We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, but beware of car break ins”
Review of Vista Mirage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vista Mirage
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great property, but beware of car break ins”
Reviewed April 29, 2007

Our family of 4 stayed at this complex for a week in April and enjoyed it. They had 2 pools which were perfect with lots of chairs. A few more umbrellas would have been nice. I did figure out by the 2nd day to get to the pool early and stake out a few chairs as it filled up quickly. The room was a very large 2 bedroom which was stocked adequately. There was no view, but the upper level room had a small outside patio where we could store bikes, etc. The door to the patio did not have a lock. Our biggest disappointment was with the security of the parking lot. Though it is a gated parking lot there were one to two cars broken into each night. The cars parked in the small garages seemed to be targeted the most. And, the office staff did not inform us of this, my husband was told by the security guard he got to chatting with. We parked every night on the street and had no problem. But, I would not leave ANYTHING in the car.

  • Liked — great location and amenities
  • Disliked — car break ins
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bdflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    46
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
66
32
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tiburon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2007

Vista Mirage is a nice resort with clean, neat rooms, a tennis court, swimming pool and continental breakfast. Rooms are nicely appointed. However, the gated, key-accessible parking lot has been broken into dozens of times and the management has done nothing to make the lot more secure. Our locked and alarmed car was broken into twice despite the fact that there was nothing in the passenger compartment and many items of value were taken from the trunk. We spoke to several others whose cars were also broken into two different times. The police told me they have come to the resort numerous times and that the resort needs to provide more security and safety.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank footlooseTiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2007

We stayed a week at Vista Mirage and were surprised at how nice the condo is. It is a spacious 2 bedroom with a full and well equiped kitchen. The master bedroom had a very comfortable king bed. I would recommnd the ground floor because of the two private patios, one at the entrance and one off the master BR and the living room. As others have mentioned, there is no view. We entertained 8 for dinner and had plenty of room in the dining area. The grounds were very well kept and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We did not use the pool or spa but other guests were there daily. We also liked the parking area with small covered garages, our van fit nicely. The grounds are gated and we felt very secure. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank badelprete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2006

we are a family of 5 travelling for 3 weeks through US, mid Sept/oct. from Australia. I wanted to spend a couple of days in palm Springs, on the way to Anaheim.
Well what a gem, large 2 bedroom unit all facilities lovely pool just outside our door. Previous reviews have described the features accurately. The place was pretty quiet when we were there, hardly saw anyone in the pool.

There is a large public library around the corner near Ralphs supermarket, with free internet terminals for public use.

Again a wonderful relaxing and cheap place to stay.

  • Liked — location, cleaniness, facilities, relaxing
  • Disliked — no public internet terminal.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank aussietraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2006

We stayed here for 2 weeks mid to late July.

Having taken directions from the AAA online this brought us to the wrong area and it took a while for us to find the accommodation (which is on the corner of Ramon Road if you also have the same problem!!)
We were told on arrival not to use the garages at the back as they had had some "break-ins" and to park on the road outside.
Check in was easy and the accommodation itself was very nice. For the two of us maybe a bit big!!!
The balconies were a disappointment, safe for children but I could not see over the top without standing on a chair.
Rubbish was often dumped along the walkways by people in the accommodations and not collected til later in the day which was a shame in heat of 120 degrees.
Location was great, just a short stroll to Ralphs to stock up the large fridge freezer (well large by uk standards!!). A short drive to the centre of Palm Springs....
The pools were a little warm (mind you the outside temperatures were very high). Also groups of adults playing catch over your head while you were trying to swim was not fun. Our last night we had a large party taking place below us with music blaring and lots of people milling around the pools. There was also a lack of shading (only 2 umbrellas around each pool) to go with the seating - and the drinks machine ate my money and there was no way of getting it back!!!
Watch out on check out if you have paid in advance. They were not "on duty" when we left (although they should have been) and I had to leave a note. So they took the money again which I found out when I got home to the UK. They did rectify it quickly however and I even got a postal apology.
This all said we felt it was a good place to stay, the quality of the accommodation itself was high and the staff (when we did see them) seemed very friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank Ilovepalmsprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2006

We stayed at the Vista Mirage in Palm Springs during the last week of July, 2006. Below normal summer temps made the weather very tolerable.

The resort is gated (very nice and secure) with pleasing, manicured landscaping. The rooms (we stayed in a 2-bedroom unit, using our timeshare privilege) were spacious and well kept-up. Accessibility to wireless internet around the lobby and pool area was a huge plus. Staff was responsive to any needs.

We didn't spend a whole lot of time on site, but the time we did spend was by the pool and hot tub. Very scenic view of the Santa Rosa Mountains from poolside.

The resort is very close to the airport (less than 2 miles) and downtown Palm Springs, where the Thursday night Street Festival is held. Palm Canyon Blvd is only 6 blocks away, which provides easy access to the neighboring suburbs of Cathedral City, Rancho Mirage and Palm Desert. All in all, very enjoyable.

  • Liked — Easy access to area
  • Disliked — No washer/dryer in room
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank yotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#24 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,572 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#36 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,745 reviews
2.1 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#41 of 73 in Palm Springs
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Mirage

Property: Vista Mirage
Address: 400 S Hermosa Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-7790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vista Mirage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vista Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Mirage Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing