We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Improving, but still not there yet..”
Review of Canyon Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canyon Club Hotel
USA
Level Contributor
213 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Improving, but still not there yet..”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Canyon Club continues to improve and to provide one of the better values in Palm Springs. Being able to walk to Arenas Road is a big plus and there are many nice restaurants along the way, including Jakes. The new play area behind the office and the park labyrinth opposite corner of the property certainly make it an interesting place although I would estimate about half the guests there are couples. Room cleanliness has improved noticeably over the years although there is an urgent need for a plumber and electrician. The bathrooms, in particular, need lots of work as they have been remodeled several times leaving gaping holes around the pipes, etc. Although the rooms look attractive when you first enter, you quickly realize the property still needs much work. There are no in-room safes here which is unfortunate. And speaking of unfortunate, the breakfast is hardly impressive. Lots of pre-wrapped pastries that are put out the night before and there’s’ very little in the fresh department. Then there’s the pool furniture, some of which is in disrepair and hopefully will soon be replaced. But given the price and the facilities, I can certainly recommend Canyon Club, especially for single guys looking for a little action but a little privacy as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1NicePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    50
    24
    9
    13
See reviews for
1
49
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

I stayed at the Canyon Club Hotel in Palm Springs from March 23rd to April 6th, 2011. It was the best 2-week vacation I've had in a long time. First, the owners, John & Chris, constantly work hard to make the hotel better. They really care, and are open to suggestions. On top of that, they are a couple of fun guys with a great sense of humor. Secondly, they have an amazing staff working there. Absolutely everyone is caring and very personable. I had excellent assistance from the Front Desk staff........Jose, Tony, and Terry. They were also fun to talk to. The housekeeping staff make sure you have everything you need, and do a great job cleaning. They are Jeff, Porfy, and Armando. I'm glad to have met them during my stay. The hotel's swimming pool is the center piece attraction......clean and refreshing. They have lots of chairs to relax in, surrounding the pool. What a great way to enjoy the sensational Palm Springs sunshine. An added feature is the grassy backyard property. It's like having your home backyard while on vacation. Lots of trees and greenery, a little pond, and more chairs throughout the yard if you prefer to enjoy the sun away from the pool. Rounding out everything is the freedom to be nude everywhere on the property (except the Front Lobby). My room was very comfortable and peaceful. I slept very well. I plan to return next year, same time. Thank you everyone for making my vacation special! .......Peter.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcnewfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We have stayed at Canyon Club 4 times and each time it gets better. John and Chris, the owners, are wonderful and very friendly. Rooms are great, pool is awesome. Coming back again in mid March 2011, can't wait to get there. Great value for the money, lots of fun times and new friends each time we come from Chicago. Keep up the good work Chris and John. All of your hard work really shows!
Chuck and John Orland Park, Il

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Thank you Canyon Club Hotel for making this Thanksgiving Holiday
an absolute dream. Upon arrival Wednesday night, I was greeted by the owner as he decorated a gorgeous Christmas tree. The lobby smelled of Cinnamon and spices. I was then escorted to my room which was impeccably prepped. I have to say that I haven't slept so well in ages: such a comfortable bed and absolute silence makes for the perfect refuge. It's sunny today and the pool and secret garden lounging is ideal. I've already book a suite for New Years Eve. Thanks again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenyonMarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

I had to cancel my reservation last summer and it took almost eight months to get my deposit back. They kept saying they couldn't find my reservation. I finally had to get help from the credit card company in order to retrieve my original deposit. Either the hotel's financial records are in complete disarray, the staff is completely incompetent or they will do anything to not return your money. So be careful...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ILPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

This review is primarily based on a DAY USE ONLY stay, therfore more geared toward the facilities only. I did get a great look though at the actual room accomodations and they seemed to be quite clean, comfortable, and a great value for the prices quoted online. We were attending a private event this past weekend and this was my very first trip to the area. The grounds were very nicely manicured attention to comforts is clearly evident. The level of cleanliness did leave a bit to be desired. Dirty pool furniture with stained cushions on the lounge chairs. I did not see any type of pool area attendent and so no one enforced the "shower off before entering the pool" rules; as a result the pool water really was quite disgusting. The garden/maze area was very nice although in the later evening way too dark. I would put up some string lights along the maze perimeter just to alluminate the area slightly and prevent anyone for falling. Overall this seemed like an ok place and would consider coming back and staying overnight.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perpendxular78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix az
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I have stayed at numerous gay resorts in PS over the years. Discovered Canyon Club about 3 years ago. It has come a long way since. Rooms are beautiful, clean, comfortable big beds. Staff is excellent and very friendly. John and Chris never fail to make me laugh. It has perfect mix of guests too. I love it here- never want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dag1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Springs
1.7 mi away
INNdulge
INNdulge
#4 of 42 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.6 mi away
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
#15 of 42 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
#8 of 42 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
5.9 mi away
CCBC Resort Hotel
CCBC Resort Hotel
#3 of 6 in Cathedral City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#3 of 42 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Club Hotel

Property: Canyon Club Hotel
Address: 960 N Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-4422
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Canyon Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing