We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely one of the best Vacations ive been on”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
1 review
“Absolutely one of the best Vacations ive been on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The overall experience was amazing. Staff was very friendly. The overall feel you get when being in the hotel is great. It's very modern and romantic. It puts you in another place in time. I felt like I was in Alice and wonderland...very dreamy and unique. The room was great. Very romantic and classy. The pool area is amazing so relaxing. Service available do you can just sit back and enjoy yourself and not have to worry. I will be going back for sure

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovingthedesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla L, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear lovingthedesert,

Thank you soo much for the review, we are glad to hear that it was a great experience from start to finish and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    615
    415
    269
    245
See reviews for
395
1,004
90
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Riviera is a great Hollywood "Glam" Palm Springs Hotel but currently needing repairs. While recently remodled, it's already showing it's wear. Hopefully they will get on top of the fixes soon as the hotel is a great west side location with a great layout, pool and youger/hip sort of vibe. Excellent food, great service. Recommend a pool view/pool side room if available.

Room Tip: Go for a pool view or pool side room if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSRESORT, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Jeff H,

We always appreciate feedback from our valued customers. Happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. It's for sure one of a kind place with the "old glamour" surrounding us. We hope to see you joining us again soon for vacation or for business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

So, you can get a pretty well-rounded idea of what kind of place the Riviera is based on everything people say on TA. It tries to be swanky and it is, to a degree. But when you add in the pool area they have, and a youngish crowd, it turns more toward the flavor of a crazy spring break scene. We had a great time there because we knew what we were signing up for. I would definitely not bring kids around that pool (tho there were some there on Sunday morning)... there were some pretttty drunk kids on Sat afternoon that were getting, shall we say, frisky. So much for swank.

The rooms were cool - we were upgraded to a junior suite which was nice, and were situated in building two which was close to the pool but not to any point where we could hear noise from it. I thought the location was perfect. One of our bathroom sinks ended up clogging up on Sunday morning, so it was lucky we had two as I was trying to use it to brush my teeth at the time. The shower took forever to get warm.

My main complaint was with the treatment of the hotel guests that were out at the pool on Saturday night by the management. This hotel is known for keeping very late hours at the pool area...however, at no time could we get a truly straight answer from anyone regarding the exact hours that it closed. Some other guests that were regulars there claimed it normally doesn't close until 3am. On Saturday night the staff started around the pool shutting off the fire pits at 11:30pm (!) without a word. Pretty rude, as their pool area and fire pits are obviously a big night-time selling point, and 11:30 is hardly a reasonable closing time at a resort that sells itself on having a lively atmosphere.

Next, they began the task of getting everyone out of the pool - there were maybe 15-20 people spread around swimming and hanging out - nobody was being crazy, the night was super warm, and the water was a perfectly lovely place to be! Again, the manager than came around treated everyone as though they were a bunch of drunk kids who needed reprimanding, rather than paying hotel guests. It was jarring and rudely done and very against what they seem to try to portray on their website (which actually has a blurb on the "night-time scene" at the pool). Nobody was happy, but everyone got out and went and found other places to hang out. It was really a poorly handled situation that left a bad taste in everyone's mouth. That manager is in serious need of a refresher course in customer relations. By the way, we were swimming in the pool until 1:30 or 2am on Friday night, with zero issue.

I think in the end, people base their opinions on cost-to-value of a place. Since we got a good rate with a Bloomspot deal and were also upgraded, we felt we got what we paid for and enjoyed our experience. I think if one were to pay top dollar at this resort, yes, the missing tiles at the pool or the forgetful bartender and slow service is going to bother you a lot more. It's best to read up and know what you're getting in to before you purchase a stay at the Riviera.

One last tip: yes, the pool loungers are truly gone by about 8:30am, get yourself out of bed if you want anything more than a stray single here or there. Our group of 4 still had options at 8:30am but those were definitely gone by 9:00.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in one of those 2 buildings in the back - they're way too far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1MoreTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla L, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We appreciate your time to address the concerns during your most recent stay at the Riviera. Please note that all guest comments and concers are reviewed by our management team to continually work on improving our guest service. Please accept our apologies for the unsatisfactory level of service. We look forward to welcoming you back and allowing us the opportunity to restore you confidence in our services and accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stay at this hotel every time we go to palm springs. The decor is awesome management was above and beyond we told them we have been going to their hotel for the past 10 years and because we keep coming the manager upgraded us to the junior suite when we got to our room, he called to ask if the room met our expectations, how many hotels do that for you? I highly recommend this hotel and will always go back!

Room Tip: The junior suite is very nice we loved it the decor is great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla L, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Cindy C,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and for returning to the Riviera anytime you are out west. We appreciate the business and look forward to you next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Overall, we had a nice stay at the Riviera Resort. My biggest complaints would be an overcrowded pool (and it was a slower weekend), and their maintenance issues. One gate at each pool had a broken room key reader that no one fixed all weekend. We had to keep walking around to other gates to get in. Also, our room had papers on the floor when we got there, light bulbs out, water stains in tub, and an old water bottle in the fridge. All minor things, but should be taken care of easily. The rooms were very nicely decorated, as was the lobby. Late check out was no problem. Despite the minor maintenance issues we would stay again. Be careful not to overpay though; look for deals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkashinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla L, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your time to address and share your feedback with us. We have shared it with the appropriate department as we continue to always improve our guest services. The Riviera looks forward to welcoming you back & again, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redondo beach, ca
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Been to this hotel several times. While it still retains it's "vintage vibe" parts of it are not holding up well. Was there on busy weekend. Pool was dirty, lounge chairs broken, shower only had a trickle of water that came out. However, the overall atmosphere and location is still really nice.
The beds are very comfortable and room clean. Drink and food quality good. Enjoyed sitting by side bar patio and listening to live acoustic guitar music late on evening...hardly anyone there to enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harumi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSRESORT, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Rivera. We appreciate the feedback and it has been shared with the appropriate departments. We hope you will join us again for a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We live in Los Angeles and come out to the Riviera about every six weeks to getaway for the weekend. We love the energy, the decor and the staff equally. I'm writing this time around as our waiter by the pool, Garret, went above-and-beyond to make sure we had a great time. Our drinks were never empty, gave great recommendations on where to eat (The hotel restaurant is great, but already ate there) and catered to our every need. So if you stay by the pool for the day..make sure you sit in Garret's section!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSRESORT, Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Greg M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you had a great stay with us and we will pass on the great feedback to the pool staff and Garret. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#31 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#21 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#33 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Monroe Palm Springs
The Monroe Palm Springs
#49 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Palm Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Palm Springs Resort

Property: Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Address: 1600 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262-4602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Palm Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and styled, eclectic, cool, bohemian getaway. Inspired by the nonchalant elegance of Slim Aaron’s photographs, The Riviera is free spirited, vibrant, playful and bohemian with a sprinkling of retro nostalgia. The whimsy of Hollywood Regency in the guest rooms merges with the eclectic spirit of the public areas and makes for a perfectly unique resort getaway in Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Palm Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Resort And Spa, Palm Springs
Riviera Resort & Spa, Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Resort Palm Springs
Palm Springs Riveria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing