We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place and price to stay in Palm Springs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place and price to stay in Palm Springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have been to Palm Springs a few times and it's always been at Riviera. I love the decor and pool. Recently, I took my bf on a romantic weekend trip to PS and it was his first time visiting PS. The front desk was very friendly and checked me in quick. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and trendy with a dash of retro style. My only few negatives regarding the rooms: the walls are too thin and the doors don't shut itself so if you head out, make sure you shut the door tightly. The bed are really comfy though! Next time, I want to stay at the Junior Suite with the pool view because I hate staying in the backing building.

I love the main pool because it reminds me of Vegas with bumping good music. We arrived there mid-afternoon and the pool was packed on a Saturday. The Pool Manager, Patrick was so nice and accommodating. He made sure all the guests are well taken care of. Great hospitality. My bf and I relaxed on the daybed and enjoyed the rest of the afternoon tanning, swimming, eating, and drinking. Our server Lance was great and he checked up on us a few times to see if we need more food and drinks. Definitely check out Riviera, it's a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSRESORT, Manager at The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a great experience with us. Looking forward to the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    604
    401
    263
    236
See reviews for
382
990
87
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I were in town at the beginning of October for a Thursday night to Friday stay, him for business and me for pleasure.

Hotel experience: When we arrived we were graciously greeted by two welcoming and professional valets. One took our bags while the other attended to getting our room number, etc. Next, we met “Mark” and “Brandon” at the front desk. Both men were friendly and helpful while assisting with our check-in, and wanted to make sure we knew to let them know if they could do anything to make our stay an enjoyable one. Every staff member we encountered throughout our stay greeted us with a smile, at least. The décor in the large gathering lobby, large gathering lobby hallway, and lobby bar was to die for.

Room: Our room was spacious and clean. Small amenities that make a big difference to us: slow-closing toilets seats, lighted mirrors and lighted makeup mirror in bathroom, separate jetted tub and large tiled shower, fluffy/white towels and wash clothes. The bed and room was comfy and quiet, despite being next to the pool area.

Food/entertainment experience: We ate dinner and breakfast at restaurant Circa 59. The ahi tuna was seared to perfection (which is a tall order for my husband).Two thumbs up, as well, for the lobster mac ’n’ cheese, the arugula-pear salad, and the oatmeal with caramelized apples on top and fresh fruit. The fresh fruit was fresh and contained strawberries, blackberries, blueberries, grapes, cantaloupe, and melon. The presentation of every dish was first-class. “Lance” was our dinner server and “Enrique” served breakfast. Both were friendly and professional. During dinner, ” James”, stopped by each table to make sure everything about the dinner and stay, thus far, was to our satisfaction. He asked us to please let him or the staff know if there was anything they could do to make our stay more enjoyable. Another big highlight during dinner was the live music played by our outside dining table. It was a two-man ensemble and the lead guitarist and singer was “Michael Keeth”. He was accompanied by a guy who also played guitar. Michael had an amazing voice, was so talented, and sang covered songs. We enjoy music we recognize and relate to. It made our dinner at Circa 59 truly memorable.
Pool: The biggest bonuses about the pool include: large size, clean/clear water, and lounger-side cocktail and food service.

The only thing missing from our stay was my sister and girlfriends to hang out with me by the pool while my husband was busy working. Next trip to Palm Springs will be a girls’ trip to the Riviera!! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dockstaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSRESORT, Manager at The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We will certainly pass on the great comments for our staff and we happy to see that you had a great time with us.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Had a fantastic experience at the Riviera. The staff and management were terrific. The rooms were excellent and the service was top-notch. Decided on a whim to stay here and am very glad I did so. I will be a frequent guest at The Riviera. Exceptional people and property!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgoedhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSRESORT, Manager at The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Glad to hear you had a terrific time at the Riviera, we thank you for your feedback and welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I had a brief but brilliant getaway in September. It was nice and toasty, but the pool was just enough to keep you cool! I made a last minute spa appointment for my wife just before they closed in the evening for the next morning and they were able to accommodate. She said it was one of the best treatments she has ever had! We will be back sooner than later.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSRESORT, Manager at The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Jay,

Thank you for your feedback! It is a great weekend get away location and glad to hear your wife got to enjoy the spa as well. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Riviera Resort & Spa 10/24 to 10/30. The rooms, the pool and the Spa were all very nice, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the eclectic art deco feel of the hotel. One minor problem, while we reserved a Medditerain Ground Floor Jr. Suite, what they gave us was a 2nd floor suite that was located in a building that was under rennovation. The front desk was very prompt to change our room to what was reserved. Do not know how long renovations will be going on, but would recommend that you make sure to request a room away from the building currently under renovation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryJo226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSRESORT, Manager at The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear MaryJo,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We really appreciate it and we are glad to hear that you had a great time with us. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here with the expectation of relaxing midway through a three week holiday btween LA and LV. Our first impression of this place were "wow, we've done well getting into this place". The valets were superbly friendly as was the check in. We self parked and thats when the cracks appeared. We were right at the end of one of the blocks (so next the car) but the lifts were in the centre, which made a very long trip to get to the room with heavy cases. The room on fist inspection was excellent but when we went to use the safe it had been damaged. We called security and they were very prompt but quickly assessed that someone had broken into it causing irrepairable damage, so at 10pm we were offered an alternative room and the chance to store all our valuables in their centrally located office. There was an iron and ironing board but we soon found the board to be faulty and the bulb was blown in the bathroom. We reported all of these and got a polite "thanks for pointing those things out", but no promise to rectify for the next visitor, which was totally against all the other experiences we had of the trip in the USA. I get the impression that there were better blocks than the one we stayed in but perhaps they are reserved for young party weekenders likely to spend a fortune at the bars. There were a lot of very young party types and it didn't escape our notice that we shared a lift on more than one occasion with older men politely introducing themselves to well manicured ladies and then ushering them to their room (that the men knew the location of but the women clearly didn't). This was backed up by the default TV channel which continually offered us the chance to pay for adult entertainment without it showing on our credit card bill !!. We were not offended but surprised. This is not a couples retreat, more a playden for college kids on a break or perhaps lavish wedding guests. We are not old but this experience did make us feel older than we are. In summary, this is a hotel that has a fur coat but no kn*ckers and would likely appeal to semester fun seekers, weddings, and delegates of local conferences looking for companionship

Room Tip: Probably best to try to get Block 1 or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingeBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSRESORT, Manager at The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feeback. We are sorry about the challenges you exprienced during your most recent stay. We hope to get a second chance to really show you what the Riviera is all about. Please don't hesitate to contact mangement directly and again, thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at Riviera Resort & Spa in Palm Springs 10/19-10/21-12. We LOVED every minute of our stay at the hotel!!! The staff was AMAZING ESPECIALLY Julio, Rigoberto, and Chris. We were welcomed in such a nice, friendly, and professional manner. The hotel is beauifully decorated and every part of the hotel seems to be special in its own way. The lounge area is great at night for some live music and a drink. We would definitely go back....and because our stay was SO great, we decided to go back every 6 months for our "Girls Getaway Weekend"

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethMarie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSRESORT, Manager at The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear ElizabethMarie, fantastic to hear that you had a great girls weekend full of fun. Thank you for mentioning some of our oustanding staff and we will make sure to share the great experience with the rest of the hotel. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.9 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#28 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
1.4 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#23 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#32 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Property: The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Address: 1600 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262-4602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#10 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#14 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legend is surpassed, in mythical and mystical proportions, as 24 voluminous acres rise from the Palm Springs desert like a phoenix, capturing and challenging the imagination. More an epic and contemporary Mecca for cultural sophisticates than just another hotel in California, The Riviera Palm Springs draws from the best Palm Springs resorts of all genres to create a theater of relaxation, rejuvenation and indulgence amid world-class golf, shopping and vistas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Resort And Spa, Palm Springs
Riviera Resort & Spa, Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Resort Palm Springs
Palm Springs Riveria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing