We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, shame about the noise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

A nice hotel to visit in the week when it is quieter. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon when the weekend party was cooling down! The restaurant at the hotel was fantastic, great fresh quirky sandwiches and breakfasts. Be aware that this is where the young party animals stay and the doors will slam in the early hours of the morning!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 899 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

It doesn't get any better than poolside margaritas (with fresh lime juice) in November. This place was a fantastic post-work week retreat. The room was spacious and clean with lots of wood and a big white cloud-like down comforter. Right outside my door were two lounge chairs, plus a vinyl Chesterfield and ceramic fireplace below for the chilly nights. The bar will even give you a bourbon to go if you want to curl up in front of the fire.

Other pluses include a restaurant adjacent to the hotel, easy parking options, and helpful staff. Everyone I spoke with at the front desk was helpful and assisted me in booking a modern homes tour for one afternoon and in planning a hike through Indian Canyons on another. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jd294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I know palm springs is fruity but this place was over the top.
I brought my 4 year old out from LA to hang out by the pool for the weekend. The pool was very hot almost like a spa! the music by the pool was loud and there was very little staff to assist at the pool until you tried to bring even a coke to the pool,than they were all over you. no outside food or drink at the pool. all bags checked like you were at the airport. The worst part is if you look at the website they say you can have a bar -B -Q if you have a patio room so I upgraded to one and when i called up to the front they said I could not cook my own food but that they could provide someone to do so. The cost to do this was crazy.($50 per hour) What makes me mad is from the store at home I called and asked what type of bbq they had as i didnt want to foget charcol if it wasnt propane.They said not to worry that they provided everything needed. sounded good to me so i bought $100 worth of meats and headed out. When we got there I was greeted at the front desk by the same lady that I spoke with earlier on the phone. i told her that I would be needing a bbq later and she said no problem.Well things didnt work out and when I talked to a mgr to get some help there wasnt any. It was like there was no one person in charge. Unless your twenty something with no kids stay away from this hotel. Jeff

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gater4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel was everything I wanted it to be. They had so many things going on, it made it hard to leave! Each night there was a different band performing in the bar. On Monday's there is bingo in the restaurant, and it is not to be missed! The hostess is hysterical, but be on time and try not to sit in front of the speakers! There are two pools, one which is a constant party and another which is more secluded and subdued. Both pools are open late, and night swimming with the stars there is pretty fantastic. The room was simple, but in its simplicity is luxury. The bed is amazing. The shower a dream. Stay here. Its that simple. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Book in advance!!! We got a 30% off rate for booking a few months early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariemarblehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Two late-20s newlyweds, used to live in Joshua Tree, visited and stayed at the ACE periodically over two years while living in Joshua Tree. Highlights:

-poolside lounging with the dogs (dogs allowed!)
-great margaritas at the Amigo Room (the hotel bar)
-a fun youthful scene in an otherwise rather gray-haired hood.
-riding their beach cruisers around town.

The rooms are spectacularly minimalist, comfortable, and fun; one might find it a little less edgy than the other ACE hotels, but it has its own magic and personality, and they've gone out of their way to source art and designs from local artists (most from Joshua Tree). Take the beach cruisers for a ride down the strip and soak up the sun by the pool. There's nothing quite like it the greater Palm Springs area, and although it can get a little crowded and "sceney" on the weekends from escapees from LA, it's a gem.

My only complaint is that the hipsters seem to have taken it over recently and the cliente has become almost homogeneously, painfully, cliquishly hip. If that's your scene you'll love it.

Room Tip: As if they have any promos going on...sometimes you can get a slight discount just by asking. And de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cholladog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I was looking to recharge and escape the city for a couple of days. Its a short 2 hour drive from Los Angeles to Palm Springs. The idea was to be in a beautiful setting with weather not being to hot, to relax. Plus all of the spas and hot springs in the area has to offer, is worth the drive.

I wanted to be by the pool with my friends and have my dog right beside me. Turns out its hard to find a dog friendly hotel in Palm Springs that allows direct access for dogs in the pool area. So Ace was a big choice on this point alone.

They have great food, spa, a doggie park, free bikes, and you can rent scooters. The main pool is good size and on the weekends they have DJs spinning poolside bar. Its very hipster desert decor with a very minimalist approach. We stayed in a patio room with a fireplace. It was very beautiful at night with the stars sitting on the patio with a nice cocktail in hand with great company (doggie too). That's the way to go at Ace.

Room Tip: If you're looking to lounge all day by the pool with your best doggie beside you...this is the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wavCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We chose to stay here as part of our honeymoon trp after staying at the Ace NYC last year. Initially we were disappointed as both the building and the rooms of the palm springs property do not live up to the cool vibe of the New York branch. A friend of ours contacted the hotel to arrange a champange and fruit basket to celebrate our recent marriage, although the hotel organsed this well, they did not mention or congratulate us on this. We arrived on a thursday and the hotel was very very quiet, the whole of Palm Springs seemed very quiet (summer is off season here - some restuaurant and shops were closed). This was probably highlighted as we had just arrved here after 4 nights in Vegas! We had a standard king room that had plenty of room and a very comfortable bed. I would have preferred a private outdoor space as they would organse a patio bbq for you which sounded nice. The hotel turned out to be good for lounging by the pool in the afternoon. At night we weren't really fans of the DJs / Bands (we're not really into Indie or Hip Hop). On the saturday though, the place really came to life- the pool was very busy and had a good atmosphere in the afternoon. There were also some art activities to take part in, pool aerobics, poolside bbq. It definately was a hip young crowd - didn't really feel part of it. The food was good and reasonable. Although there was a lot of partying / live bands we always slept well. The hotel is too far to walk in the heat to downtown Palm Springs but it is a 5 min drive. We visited the SkyTrail up the Juncinta Mountains - great views & hiking! We also visited the Outlet Malls & Morongo Casino on Intestate 10 as well as enjoying a Hummer Tour of Joshua Tree National Park - highly recommended! Overall, good if you like to sunbathe by the pool with a young crowd.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with outdoor space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.4 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#13 of 75 in Palm Springs
297 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,960 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#36 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel and Swim Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel and Swim Club

Address: 701 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8811
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#25 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $200 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ace Hotel and Swim Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dine at King’s Highway, drink at the Short Bus, late night at the Amigo Room, swim at the Club, massaged in a Mongolian Yurt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Ace Hotel and Swim Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel And Swim
Ace Resort And Swim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing