We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun hotel atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Ranked #42 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here with a group of friends over the weekend. The resort was nice, not luxury, but okay for a weekend away. The rooms were cleaned well, however the hallways and common areas were dirty and noticed wear and tear. We were obviously placed in a louder building (building 4) and could hear loud people throughout the night.
The lobby and common areas of the resort were nice - great lounging for the evening. Their lounge/bar was nice, especially with the outdoor seating.
The pool ended up being a party atmosphere - although I heard that the second pool was quieter.
Overall, the resort was decorated in a Rat Pack style which was fun.

Room Tip: Building 4 - back by the smaller pool - ended up being a little run down. Rooms were nice, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with us, Jennifer. It's a pleasure to acquaint newcomers with our facility, and while we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, we're disheartened by the lackluster care to your common area. We thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we will certainly see to it that our high standards are given consistent attention across all facets of housekeeping and operations. While we're glad to hear that you enjoyed respite at our second pool, we'd love the opportunity to introduce you to other amenities of our resort that can also help you to slip away into tranquility. Please be sure to reach out the next time you visit the area; we'd love to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,396 - 1,402 of 2,573 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked this hotel many months ago and the reviews were ok, they have recently started to be quite negative and I was debating whether or not to change hotels, in the end I didn't.

We arrived on a Saturday from LA, it was a bit congested outside the lobby with no where to really park if you were checking in. Check in was smooth and Oscar was very thoughtful when allocating our room as we had our teenage daughter with us, we ended up in building 4 with a view of the mountains which was beautiful. The room was lovely, the beds and pillows extremely comfortable. There wasn't much space to put your clothes. We had an issue with the bathroom door- it wouldn't close, we reported it on the first day, five days later it still wasn't fixed.

The pool,party was in full swing when we arrived, lots of skimpily clad girls, drunk staggering down the corridors, strong smell,of cannabis too. The corridors did have a musty smell, I'm not sure why. We noticed a piece of pizza on one of the stair wells was there for 2 days and a plastic cup with rubbish in for longer. Our room wasn't serviced on one of our days.

The Chiki pool was out of service for 3 of our 5 days as they were filming something, this was a bit of a pain as the bikini pool was a bit of a trek and not as nice, with loud music playing ( which wasn't our taste).

The hotel lobby and grounds were lovely as we're all the staff we encountered. Building 4 after the weekend was very quiet and we felt we were the only people in there and it was slightly unnerving.

My daughter left a cushion, we rang asking if they had found it, I was told they would have a look and get in touch, up to now they haven't despite having left 2 messages. I also emailed the general manager on 3 Aug and still haven't had a response - which isn't great customer service.

All in all loved Palm Springs, wouldn't return to the Riviera unless there were some changes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmdelaney40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thanks for being a guest of our Riviera Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we're glad for your reception and initial perception, we're sorry to hear of the many incidents that led to your mixed stay with us. Oscar would love the opportunity to speak more with you regarding this visit, and he asked that you reach out to him at your next earliest convenience: 760-778-6643 or otrani@psriviera.com. Thanks again for your time and review; we hope to speak more with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice enough hotel. Needs to serve food later. Rooms are well done. Fun. On the small side.

Biggest issue is the clientele. If you want to meet all the friends and the friends of friends of the Jersey shore cast, this is your place. Not sure if it is cause the rooms are cheap or if this is where Partiers know to go, but it is frat house central meets Daytona beach MTV spring break. If u are looking for a relaxing weekend of sun and cocktails, not so much. They have a house DJ that makes it like a pool party cum wedding that has gone terribly wrong. Stay away unless looking to shack up with blonde ladies that have too much make up on. Ps. Nobody looks that good with so many tattoos in the wrong place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zac E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thanks for being a guest of the Riviera and for taking the time to share your stay with us, Zac. While we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us, we're sorry that some of it fell short of your expectations. While there's often a fun and playful weekend vibe at our main pool, we do also have more secluded regions and waters of our property that we'd love to introduce you to; they're perfect for those times when you just need to escape. That said, I'll certainly pass along your thoughts regarding light night dining options, and we hope that you'll reach out to us again in the near future to enjoy a custom resort experience like only the Riviera can offer. Many thanks again for your time and review; we hope to see more of you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I've booked a weekend getaway at the Riviera in Palm Springs for the past three summers and loved it! The have three pools, one is a big party pool, another is a mix of families and party people and the third is mostly families and kids! The bars at the pool are a great, there's a great restaurant at the Hotel and the staff is amazing and accommodating! I really love this Hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love_Love2Travel_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Many thanks for being our loyal guest and for taking the opportunity to review your experiences with us. It's a huge please to share the evolution of our historic facility with such faithful guests as yourself, and we're happy to hear that you continue to enjoy your stays with us. Please be sure to reach out the next time you return to the Palm Springs area; we'd love to share more of our hospitality and playful vibe with you. Thanks again for your time and review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here mid-week in the summer. We were upgraded to Mediterranean Suites, which sounded nice, but if this was an upgrade, goodness knows what our original rooms would have been like!
There is a lot of emphasis, on the website, on the glamour of the resort. Whilst the front and public areas look good, our experience of the rooms is that there are lots of maintenance and housekeeping issues.
Our room was certainly not clean. The shower screen was badly covered with soap scum or lime scale at the bottom. The surfaces were very dusty, with visible build up of dust around the skirting and sockets. The fridge door did not close properly and this caused it to leak into the cabinet, which had warped so the door to that no longer closed properly. The carpet could have done with a deep clean, but vacuuming would have been a start. I dropped a pen and when I went to look for it, a previous occupant's lip balm was covered in dust under the cabinet.
In the bathroom, the sinks' drains were badly scaled and neither plug actually closed.
There were a number of velvet throw pillows on the bed, all of which had stains and dirt on them, which was quite repulsive.
The complimentary coffee would have been ok, but the creamer/sugar packs had been opened and partly used.
Our used and wet towels, placed on the floor in the shower, were not replaced when the housekeepers came around.
The room had an unpleasant odour too.
We used the pool area (bikini bar pool as the other was closed for 'a deep clean after the weekend' ) and this was nice. It was well-landscaped and clean, although some of the tiles are missing from the pool sides, so you have to be careful.
The front area is very impressive.
Unfortunately, this is no compensation for dirty, shabby rooms. In England, we call this 'all fur coat and no knickers!'. We would rather have had a clean room than the ribbon tied around the spare loo roll!
We had pre-paid our rooms, but on check out we were charged again.
We did mention all of these issues to the Receptionist at check out. He did say that he would certainly mention our comments to the appropriate people, which didn't really seem an adequate response to us, so we asked for a response by email. We have heard nothing so far.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thanks your for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we're happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool and property, we're disheartened to hear of the atypical housekeeping services you encountered and received during your stay. We'd love the opportunity to discuss these more with you, and we encourage you to reach out to Oscar Trani, our Assistant Front Office Manager , at your next earliest convenience: 760-778-6643 or otrani@psriviera.com. Thanks again for sharing your stay with us; we hope to speak more with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here because we wanted a party atmosphere at the pool. It was nice to have a DJ because most hotels do not, but I was expecting more people. We had fun down at the pool everyone was pretty nice, the lounge/bar at night was also fun the DJ played until 2am and everyone was just having a good time. The shuttles to downtown should come more than every hour and last longer than 10pm. We went downtown for dinner at 8pm and everything had a 45+ minute wait, we finally got seated at a Mexican restaraunt but they took over 30 minutes and still did not even bring us the guacamole we ordered so we left dinnerless because it was already 930pm. We would definately come back here but plan our night a little better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaN_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your stay with us, Melissa. It's an honor to introduce first time guests to our property, and we're happy to hear that your experience was an overall enjoyable one. Please reach out the next time you're planning a return visit; we'd love to help you coordinate a seamless escape that fully captures all the great elements of our property and region. Thanks again for your time and review; we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Parking is terrible there we had to park all the way in the back of building 4 and walk all the way to the front just to check in.The minute we got there, there seem to have been an issue with our reservation, took like about 25 mintues to check in, not once did they tell us what was wrong if anything with our reservations. Reservations were made directly on their website.

Once we checked in, it felt like spring break atmosphere, not like the serene, calm high class appeal the website makes it out to be. (That was the reason we decided to go with Riviera over another resort, as we wanted a serene calm atmosphere to celebrate our anniverary) Unfortunately we were gravely mistaken. We were met with girls running around in the hallways which are dark, and dirty. Had a very strong smell of marijuana coming from the hallways. Our elevator got stuck twice in between floors.

Once in our room, we noticed that the tv had no sound coming out of it. One night lamp and the radio /clock was not working. The other side lamp was not functioning right either, it would not turn off, unless you physically unplugged it from the outlet.

It took about 20 minutes before the hot water kicked in the shower.

Parking is really hard to get after an evening out. We had to drive around for about 45 minutes before we found parking all the way in the back, where it is very dark and not very lighted. Had to use our phone flashlight to see where we were going. Ice machine rooms were very dirty with trash that people left there.

At time of check out, we were gonna get charged valet parking for our two night stay, when i told the front desk guy, that it was an error, he was very unpolite saying there was no way it could have been an error. Had i used the valet parking i would not be complaining about the parking issue we had to deal with the two days we stayed there. Until talking to his manager did he decide to give us credit for the valet charges. Not once did anyone ask how our stay was, surprised as usually they always ask this at different resorts and i've stayed at before. Will not be staying here on our future trips to Palm Springs, nor would i recommend this resort to any family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lupe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circa59GM, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Many thanks for being a guest of our historic resort and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're sorry to hear that your visit fell short of the expectation, and we'd love the opportunity to speak with you more about it. Please reach out to Marco Perry, our General Manager, at your next earliest convenience: 760.778.6620 or mperry@psriviera.com. Thanks again for your time; we hope to speak more with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#37 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,805 reviews
2.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#31 of 74 in Palm Springs
123 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#36 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Palm Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Palm Springs Resort

Address: 1600 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-4602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $155 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Palm Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and styled, eclectic, cool, bohemian getaway. Inspired by the nonchalant elegance of Slim Aaron’s photographs, The Riviera is free spirited, vibrant, playful and bohemian with a sprinkling of retro nostalgia. The whimsy of Hollywood Regency in the guest rooms merges with the eclectic spirit of the public areas and makes for a perfectly unique resort getaway in Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Riviera Palm Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Resort & Spa, Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Resort And Spa, Palm Springs
Riviera Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Resort Palm Springs
Palm Springs Riveria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing