We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty, unkept hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Monroe Palm Springs
Ranked #49 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Twentynine Palms, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dirty, unkept hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

We arrived to be told "we" had changed our online booking date, which we hadn't. We were informed that as the room we booked was no longer available we would get an upgrade. The upgraded room was in poor condition. I had difficulties turning taps on and off and the room was spacious but very basic (required a trip down to reception to collect coffee and creamer). The staff member in reception was rude and unhelpful. Would not stay again.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanMaree1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    122
    67
    15
    18
See reviews for
69
114
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Excellent location and very friendly staff, the beds were fine, however the place was not very clean in general. Overall good experience.

Room Tip: Get this hotel if you only care about a clean bed and free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed here for one night and chose this hotel due to price and location. Got a great deal on the room, was a smoking room and it was horrible. Bed had a mattress protector on it which made me feel like I was sleeping on a trash bag. There is a fridge and safe, no microwave or hair dryer (so bring your own) Location was great, being close to downtown. Seemed a little shady with those staying there also. A bunch of teenagers running in and out of rooms during weird hours of the night. I should have paid a few more dollars to get a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CA_Shanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Was in Palm Springs for a weekend to play in a softball tournament, so all we really needed was a place that was somewhat inexpensive, clean and comfortable to sleep and that would allow pets. Location to the fields where we would be playing was a secondary concern. After some time checking out the internet discount travel websites, I came across this hotel. Finding a decent hotel at a good price in this desert resort town on the weekend was very challenging.

The price for this hotel was under $100 a day and I got what I paid for...a relatively clean and quiet place to sleep that would allow our dog to stay with us. There were no surprises at check-in and we got exactly the type of room we requested. My initial reaction when I entered the room was that it was large enough, relatively clean and did not smell. The beds did not sag, but I have slept on a more comfortable bed. The AC worked fine and was not overly noisey. The pool and jacuzzi were clear and clean. The jacuzzi was hot and a very welcome respite after 5 games of softball in one day.

The location of the hotel is about 2 miles north of downtown Palm Springs. It made for a lot less tourist traffic and noise. The hotel is situated between two major roadways in and out of the city, but I did not notice any residual traffic sounds. This may be due to the fact that my hotel room faced the pool and located on the inner area of the hotel.

There are restaurants on either side of the hotel that serve breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well as a 24 hour 7/11 within a couple minutes walk from the hotel.

The morning breakfast consisted of muffins, yogurt, and juices. They were fresh and tasty. Only two small tables in the loby to sit at, so I took it back to the room.

This is definitely a budget hotel. Can it use a face lift...yes...could the beds be more comfortable...yes...could it be cleaner....yes...but is it the worst place to stay ...not really...in the end...You Get What You Pay For!!

Room Tip: I would suggest the pool facing rooms on the second floor. They seemed to be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is the absolute worst place EVER!!!! I never felt so unsafe in my life! The police were there when my friend arrived and as I arrived they were coming again! DO NOT TAKE CHILDREN TO THIS PLACE!!! Being dirty was not as the worst part! I felt bad for the coach roaches that live there!!!! Please, if you value your family and their well being, do not stay in this dive with the rudest people in the office! Barbara and Peter need some PR skills! UNSAFE, DIRTY, RUDE!!! If there was way to give negative ratings, this would be a negative 100!!! So, Run, Don't Walk far away from this so called Inn!!!!

Room Tip: DON'T Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

I booked a room online for the night of March 12, 2011. An hour later someone from the hotel called to say the online system was incorrect and that they were sold out. When my credit card statement came the next month, I was still charged for the room. I contacted them, but they claimed they weren't sold out that night and that I must have just forgotten that I booked the room. HA. I had to call about a dozen hotels that day to find another room because everywhere was sold out, so no I DID NOT FORGET and YES they were sold out.

I am now fighting the charge with my credit card company. BEWARE OF THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwr4msu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at a ABVI located at 1900 North Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA, US 92262.

We will NEVER stay there or another ABVI again. It was an awful experience.
1. We requested non-smoking and although we were in a non-smoking room, it smelled like smoke, there were cigarette burns in the comforter and sheets, and it was surrounded by smoking rooms (what is the point of non-smoking).

2. Our reservation specified that our room would have a mini fridge- which it did not have. Also we were supposed to have "free wi-fi", again, this was NOT an amenity. Our reservation specified that our room would come with a microwave, and it did not.

3. The entire building including the rooms were dirty. There was a leak in the ceiling that they tried to paint over- I would be willing to bet that mold was growing in the walls.

4. The service was horrendous! The woman at the front desk “Barbara” absolutely REFUSED to let us check in at 2:30, because check-in time was 3pm. We asked housekeeping if there were rooms available, and they told us that there were plenty of rooms that were clean and ready for check-in. Instead, Barbara hung up on us when we called to see if we could check-in early and when we arrived at 2:30 she allowed a 7 month pregnant woman to stand in the lobby for 30 minutes because she had to make her point that check-in was 3pm. When we questioned her on the status of available and clean rooms, her response was “I don’t care, this is the rule and you are not special.” When I asked if I could speak with a supervisor she told me that she was the supervisor and the owner and that I was “out of luck.”

5. Lastly, as if our experience was not bad enough, we were in our room and about 3AM the loudest screeching noise started to come from the walls. The hotel must have a problem with the plumbing because from our room (235) the pipes in the walls whistled and screeched ALL NIGHT…from 3am until check out at 11am. When we complained about the noise we were told that they were sold out and they didn’t have any solution for the noise and they “didn’t know what we were talking about.” When we asked for a discount at check-out we were told “no” that is what you agreed to pay.

I was EXTREMELY unhappy with my stay with ABVI

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikki91701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
3.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#42 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#31 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
1.6 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#21 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#46 of 71 in Palm Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
3.2 mi away
Caliente Tropics Resort
Caliente Tropics Resort
#40 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monroe Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monroe Palm Springs

Property: The Monroe Palm Springs
Address: 1900 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-2920 (Formerly Palm Springs Super 8 Lodge)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Monroe Palm Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monroe Palm Springs is ideally located within walking distance of the Designer District and only minutes from Downtown Palm Springs. Exciting Palm Springs has been a favorite getaway for celebrities and is rich with Hollywood History both past and present. A great destination for all and something to offer everyone including amazing World Class Golf Courses, Spas, Casinos, Nightlife, Celebrity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Monroe Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing