We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Ranked #42 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I took a trip to Palm Springs with some of my girl friends earlier this year and stayed at the Riviera. We had a blast! The concierge was extremely helpful at all times, gave us great recommendations on places to go, restaurants to eat at, etc.

The service at the pools was great and the drinks were delicious. Breakfast was pretty good also. I just had simple granola, but I tried my friends corned beef hash and it was pretty tasty.

The decor is cool, but there are some little things that I was left scratching my head about...like why is the elevator so dingy? I would imagine for a luxury hotel that they would have spent time and money on all aspects of the property. I hope that in the near future they invest some of the money from sales on renovating the lower grade aspects of the property.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_sojourner_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraPalmSprings, General Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Thank you for the valuable feedback and suggestions. All guest comments are shared with our team and become part of the decision-making process. We hope to see you and your friends back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,941 - 1,947 of 2,572 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2011

We had a lovely room in the rear of the property - two nights. ...midweek. Just what a tired traveler might need!! There were 2 very minor problems that were addressed immediately....and then followed up by a phone call to ensure we were content.
The best part, in my opinion, was the professionalism of Ursula, the manger (?) upon check out. She was indeed excellent at customer relations - I can't tell if the error was on my part or theirs but it was handled SO efficiently and to my benefit... Kudos!
We look forward to more trips to Riviera and would highly recommend it to family members and friends based solely on this first positive experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraPalmSprings, General Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

We appreciate your feedback, acknowledgement of our staff, and for mentioning that we efficiently resolved any issues. Thank you for recommending the Riviera to your family and friends. You are now part of the Riviera family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Great stay this time. Stayed here for new years a couple years ago and service was overwhelmed. This time service was good. Pool area is fantastic for adults and/or kids. Place is sprawling though so be prepared to walk a ways.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corycov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraPalmSprings, General Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Riviera again. It is great to know you received good service and enjoyed our pools. The resort is located on 24 acres so yes indeed, there is much to see and do. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The two best things about The Riviera are impeccable service and fantastic atmosphere. Sadly, these two very strong points are marred by a lack of attention to detail that is unacceptable in a luxury property (at luxury prices). Numerous minor flaws deal the resort a death by a thousand cuts, which is unfortunate because what it has in abundance - great service - is usually the hardest piece of the puzzle.

The ambiance is fantastic. There's a piano bar right near the front desk, next to a fantastically well-appointed lobby. The poolside is surrounded by fire pits which offer a wonderful (and warm) place to hang out after dark. The rooms are pleasing to the eye; our suite included a gas fireplace that heated the dining room and the living room.

The staff are exceptionally friendly, polite and helpful. If I rated hotels strictly on the responsiveness of their employees, The Riviera would be in my Top 5. From check-in to check-out, they respond quickly and effectively to any need one may have. Regrettably, we had to speak to them often, as we had many issues that needed to be addressed.

One of the windows in our bedroom had been bolted in a not-quite-shut position, which was highly unpleasant when the temperature dropped below 40. Within 20 minutes of our calling the front desk, it was fixed. The same maintenance man was also able to explain why we had no hot water in our sinks (it had been turned off; he turned it back on). Even after that, we never got hot water anywhere in the room without a delay of 5 minutes or more. Our first room service order was incorrect. Furniture on the balcony was poorly maintained. Our phone rang every few hours, one ring, nobody on the other end; some sort of mechanical glitch. The motion-sensor light in the bedroom would wake up whichever one of us went to bed first at night or whichever one of us woke up last in the morning. For a 3-bedroom suite we had only 1 wastebasket (in the bathroom). Bath tissue was the thinnest and cheapest I've seen at any hotel. Despite a "Do Not Disturb" sign clearly on the door, housekeeping entered our room while we were still in it. Our keys stopped working an hour before we were scheduled to check out, while we were rushing to get ready for our cab to the airport. The entire downstairs of our building stank of mold (several conference rooms had visible mold on the carpet and had doors and windows open to air the place out). At check-out, the front desk had no cash and kept us (and our airport taxi) waiting while someone went to find some.

As can be imagined, despite a very attentive and responsive staff, at some point we just got tired of calling for help and put up with the problems as best we could. This is, of course, not what one expects from a luxury property.

If everything had worked as it should have, we would have considered this property a very fair value and would have been quite content to pay a luxury rate. Given all of the problems, the best I can manage is a 3-star rating. For the sake of all the wonderful and friendly staff, I wish I could be more positive.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the pool are quieter. Avoid top-story rooms immediately adjacent to loud roof HVAC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlternaTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraPalmSprings, General Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Thank you for pointing out the positive aspects of your stay. Our staff appreciates your acknowledgement of their hard work. All of the concerns that you have expressed will be shared with each department involved. Thank you for your time and patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

The resort and rooms are beautiful. The staff is friendly, enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: I was upstairs in bulding 2 and it was a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenjen500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraPalmSprings, General Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

Thank you for choosing the Riviera. We would love to have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Enjoyed our 4-night stay in a charming suite with view of fabulous pool. Very comfortable. An asset to the hotel is the restaurant service staff ,in particular, Carolina. Food was excellent, poolside dining available and reasonable.

This was a business trip and the meeting ballroom was in dire need of upgrade. It was too close to the kitchen in the convention center and kitchen noises we often heard. Hotel service staff was even going thru our meeting room until we complained. Service staff in all areas was responsibel.

Room Tip: Ask to be close to pool or lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraPalmSprings, General Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Thank you for providing your compliments and feedback regarding your visit. Your review will be shared with our staff. In regards to the title of your review, the resort was originally built in 1959 and was renovated not long ago. We have a page dedicated on our website that covers the history of the property for more details. Thank you and your group for choosing to meet at the Riviera.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We spent a wonderful 4-day weekend at the Riviera and this is a class act all the way. Beautifully appointed rooms, great art work and love the art deco style. The gem of the place in the lagoon style pool. Lots of comfortable lounge chairs and enough shade for a respite. Another great feature are the evening pool lights, with intimate seating around fire pots - lovely for cocktails & snacks. It's absolutely beautiful. Not to be missed as well is the spa. A massage includes time in the sauna/soaking tubs in a beautifully appointed serene setting. Well worth the price. Not impressed however with the manicure I had - the tech seemed more concerned with getting off work then doing a good job.

Our food experience at the Riviera was excellent. We ordered pool-side lunch every day, and yes hotel prices, but there was good variety to the menu. It was fresh and appetizing - and nothing beats a cool beverage and lunch, while laying in the sun! Cocktails and apps in the lobby bar with a very entertaining pianist started one night, and a very decadent triple-layer chocolate cake ended another in the Black Bar. Don't remember the name - it's tucked away and perfect for a romantic interlude with secluded black booths and late hours. It was virtual empty when we were there - the DJ seemed to be having an identity crises that night though, playing jazz, then disco, then rap, then show tunes. (The place is really suited for live jazz instead of a disco) We also recommend breakfast on the terrace - and for the coffee snobs in us - excellent espresso!

The Riviera truly does feel like a "get-away". You will be pampered and feel well-rested and renewed after a stay here.

Room Tip: The hotel is laid out in wings - ours was two buildings away from the lobby, but we were able to par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RainerRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraPalmSprings, General Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

We truly appreciate the descriptive review of your stay at the Riviera. Thank you for taking the time to detail each amenity and outlet you experienced. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for a future visit. At your convenience, take a look at our Packages and Offers page on our website for great options when booking a new trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#37 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,807 reviews
2.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#30 of 74 in Palm Springs
124 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#36 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Palm Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Palm Springs Resort

Address: 1600 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-4602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $155 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Palm Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and styled, eclectic, cool, bohemian getaway. Inspired by the nonchalant elegance of Slim Aaron’s photographs, The Riviera is free spirited, vibrant, playful and bohemian with a sprinkling of retro nostalgia. The whimsy of Hollywood Regency in the guest rooms merges with the eclectic spirit of the public areas and makes for a perfectly unique resort getaway in Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Palm Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Resort & Spa, Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Resort And Spa, Palm Springs
Riviera Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Resort Palm Springs
Palm Springs Riveria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing