We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will not book through Skoosh again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Ranked #41 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed October 10, 2013

When we arrived at the Riviera Palm Springs, they had no record of our reservation, even though I had my confirmation from Skoosh. They had never even heard of Skoosh for making reservations! We didn't get the pool view room we requested. The room we had was okay. Had a nice bathroom, but the room itself was a bit musty and although the hotel had recently been remodeled, you could still see wear and tear in the furniture. The restaurant is decent. The manager was extremely nice. The first day at the pool (Monday) service was horrible. We were neglected. We had ordered food and I had asked for some Tabasco and the server never came back until an hour later to ask if we wanted another cocktail. On Tuesday, it as a new wait staff and they were much better. We were not informed on the hotel website or the booking website that the Spa was closed for maintenance our entire stay. Huge disappointment! The rooms (during a week stay) were very reasonably priced, but now I can see why. All in all, it was truly just an average experience.


Room Tip: The rooms were average. The maid service wouldn't replace used glasses in the room. And they e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Savannah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thanks for being a guest of our historic Riviera Resort and for taking the opportunity to reach out with your feedback. Our central aim is to provide an exemplary experience for each and every one of our guests, and it's apparent that we fell short in this instance. We apologize for that, and we encourage you to reach out to our management team with any lingering concerns you might have. The guest experience is the centerpiece of all that we do, and we'd love the opportunity to host you again and to showcase the world class hospitality for which we're acclaimed. We hope that you'll reach out to us again soon and that you'll afford us the opportunity to provide you with the attentive services and hospitality for which we're more typically known. Many thanks again for your time and review; we hope to speak more with and to see more of you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,371 - 1,377 of 2,598 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

My Husband and I stopped by the Riviera on the way back to Phoenix from Los Angeles for two nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We already are planning to go back for another visit. The decor is very retro from the 60's & 70's. The food and service was great. We had the pleasure of watching a jazz band for Happy Hour on Sunday evening. We stayed from 5pm to 9:30pm as the band was amazing. It is close to downtown Palm Springs which made it very handy but yet you are out of the hussle bussle of downtown. We loved everything about our stay. The Tram up the mountain is a must do also.

Room Tip: Wehad a Junior Suite and it was really nice. Did not see the other rooms. The room was not around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share such exemplary words with us. It was a pleasure to share our many services with you, and we're happy to hear that you were able to take in the many offerings of our property and region. We look forward to hosting you again, and we hope that you'll reach out the next time you're in or passing through the Palm Springs area. Thanks again for your stay and review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I booked this room for my best friend's bachelorette party. We were greeted very friendly when we came in by valet, bellmen and front desk. However as soon as we got to the room, a few of our keys didn't work. We would go back and forth to the front desk regarding our keys the remainder of our stay. The following day, we had a cabana booked months in advance, which we paid over $1000 for. The greeting sign didn't say anything welcoming us, when the bachelorette party in the cabana next to us did. It took us thirty minutes from the time we sat down in our cabana to receive poor and unenthusiastic service from a messily dressed server with little makeup or charm. Most of us ended up walking to the bar to get our own drinks because our server was so slow and aloof. It just wasn't the service you expect to receive for $1000 plus given the reputation the hotel attempts to give off. That night we went to dinner at the hotel restaurant, and were accused by our waiter of not giving enough money when he clearly misplaced $25 cash on a $300 bill. I had to speak with two managers to get it resolved. Lastly, after we left the hotel, I was charged multiple charges to my card over the period of the next TWO weeks. Including one for a spa service that was offered to us as complimentary. It took another week and a half to get accurate account statements regarding what was charged and why, after multiple phone calls on my end trying to reach someone to help me. In summation, the hotel has a lack of communication between departments and with their guests. Overall, they don't seem to care about providing good service, and they don't really care about their guests. That was my experience. Hopefully, if you chose to stay at this hotel, you have better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thanks for choosing our Riviera Resort to host your special event and for taking the time to share your visit with us. While we aim to provide an exemplary experience for each of our guests, it's clear that there were some shortcomings in your own. We'd love the opportunity to discuss these further with you, and we encourage you to reach out to our management team at your next available opportunity. Feedback like yours enables us to improve and grow, and we'd love the chance to host you again and to showcase our more typical attentiveness to guest services. Many thanks again for your time and review; we hope to speak with and to see more of you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place is beautiful! I do however think the drinks are way overpriced. I didn't stay here, just went for drinks and to possibly eat. Disregard my ratings on the rooms below. A nice place to hang out at night. Free valet!

Room Tip: The fire pits and lounge furniture by the pool is a nice touch, especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrbynum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to experience our Riviera Resort. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed our vibe and services, and we encourage you to reach out to experience more of our many great offerings. Whether you're lounging by the pool or enjoying a relaxing spa treatment, there's much to enjoy on site, and we'd welcome the opportunity to introduce you to more of our offerings. Thanks again for sharing your review; we'd love to see more of you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our anniversary weekend so we were very much looking forward to coming to this hotel which was also recommended to us by a friend who stayed here for their anniversary.

The hotel presentation is beautiful until you reach the room and we choose the base King room at $200 per night. Whilst it looked great it was the smallest hotel room we have ever seen, so value for money it is not. However the size wasn't the main problem, one of the chairs had cigarette burn marks on the and there were stains on the sheets and marks on all the furniture. We reported these issues to the hotel who offered us another room. Instead we requested an upgrade as we wanted a bigger room, and kindly they gave us the Studio (2 sizes up) for $40 per night extra instead of $80 per night. The studio room is excellent it has a seperate bed and lounge area and was exactly what we were looking for. So in fairness we should have checked this prior to booking but I travel all the time and never have any issues.

That night we arrived back from dinner to find ants on the bedside table next to the bed. The hotel didn't have another room for us so they had to come and clean it up. As they had sprayed ant remover we had to sleep on the sofa bed. This wasn't comfortable at all. Not what you'd expect from a circa $280 per night room.

The next morning the champagne breakfast I ordered the day before to surprise my wife didn't turn up, the hotel had no record of the order despite the fact I had to complete an order form. After discussing with the hotel they kindly agreed to remove the upgrade fees as compensation.

We had lunch at the pool restuarant, who forgot some of our food and we had to remind them. The pool is a great size but gets very busy at weekends so we booked a day bed on the Saturday so we had space for the pool party. Unfortunately the pool party music ended after just 3 hours because of a wedding and several teenagers were thrown out for being drunk.

On the 3rd night again we had ants again, the management could not provide another room but came and cleaned up the ants. The hotel offered no further compensation.

Finally Upon check out, the front desk didn't even ask how our stay was, I suspect he had seen the notes and was expecting the hair dryer treatment.

This is a great hotel visually and I am sure if we had picked the studio room from the getgo that had no ants and on another day where the service would have been better it could of been a good experience. But really if you are planing a special weekend away my advise would be go somewhere else that targets anniversaries and romantic weekend getaways.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Studio or at least one above the base room. Base rooms are very small and typica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamBS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thanks for being a guest of our historic resort and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. While it was a pleasure to have been able to host your anniversary getaway, we apologize again for the many frustrations you experienced during your visit. We certainly aim to provide an unparalleled stay for each of our guests, and we'd welcome the opportunity to discuss any remaining concerns with you. Please feel free to reach out to a member of our management team at your next available opportunity; feedback like yours enables us to improve and grow, and we value your time in offering this to us. Thanks again for your time and review. We hope to hear more from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

After a 6 hour journey from the Grand Canyon we arrived at the hotel at 8 pm very tired. When we turned the corner to the hotel what a lovely sight that greeted us. It looked very chic all lit up.After reading some of the reviews I was a bit concerned as we were going to be celebrating our 25 th wedding anniversary while we were there. I need not have worried, the room was amazing and the shower - well I want one at home, it was huge. The bed was large and comfy, the whole room was amazing, they even rang us to make sure we were happy with everything.
By the time we got changed it was gone 9.30 when we arrived at the restaurant and they should have been closed but were more than to accommodate us. The food was delicious and the waiter so helpful, we asked him about restaurants for our actual anniversary. He was very informative and nothing was too much trouble.
There was no problem with parking like some guest had written, but I guess it was a Tuesday and maybe the weekends are more busy. Maybe this was why our stay was so good as we had no hen parties or rowdy people.
The pool and staff around the pool were brilliant.
I need not of worried about other reviews, a brilliant stay.

Room Tip: I am not sure if they had upgraded us as it was our 25 th so hard to comment. But ask for the one wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thanks for being a guest of our Riviera Resort and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It's a thrill to be able to share in such special occasions as your anniversary, and we're so happy to hear that our team and offerings exceeded the mark. We'll certainly pass your kind words along to the staff, and we hope that you'll consider us again in your travels to come. Many thanks again for sharing your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I really love the resort and the service made me feel comfortable and specially that I was there on my birthday,I just had a blast very clean place,I highly recommend it,no doubt about it. Rooms are great and service is amazing they really make you feel comfortable through out your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pelon333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thanks for choosing our Riviera Resort for your birthday celebration; we're so happy to hear that it was a memorable one! We hope that you were able to take in the many relaxing and engaging elements of our property while you were here, and we look forward to sharing more of them and our attentive services with you in visits to come. Please be sure to reach out the next time you're in Palm Springs; it would be a pleasure to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#38 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,836 reviews
2.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 74 in Palm Springs
362 reviews
1.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#28 of 74 in Palm Springs
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Palm Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Palm Springs Resort

Address: 1600 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-4602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $146 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Palm Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and styled, eclectic, cool, bohemian getaway. Inspired by the nonchalant elegance of Slim Aaron’s photographs, The Riviera is free spirited, vibrant, playful and bohemian with a sprinkling of retro nostalgia. The whimsy of Hollywood Regency in the guest rooms merges with the eclectic spirit of the public areas and makes for a perfectly unique resort getaway in Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riviera Palm Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Resort And Spa, Palm Springs
Riviera Resort & Spa, Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Resort Palm Springs
Palm Springs Riveria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing