reality did not live up to them: we had to change room because the first one had a damp smell to it (the whole building did). The corridors were dirty - obviously a cleaning issue. The parking is designed so poorly that if you happen to be in the main building (recommended as the others have a motel look),you must park far and walk through 4 buildings to get to your room (there are hundreds of convenient parking spots all around the building but blocked for Valet parking). The staff is sparse and nonchalant to say the least. As all hotels here, they charge a resort fee (no value that i could see delivered for the customer) which jack up the prices from $110 to $160 weekdays (no breakfast). The good side is that the beds are comfortable (at least something good). We were planning to stay 3 nights and left after 1... Plenty of choice in Palm Springs, so I recommend you go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank max3954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

While we're glad to have welcomed you, Max, we're sorry to hear that elements of you visit missed the mark. We work diligently to ensure a comfortable and playful experience for all at our historic resort, so it's disheartening to hear of instances where we come up short. We'd certainly welcome the opportunity to further discuss this visit with you, and to welcome you back to share in our site at its more common best, and we hope that you'll reach out to our team at your next convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights we cut short due to wanting to go to LA and see some sights ).
After reading negative comments regarding this hotel ,I was surprised just how friendly all the staff were !!!
First morning I was awake early so decided to have a walk around and take photos . Very dark hallways , but you don't stay in the hallways, and all was clean ,
Breakfast .
Lovely but couldn't do with roast potatoes every morning , Being English I asked for bacon, eggs tomato and mushrooms . To which they met our needs and we really enjoyed .
On an afternoon we had a snack from pool bar Again very enjoyable,
Entertainment
(of which we stayed a couple of nights) was ok but could have gone on for a little longer ..
The whole complex was great we had a. Walk around and went to the kids pool nice and quiet but not enough towels.
ROOM ,
was cleaned everyday clean towels and bedding and on days they did just what I asked for them to do.
On one occasion we went to go to the pool but couldn't fit in as there was a DJ and they were having a pool party , IT was full ....
Didn't spoil our fun let the young ones party !
So I went to the room got a picnic blanket and sat on the grass with bottle and wine and ice bucket (most enjoyable) .
The lady in the clothes shop (sorry can't rem her name )was really helpful on telling us places to go sights to see Of which we did... Especially Elvis's honeymoon pad which is 5 mins away in car ..
Although we were promised a bottle of champagne and get to meet the Liverpudlian chef we didn't get either .
So I hope we get our honeymoon champagne when we return ....
we booked out 2 days early as we wanted to go to LA and Santa Monica beach and Hollywood of which we were told to pay a leaving room early fee . I stood my ground and refused of which they were gracious and didn't take any of us .
Really enjoyed the stay very clean and very friendly xx.
Thanks for making our honeymoon enjoyable ...
Would visit again !!!!!!!
Helen and Neil McKenna ENGLAND

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenthomson2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

It's such a pleasure to have been able to share in your honeymoon and to hear that the hospitality of our team made for such a memorable experience. We hope for the chance to welcome you back down the road and to share in future milestones and celebrations alongside you, and we encourage you to reach out to the team with any of your future booking needs--we'll be waiting with that honeymoon champagne in hand! Congratulations to you both, and many thanks for the stay and review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This review is long overdue, I stayed here with my girlfriend for valentines day and everything was perfect! Valet was very friendly and helpful, the hotel is gorgeous and romantic. The rooms are very neat and comfortable the only downside was the Marilyn Monroe portrait kept on the wall. I called front desk and they immediately sent engineering to come and remove it. I had also called later in the day for bathrobes, and valentine amenities, the service I received upon these requests was exceptional. My girlfriend and I left the room to have dinner and just like I had requested, we came back and were presented with balloons, flower petals, chocolate strawberries, a complete transformation of the room was accomplished with small details such as these. This resort and its staff represent luxury and the only reason they do not get the max rating is because I was not able to stay long enough to have the complete experience. Thank you for an amazing and romantic experience Riviera.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelGuru_1078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

It's such a pleasure to have been able to share this special occasion with you, and we're incredibly appreciative of your time in extending us this feedback. As you've noted, we take great care in affording a tailored experience for each of our guests, and it's a pleasure to do all we can to ensure your visit is a memorable one. We'd love the chance to celebrate in future milestones alongside you, and we encourage you to reach out if there's anything we can do to make your return travels even more enjoyable. All our best until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This property is beautiful. It has a retro, funky vibe. The staff is friendly, helpful and professional. It's the guests that are horrible. 4th of July weekend was like a huge drunken frat party. On the weekend the resort has a DJ at the pool. This pulls in a young, party crowd that leaves bottles, glasses, cig butts, towels, food and trash in their wake. The joke among the locals was the property is the Glendale party crowd. The pools were so disgusting I wouldn't even put my toes in any of them! The water was milky and who know what was in them! Sadly, I will not return to this property nor will I recommend it to anyone! If they stopped inviting the party trash crowd and tried for a more mature young crowd they might strike the right balance.
In buildings 4 & 5, only ground floor rooms have outdoor access. This may be the same for all buildings and I just didn't notice.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask what your window will face. Some rooms in building 4 & 5 have yucky parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

While we're glad to have been able to share this holiday weekend with you, we're extremely sorry to hear that the experiences of other guests hindered your own. We certainly strive to afford each of our guests with an environment that's as playful or as intimate as you'd like, and we're sorry that this wasn't the case for you. Our expansive property affords for for all, and we'd welcome the opportunity to further discuss this visit with you and to welcome you back to the attentive calm of our more common services. We hope that you'll reach out to out team, as we'd appreciate the opportunity to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Read other reviews regarding hotel and thought would still try it, passed it on several occasions and always looked fairly decent, one review said it was a very noisy experience upon checking in on a sat night I thought what an old fud (apologies to that reviewer) I checked in at just before midnight was so loud the receptionist had to deal with me via pen and paper and pointing at questions for me to write the answer to. Thought oh well just get on with it 10 days in paradise lie ahead, room was on ground floor with a dodgy lock on it, no point ringing reception as she wouldn't hear me anyway and besides we was both knackered so went to bed, lights out night one, I wish. Noise noise noise all the way,,, next morning asked reception to move us due to length of stay and dodgy lock was informed should have been in a different room anyway and that the hotel was sold out on the sat night.. Room moved eventually still not much better but to be honest couldn't face dealing with reception again, so we hit the pool, not bad for us as a couple but you wouldn't want to be there with any kids who are gonna pick up foul language from all the crowds of drunks jumping in the pool and motor boating (that's one of the only semi polite words I heard that day) any way I digress as the hotel doesn't offer any customer service whatsoever, there's a nice red bus out the back that on previous visits you would see taking guests into town or wherever, never offered to help or assist with any travel plans, taxis relatively cheap or rely on your own hire car. Not so good when dining out on a night, mon-thu pretty quiet and a much more enjoyable experience albeit without any sort of customer service. All in all hotel has great potential and could do with a bit of paint and general maintenance and some good general direction in way of customer service, happy to provide any more info requested.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights and had 3 full days. The 2 pool areas provide good options. The resort was spacious and, being midweek, pretty empty. We had adjoining rooms (2 queens & 1 king) which was a perfect arrangement for the kids. We ate at the restaurant one night, there are much better options on the strip. We breakfasted in local cafes. As a comfortable, funky chillout base for the Palm Springs area, we couldn't have done much better. Many have complained about the parties/ noise but it did not affect us at all. That said, arriving late Saturday night the lobby was like the inside of a nightclub and the parking lots were rammed. If you are realistic (people do come here for a good time) you will enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zola025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

It's such a pleasure to have welcomed you and your family and to hear that you enjoyed both the playfulness and relaxation of our resort. We're proud to offer a balance of the two, and we hope that you'll reach out to the team the next time you're headed our way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#37 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,803 reviews
2.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#28 of 74 in Palm Springs
123 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#36 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Palm Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Palm Springs Resort

Address: 1600 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-4602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $156 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Palm Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and styled, eclectic, cool, bohemian getaway. Inspired by the nonchalant elegance of Slim Aaron’s photographs, The Riviera is free spirited, vibrant, playful and bohemian with a sprinkling of retro nostalgia. The whimsy of Hollywood Regency in the guest rooms merges with the eclectic spirit of the public areas and makes for a perfectly unique resort getaway in Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Palm Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Resort & Spa, Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Resort And Spa, Palm Springs
Riviera Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Resort Palm Springs
Palm Springs Riveria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing