We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Adventure Hummer Tours
from $149.00
More Info
from $189.00
More Info
from $199.00
More Info
from $299.00
More Info
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveler rating
450
63
26
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
450
63
26
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews joshua tree national park off road san andreas fault mojave desert sunset tour great tour guide jeff an excellent guide yucca valley back roads recommend this trip his knowledge thousand palms oasis fault line flora and fauna private tour high desert
Filter
Updating list...
493 - 498 of 566 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Marvellous tour . Lewis, our guide, was excellent. Well informed, interesting and extremely friendly, courteous and caring. Picked up from hotel. First stop on the tour was the San Andreas fault, which was amazing and an easy walk. The ride up to the Joshua tree park was very good, but the journey back was amazing. Lewis took us a little further to see more of a view. Sampled Californian dates and given plenty of water. Bill was very helpful and accommodating when we had to reschedule and we were very grateful for that. All in all a wonderful experience.

Date of experience: July 2012
2  Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I am not an early riser on a vacation, but am glad I made the effort for this trip. I have been to Palm Springs several times and am glad we went off the beaten path and did this tour. We went into an oasis and heard amazing stories about the history of the place from our extremely knowledgeable and very humorous guide, Rob. We then were jostled pretty heavily as we went throught some very rocky terrain to get to Joshua Tree National Park. We saw some great stuff from our vantage point. We very much enjoyed hearing about the fauna and the history of the the valley, the dessert and then of course, Joshua Tree. If you like to know about the area you are visiting and like hearing great stories with a lot of history, you want to spend a few hours with Rob. If you don't like the dessert, think there's nothing to see or you don't like a very bouncy ride, this is NOT for you. Rob Black is a great guide- ask for him and you won't be disappointed (he provides not just the tour provided granola bars and water, but other snacks, wet towels and a photo album so you know what to look for on the tour).

Date of experience: June 2012
2  Thank got2golf65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our guide, Rob, was very knowledgeable and friendly, but the trip was definitely not worth $140 each. It's basically just a 4-wheel drive tour into the desert. Enjoyed the trip but felt cheated.

Date of experience: June 2012
6  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

The areas explored by our Hummer tour are areas that an ordinary 4 wheel drive tour cannot explore.The cost of our tour is actually less then what local Jeep companies will charge for a van tour of Joshua Tree National Park. We also take pride that we charge and much less then the average Hummer tour in other parts of the country. The costs of this tour for our company are quite enormous as they include sizable costs for running a Hummer as well as entrance fees in the areas explored.

Despite the guests simple annoyance of cost, we appreciate this guests submission of photos including that of our guide Rob who is a trained professional with the Desert Institute. Our guides are the highest paid in the Desert as we do not cut corners for either the equipment or the quality of the driver/guides we train for this tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Rob, our guide, was wonderful! His personal experiences and tales were the highlights of the trip. He made the desert come to life and forced us to become more watchful of the critters and respectful of the fauna as we drove through the desert. On a hot day he supplied cold water and granola bars for our break, and his wife even cut up some sweet watermelon for us to consume at break time. We had children on our trip, and he related to them and asked them questions along the way. His personal photobooks helped to understand what creatures to look for as well as those that he has seen on these trips. His love of the desert and what it holds for us was quite evident . . . a good way to spend the morning on a hot day. Would recommend a hat, sturdy shoes and sunscreen.

Date of experience: June 2012
2  Thank MPitt618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We are still talking about this adventure tour! The open air ride to the oasis was a great way to start our morning tour. Rob, our guide was funny and informative. The trip to Joshua Tree took us through beautiful and challenging terrain even for the H1. We heard stories of the area and stopped to look closer at critters and fauna. It is a feast for your eyes. The 4 + hour trip and the summer weather requires sun protection and hydration. Not too much water though as there is no access to bathrooms after leaving the oasis.

Date of experience: June 2012
3  Thank Cher_Erie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews