We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hipster Commune Desert Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I don't know if you've ever seen that advert, it's for Expedia or someone other massive travel company. Anyway, it basically sums up the overwhelming excitement, when you turn up at the hotel you've booked, and realise.... YOU'VE GOT IT RIGHT!!! In fact... I've found it...here it is; http://mashable.com/2013/01/22/booking-com-35-million-ad-campaign/

Anyway, my point is... we were the girls in that advert. When we opened the door to our room at Ace Hotel Palm Springs, we were those girls. There's no doubt about it, the Ace Hotel is ACE!

We were recommended Ace by a friend in LA, who said "this place is super cool, you girls will LOVE it". We did. The epitome of 70's retro vintage desert cool (at 43 degrees it still managed it), this place is pure style rolled around in awesomeness and spat out into the middle of the hot sands of Palm Springs, a town with what appeared to me had very little real purpose, other than to once house movie stars (on the edge of rehab) who desperately needed escapism and respite from the cra-cra of LA or Vegas.

Located on the edge of town, Ace is probably too far away from the centre of the strip, to want to risk your life and sanity attempting to hot-foot it there. They provide free bikes or just cruise on down in your air-con filled Mustang. A motel turned hotel, this is more than just a place to lay your head. It feels like this is where the cool people go, a home, a commune for the Hipster.

Our room was one of the best I've stayed in... our reaction backed up that fact. Once we'd stopped screaming we waltzed in to do the first impressions analysis. The radio playing in the room as we entered was a very agreeable touch, felt more bedroom than hotel room.

We checked out the huge super kingsize bed, two smaller beds hugged the wall. Most things in the room, which you'd look at and then think "I really want that in my room", you could buy. A pricelist listed everything from the stylish minimalistic prints hanging from the whitewashed walls to the dressing gowns in the bathroom. The room had everything you needed, ipod dock, fridge with mini bar, fluffy white towels, an immaculate modern bathroom, small patio area. I wanted to move in and never leave.

The pool area almost had us as exhilarated, and the view from the huge circular lounge bed was formidable, a swimming pool against palm trees against desert mountains against azure sky. "wow". Small onsite gym, which was fine for a bit of a half hearted workout that we didn't really want to put ourselves through in the extreme heat. Outdoor fireplaces with elaborate looking armchairs forward facing, to soak up the fiery heat when the sun goes down and in comes in the cool desert starry night.

If you don't want to leave this haven, you really don't need to. It's all here. Understated diner restaurant serves some pretty tasty burgers. We didn't use the bar, as we were dying a slow painful tequila fuelled death after 3 heavy days in San Diego, but it looked like it would serve up a great atmosphere.

If you weren't cool when you checked into the Ace, you will certainly feel the vibe when you leave...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank havemonkeywilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle L, Manager at Ace Hotel and Swim Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Cheers!!!! Stoked on our end.......to hear you had such a good time. Thanks for sharing.
Means a ton to us!!!!! Big Thanks!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 892 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

I have stayed here several times and just love it. Lounging at the pool, drinking cucumber infused cocktails with my friends, dog, other people, and their dogs followed by whatever other events they have going on is fun! If you want to be social, part of a scene...come here. If you are not a dog person & want mellow don't come here....there are plenty of them. DJ's at the pool spin cool tunes too!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle L, Manager at Ace Hotel and Swim Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

So glad you had a great time. See you soon!!!!!!
Love Half Moon Bay......such an awesome place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Traveled here in January with my boyfriend who is more knowledgeable about the original Ace Hotel. The location is pretty decent and the complimentary bikes are a great touch (instead of riding downtown, it was a blast to ride through the old neighborhoods behind the hotel).

We had a simple yet lovely room with a patio and fireplace (not a suite) on the first floor. The fireplace was easy to use and there were generous cushions to lay under the stars with olive and tangerine trees.

The room was a comfortable size and clean with a nice option of purchasing many of the room's amenities.

The pool area was retro Palm Springs; nothing "splashy" but very adult.

If you don't like bumping hipster underground music all day and some of the night, I am sure there are plenty of other quiet hotels you can choose from but it did not bother us.

Staff was nice and outgoing, a little slow but it is also a laid-back vibe so it works.

We went to the restaurant for breakfast and it was actually superb - best hash browns I have ever had!

Only weird thing; they make you sign at check-in that you agree NOT to bring in any kind of outside alcohol....?? WHAT? I have never heard about this? I get that the Ace wants you to buy from their bar and in-room bar but common. It was more surprising than upsetting!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle L, Manager at Ace Hotel and Swim Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Glad you had a good time. Thanks for the feedback......very important to us.
Have many improvements underway.......hope you'll have time to come back for a visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Ace Hotel helped me pull off the ultimate surprise party for my husband's 30th birthday. We live in Minneapolis and for his February birthday, I knew I wanted to take him somewhere to get some vitamin D. We met up with six of our friends (who live all over the country) for a long weekend of R&R had the best time at the Ace. All I knew about the Ace, I read about online, so I wasn't 100% sure what to expect. And holy crap were my expectations blown away.

Our room was cozy and clean and we slept like babies in the big bed, warm comforter and California light. The body wash smelled amazing and the stereo worked great. We sprung for a firepit room and I was glad we did, since we had a larger group hanging out at the hotel. It was a good central location for hanging out. The fridge was super helpful, since we had a lot of drinks and snacks to keep cool (we just took out the mini-bar stuff to keep our own items cold).

The pool was fun and relaxing (and really great for people-watching). It definitely had a different vibe over the weekend (more Urban Outfitters party) than it did on Thursday and Friday (quieter and more relaxing). My girlfriends and I had massages and body scrubs at the Feel Good Spa while the husbands went off golfing at some PGA/Pro Course. We left the spa feeling very happy and relaxed.

But the best part was the staff! The waiters, the front desk staff, the room service staff--everyone was super helpful, friendly and funny. They remembered our names and room numbers, gave great recommendations and were just chill and great. They really added to the whole experience!

The entire hotel and weekend was just surreal. I wouldn't have changed anything. We basically used every single amenity they boasted (free bike rentals, free WiFi, fireplaces!) It was truly unforgettable in every way. Other favorite parts include the French Press coffee, the Dr. Gonzo drink and the large/warm/awesome hot tub. Oh and the adorable fruit trees and hummingbirds. I thought this place was magical and I wish we could move there. Sorry, Minneapolis. You can't compete.

Room Tip: We loved having the fireplace balcony because we had a large group that we were traveling with, so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daytripper628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle L, Manager at Ace Hotel and Swim Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Awesome!! Hope we'll see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

One of the most fun hotels I've ever stayed at.

- Check-In was a breeze. Friendly staff. The lobby is awesome. Right next to great cocktail bar called the Amigo Room that includes a pretty amazing taxidermied bear. Definitely LA hipstery but not super sceney. People seem to be having a genuinely good time.

- Make sure to ask the front-desk for an auxiliary cord. They have them for free to connect your phone to the room's speakers.

- Stayed in the King room with fireplace patio. Room was big. Neat vintage furniture and decorations + record player/records. Fireplace is fun to hang out next at after night swim. .

- Pool service is fast and attentive and drinks from the amigo room are reasonable. DJ plays 50/60/70s. Probably wouldn't bring kids here. 20/30-something party crowd. Later in the evening pool & hot tub get pretty social.

- In the evening they threw a vday party. Created a 50s dance party next to the pool. They went all out with the decorations. Pretty impressive. Everyone seemed to really appreciate it and had a great time.

- Had a really tough time deciding between the Ace and the Parker. Ended up staying at both. While the Parker is prettier it's really stuffy/boring with lots of seen-and-be-seen types. No music, TONS of kids, and no one really interacting with each other. We left daily to go hang out back at the Ace Pool.

- Oh and rent a bike. The architecture and views in that area shouldn't be missed.

See pics.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle L, Manager at Ace Hotel and Swim Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Thanks Andy T. Means a lot!!!! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed at the Ace in late January for 5 days. The hotel itself has a funky atmosphere that has some appeal. The decor is definitely well thought out. The food and drinks are outstanding. But that's about it. I had pleasant stay but it was not without many problems, starting at check-in. The staff in the restaurant was great. The staff by the pool was marginal. The front desk staff was friendly, but unfortunately they all shared one brain, and several of them tried to use this brain all at the same time. They were a disaster of misinformation and they were unable to accommodate what should have been simple requests.

If you want to look cool, be around cool looking people and really not get great service or great amenities, this is your place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle L, Manager at Ace Hotel and Swim Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thanks for the feedback Chris. Glad you enjoyed the food etc........but we're worried you didn't have the total experience we strive towards. Can you drop me a note......so we can follow up with you and learn more?
rachelle.lester@acehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Palm Springs is definitely fun, and the Ace stands out among many throw-back accommodations. It's big, but only 2 storied separate buildings. We found it at Conde Nast Traveler, and are very glad we spent New Years there. 2 pools, beautiful water, not heavily chlorinated, and open both early and late hours you want in a resort. Outdoor fireplaces near each building with sofas to relax. Fun decor, tho more early YMCA than 50's retro. Loved the beds and the funky light fixtures. Superior bathroom and vanity fixtures. Pet and kid friendly, as well as young people and seniors. Everybody was cool. Well situated right near the sparkly boutique and restaurant area. Superior coffee house next door, as well as a very delicious restaurant on site. Great oatmeal. New Years was a scene with a gourmet ($$$$) feed and an LA record company providing a series of bands for late night entertainment, by ticket only.

Room Tip: First floor rooms near the reception and right across from the larger pool seemed really the best. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraF742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle L, Manager at Ace Hotel and Swim Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thanks Sara. Hope you'll come back and see the changes underway.
Glad you had a good time on NYE.
Cheers!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.4 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#12 of 74 in Palm Springs
295 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,948 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#36 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel and Swim Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel and Swim Club

Address: 701 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#25 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $191 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ace Hotel and Swim Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dine at King’s Highway, drink at the Short Bus, late night at the Amigo Room, swim at the Club, massaged in a Mongolian Yurt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Ace Hotel and Swim Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel And Swim
Ace Resort And Swim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing