We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney,Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Having read many of the reviews on Trip Advisor about The Willows I can only but echo the superlatives expressed.
My wife and I spent four nights there starting February 8,2013. We had been looking for somewhere convenient to LA ,a place to relax and also explore and so settled on Palm Springs.After reviewing the many options,which appeared to largely cater to golfers, we decided on The Willows.We absolutely loved the experience which was much more akin to staying in a (wealthy) friends home than a small hotel.We stayed in the Loft room which was spacious,airy,bright and had wonderful views.Brushing your teeth while watching hummingbirds hover at the waterfall on the property was quite a treat! As noted by others the only downside in this room was the lack of a fixed shower head,but this was a minor inconvenience.
As noted by other reviewers we found the staff exceptional.Friendly,knowledgeable and gracious.We loved the evening "happy hour" with the choice of two red and two white wines accompanied by delicious hors d'ouevres.And then there were the breakfasts! Served adjacent to the waterfall,silver service,three course,different everyday.Delightfully delicious.
The hotel is very well situated being adjacent to the excellent Modern Art Museum and only a short walk to the centre of town yet very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwayswandering002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
134
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We normally avoid bed and breakfast properties, but this one is truly a gem. From the moment we arrived and received a warm welcome from Steve we felt completely at home. The Rock Room was splendid. The service is impeccable and the secluded grounds are truly lovely. Where else can you sit on the same bench that Einstein sat on many times! We really enjoyed meeting other guests at the wine receptions. The restaurant directly across the street (La Vallauris) is fantastic. We just got home and can't wait to go back to The Willows again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurie087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

From the unique rooms to the stunning common areas to the beautiful grounds to the accommodating staff to the wonderful food, our weekend at The Willows was simply perfect! The location is a very convenient easy walk to downtown Palm Springs' restaurants, shopping, and museums, yet the inn feels like a secluded private hideaway. Well worth the price.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 43323Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I already loved Palm Springs enough... now I've found the perfect getaway spot.

By chance I happened upon this historic, cozy, high end, luxurious inn - and after 3 nights I didn't want to leave. From beginning to end I was in awe of the grounds, the kindness of the staff, the amenities, and oh my goodness... the food!

The three course breakfast is divine and the entire experience oozes luxury and comfort. The pool is gorgeous and perfectly situated, and the rooms are each unique, and fantastic. You won't want to leave the high thread count bedding, and the ridiculous mattresses.

Another high point is that we were walking distance from the heart of Palm Springs and all that it has to offer, so you can park and explore without needing to drive everywhere. I suggest the brief hike to gain a view of the PS vistas from the top of the waterfall.

I could gush about this place all day, but it's one of those places you simply need to experience for yourself, I just hope it doesn't become ::too:: popular so we can't get reservations again.

Big bonus points to anybody who surprises their significant other to a getaway here! :)

Room Tip: Stayed in the Palm Room, but I have a feeling that all of them are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LK A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

A private retreat 2 blocks off Palm Canyon in downtown Palm Springs that takes you back to the charm & elegance of past history. From the beautiful décor to the peaceful waterfall off the dining area, this inn will satisfy that desire to experience what relaxing in Palm Springs should be like. The staff is attentive, yet non-intrusive and the beds are as good as it gets! Reminiscent of a sunny Villa in Italy, this is not to be missed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great experience at the Willows. We stayed in the Einstein room. The room was large with a great bathroom and a private patio. The common areas and outside patios were very nice. It is close enough to downtown to walk, but it also has a beautiful view of the mountains. The staff was wonderful and very attentive. We enjoyed the gourmet breakfast on vintage china with silver service in the dining room that overlooks a waterfall. We met and enjoyed talking to the other guests during the wine and hor d'oeuvres reception each night. It was a repeat visit for most of the other guests and we can see why. The Willows is a class operation and it did not disappoint. We will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linadal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
studio city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I took my girlfriend for a romantic weekend some twelve years ago....

Now married eleven years we go back as often as we can.

Superlatives are the only way to describe this hotel,
from the discrete attentive staff to the Luxurious bed linens.


The morning silver service breakfast overlooking a waterfall is beyond compare....

All this with complimentary appetizers & wine in the evening!

Quiet & luxurious, do not miss this gem, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our favorite is the Einstein garden room, however all the rooms are wonderful & unique to this b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kenneth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.7 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#14 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
0.7 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
1.9 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Property: The Willows
Address: 412 W. Tahquitz Canyon Way, Palm Springs, CA 92262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Willows 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vacation at The Willows Historic Palm Springs Inn feels like a visit to a friend's country estate; or rather, an acquaintance who has welcomed some very famous friends into their home over the years. Nestled among stunning mountain vistas, The Willows Historic Palm Springs Inn has been a Hollywood favorite for nearly a century. Today, this Mediterranean villa has been meticulously restored to its original elegance of the 1930s. Mahogany-beamed ceilings and natural stone fireplaces are accented by modern amenities such as complimentary high-speed wireless,in-room DVD players and iPod docking stations. A three-course gourmet breakfast next to the waterfall and nightly wine and hors d'oevres are included in the rate, making for an exceptional value. Tour the extensive gardens or relax by the pool. From the luxurious comforters and Egyptian cotton towels, no detail has been overlooked in this secluded desert oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willows Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing