We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience for our wedding block!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience for our wedding block!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I recently returned from our honeymoon and I've been eagerly awaiting the chance to write some reviews, especially for the Riviera in Palm Springs. We did not hold the actual wedding at this hotel, but most of our out of town guests stayed there with us, most of whom were traveling in from Los Angeles, New York and New Jersey. A lot of the guests had never been to the hotel or seen it, so they were all just taken a back at the FUN the hotel exudes. From the moment you step in, you feel like you are transported back into a boutique, fun, fresh, rat pack, old Hollywood era that keeps you wanting more. The hotel is so charming and friendly and just puts you in the exact high energy mood that Palm Springs exudes. It was the perfect place for our guests to stay - it was easy and convenient, the staff is fantastic. Everyone enjoyed the beautiful, large pool, the spa was fantastic to everyone needed spa treatments and beauty services and the rooms were just incredible. Everyone was telling us - and still is - how much they enjoyed the hotel and the rooms. They are large, incredibly clean and have a luxury, boutique feel that is worth every penny. The food and drinks at the hotel were fantastic and Darin and Tasha in guest services were just incredible to work with. They helped me get our block secure, even took care of my husband and I with some great added touches. We got to stay in an incredible suite that overlooked the pool and it was the perfect room to get ready in for our special wedding day. We love the Riviera in Palm Springs and can't wait to come back and celebrate our anniversary! Thank you all for everything!!!

Room Tip: You definitely want a pool over-looking the pool if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
We're so happy to have been able to lend our site and services to your special occasion, and we're grateful for the kind thoughtfulness of your review. We're immensely proud of our historic site and its playful offerings, and it's a pleasure to share them with you, your family and friends. We'd certainly love to welcome you back down the road and to celebrate in future milestones alongside you, and we encourage you to reach out to our team with any of your future booking needs. Congratulations, and all our best until we hear from you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    639
    434
    277
    249
See reviews for
416
1,025
94
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
256 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is an awesome resort!! We can't wait to return. I don't know where to start because I have so many great things to say. First of all, the entrance and lobby to the hotel are beautiful. When we checked in the staff were very friendly and were very accommodating. We arrived early and asked if we could use the pool until check-in time, but they got us into a room right away. The room was large and very well decorated. The bed was really comfortable and we had our own little private balcony off of the room. The main pool by the lobby has lots of chairs and room to lounge during the day and the service at the pool was great. There were waiters coming around quite frequently to take drink/food orders, but they were not coming around so much that they were bothersome. They also didn't pressure us to buy anything, but were curtious in asking if we needed anything. I ordered a cocktail and a fruit plate and both were delicious. The fruit plate was huge and was filled with berries and melon and I ordered some kind of gin/basil/cucumber spritzer which was very yummy. When it started to cool off a bit we went to our room to shower, change and get ready for dinner. We had planned to go out for dinner, but the restaurant at the hotel looked really nice so we decided to try it. Again, very good service and great food! I think the restaurant is a tad overpriced, but nothing extreme. My boyfriend had the maple glazed salmon which was very good. I had a "chop chop" salad and added steak. It was good but I really didn't like the dressing and forgot to ask for it on the side so I didn't eat the whole thing. The bar connected to the restaurant is also a fun place to hang out. We had a drink there before dinner. There was a live band playing from about 5-9 pm right outside the restaurant in the pool area. It was a little bit loud but lots of fun. People were dancing and having a good time. I also really liked that there are fire pits by the pool so we could sit out there at night and not be cold. Overall, this was a great experience. The only downfall is we had to leave. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We're so happy to have hosted your recent Palm Springs visit and to hear that our site and team left such a memorable impression on you, Melissa. We're certainly proud of our historic property as well as the dedicated team who maintains it, and we're thrilled that you were able to enjoy so many of our playful offerings. We'll be sure to pass your praises around, and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in the area. Many thanks again for your stay and lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We loved our visit to the Riviera! Great price, super nice service, amenities were very good especially the pool, hot tub and pool bar. Loved all the decor - but watch out, never found an elevator so had to lug suitcases up and down stairs.Circa 59 restaurant was beautiful, delicious and service very professional. Easy access to the fun spots in Palm Springs for night life. Hated to leave!

Room Tip: We were far from the lobby overlooking the grounds, away from the pool. It was very quiet but a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cinzia707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We're happy to have hosted your recent Palm Springs visit, and thrilled to hear that your time spent on property exceeded the mark in so many ways! We'd love to welcome you back in the months ahead to share in much more of our offerings, and we encourage you to reach out to the team, who'd be more than happy to identify a well-appointed room that's conveniently located for your ease of access. Many thanks again for reaching out, and all our best until we hear from you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here for a recent weekend getaway with friends. This hotel was built in the 50s and while they try to play up the retro theme, perhaps a bit more updating should have been done. The suite that we stayed was relatively big, but the low ceilings and dark finishes made the room seem much smaller than it was. The bathroom was also quite small for the size room and the price point. Service overall was decent, but expect to wait awhile at the pool for drinks and food.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRW98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks for being a guest of our Riviera Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our overall ambience, and we apologize if some elements of your respective room fell short of the mark. We offer a variety of suites across our expansive property, we'd certainly love to welcome you back to explore others that will surely be better-suited to your preferences. Thanks again for offering us your feedback; we hope to hear more from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and were upgraded upon checking in. Few issues with the room were very promptly resolved. Food was very good, staff exceptional. Rooms very clean and beds super comfortable. Pool and hot tubs were clean and we'll maintained. My only complaint is proximity to downtown...15-20 minute walk or you can take the trolley. We rented bicycles (highly recommend)...wish the hotel had some too!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank B_Tasteful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We're happy to have hosted your recent Palm Springs visit and to hear that the dedication of our team made it a memorable one for you. We're also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our pools and other amenities and that the stay was a comfortable and relaxing one for you and your family. We'd love to host you again, and we highly suggest exploring our trolley services as well; it's a great way to explore the many great offerings of the nearby city. Thanks again for your time and review; we hope to see more of you down the road!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile


Great location , well designed spacious rooms and swimming pool, overall friendly service.
However a very mixed crowd of guests might detract a little.....
Beware of the noise if you are on the road side, as the hotel is sadly at a noisy junction. Suggesting Buildings 5 and 6 or even 7 , second floor . Receptionist are quite helpful to advise you on the rooms and buildings available.
Palm Springs has stretched itself over the years but the scenic mountain views ,golf courses, warm weather, desert town atmosphere still shows a flavor of its past Hollywood glamour!
Recommends the scenic canyon road if you are driving from LA.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
It's such a pleasure to have welcomed you to our Riviera Resort and to hear that the visit was an enjoyable one for you in so many regards. We take immense pride in the dedication of our outgoing team, and we're thrilled that their services lend to the enjoyment of your stay. We'd love to welcome you back, and we encourage you to reach out again soon; with a variety of rooms locations and styles across our property, we'd love the opportunity to help identify one that's best suited to your preferences in returning visits. All our best until then, and thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Way too expensive for what we got: long, Long, LONG halls with elevators only at one end, no view, no balcony, bedframes that stick out eager to bust some shins, extra nook with table and four chairs, average pools (nothing comparable to Las Vegas pools), too few indoor bars in winter.

Pros: Fitness center, rooms quieter than expected given the monster-dorm-from-hell layout, good check-in staff.

Wifi: Free in room.

Cons: Price, layout, decor, needs some work, too crowded, too few parking spaces by buildings so you may be in the overflow lot.

Next time: The Colony.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hapness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
While it was a pleasure to have host your recent visit, we're disheartened to hear that elements of your stay fell short of the mark. We'd certainly love the opportunity to further discuss these concerns with you and to welcome you back, and we encourage you to reach out to our team with your lingering concerns and any of your future booking needs. All our best, and thanks again for your stay and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#22 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,557 reviews
1.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,250 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#34 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
3.2 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#35 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,092 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs
Hard Rock Hotel Palm Springs
#44 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Palm Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Palm Springs Resort

Property: Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Address: 1600 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262-4602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#10 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Palm Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and styled, eclectic, cool, bohemian getaway. Inspired by the nonchalant elegance of Slim Aaron’s photographs, The Riviera is free spirited, vibrant, playful and bohemian with a sprinkling of retro nostalgia. The whimsy of Hollywood Regency in the guest rooms merges with the eclectic spirit of the public areas and makes for a perfectly unique resort getaway in Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Riviera Palm Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Resort & Spa, Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Resort And Spa, Palm Springs
Riviera Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Resort Palm Springs
Palm Springs Riveria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing