We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Holiday Vacation”
Review of Warm Sands Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Warm Sands Villas
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Holiday Vacation”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The staff was very helpful. The grounds are very pleasant. The wine and cheese get togethers in the evenings were a great way to meet other guests. I found the hot tub very relaxing. We had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    38
    9
    16
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
69
69
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our second stay at WSV, we thought the first could not have been better, we were wrong. The setting is serene with great landscaping and magical view of the mountains and a large pool.
The staff is outstanding and the owners make sure that customer service is the heart of the resort. Alex and Virgil never hesitated to meet our needs. A special shout out to Frank who is a cornerstone of the resort, smart, kind and willing to go the extra mile to meet a request. Free wine happy hour every night is not to be missed.
The rooms are spacious, the bed comfortable and clean. The furnishings were modest and functional. If you are looking for super plush vs. comfortable, this is not the resort for you. But if you want warm, open and inviting with a bit of history, this is it.
The rooms are not insulated so sound does travel occasionally.
Thank you boys, we will be back. Ceton and Jeff from Wichita

Room Tip: Rooms by the Jacuzzi are best for the party people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ICTguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I love this place. It's very warm and friendly. The room, pool, hottub, and grounds are all lovely. The best part are the other guests and the owners (and the cute doggie -- Kapper). I made some good friends this weekend. The daily wine/cheese hour(s) is a lot of fun. The breakfast could be made a little nicer (the pastry isn't great), but there is plenty of selections, and overall is just fine. I will definately return!

Room Tip: My room faced the back and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karpjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Over the last twenty-years I have always stayed at Warm Sands Villas when I visit Palm Springs. The staff has always been helpful and friendly, and the rooms have always been clean. I feel I can relax from my hectic job here. An ample, continental style breakfast is available for guests. Each time I visit, I notice improvements. An earlier review spoke of "box televisions". Actually, the Villas have flat screen televisions. When I visit, I always choose a room with kitchen so I can self cater if I
so choose. Finally, the Villas are located close to central Palm Springs and all it has to offer. For all these reasons, I give Warm Sands five-stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plumspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I've stayed at the Warm Sands Villas several times over the years, and it's a fairly nice place to stay in Palm Springs. That said, some parts of the property could use a little TLC. The cement around the pool is showing its age, and is a little rough on the bottom of bare feet. Some pool tiles are missing as well.

The room is comfortable, and the tile floor is very nice. However, the venetian blinds didn't close all the way, and the drain in the bathtub was very slow. These little details need some attention. The owner and front-desk people were extremely friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was nice. The place really shines at night, when the tiki torches are lit and the strung lights above the pool area go on. Part of the reason it looks so nice is that the darkness hides some of the flaws.

I was there in late November, and the pool water was very cold. I don't know if the heater was off or broken, but no one stayed in the pool for very long because of the temperature. Also, the jacuzzi broke while I was there, which was a bummer. To the owner's credit, he had someone out the next day to fix it.

I've stayed at many worse hotels in Palm Springs, but there are also better choices. I would recommend in order: The Hacienda, Santiago and then the Warm Sands Villas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LongBeachTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

As ever a wonderful welcome by all the staff. A great stay again - first time in October too. We enjoyed some fabulous weather for relaxing by the pool. Sitting round the fire-pit with wine and nibbles before going out for dinner was a regular pleasure. And night sky viewing whilst in the hot tub was a great way to end the evenings. We had a fire in the room but never needed it!

We'll be going back again in 2013.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The property is first rate. The rooms (and the beds) are very good. The managers and owners are very nice. Breakfast was adequate and there is a dining room to eat (if it's too cold or too hot outside). I chose to have my coffee looking at the mountains and they have a fantastic view. There is even an additional view on top of one of the rooms.
I was surprised as I started to juimp into the hot tub (this is clothing optional) and found the lady house keeper looking at me. I went back to room. It was awkward. I am sure she has seen it all and doesn't care.
The pool was heated but it was still cold. The owners drained it while we were there (the do it once a year) and we were allowed to go swim across the street. Their pool was warmer.
Evenings were nice with the fire pit going to enjoy the heat (in November at 6 pm it is kind of chilly). That was the highlight of the stay there - the evenings at social hour.
November after Thanksgiving things tend to get quiet at all the resorts. Very few people during the week. I tend to like being around people. That is part of the fun of staying at the resorts. By the weekend there were a few extra people. This might not be the best time of year to go to Palm Springs . Prices are better this time of year though.
Will I come back to Wamr Sands Villas? This is probably one of the better resorts. It might be better here for couples than a single guy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the hot tub if you enjoy that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
854 reviews
0.9 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#3 of 42 in Palm Springs
440 reviews
1.9 mi away
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
#8 of 42 in Palm Springs
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
#15 of 42 in Palm Springs
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warm Sands Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warm Sands Villas

Property: Warm Sands Villas
Address: 555 S Warm Sands Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-7632
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warm Sands Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Sands Villas an enchanting resort in heart of Warm Sands neighborhood is very close to down town Palm Springs. Featuring charming Spanish architecture with today's amenities, Warm Sands Villas is known for its personal, friendly service and value. Large guestrooms feature new premium king beds, travertine floors, and in-room climate control that handles even the hottest days. Wireless internet access property-wide and upgraded amenity options like flat screen televisions. Relax and get sun in lush green expansive courtyard with views of the San Jacinto Mountains, night time by the fire and under an amazing array of stars - come experience desert hospitality our way. Book this private resort for your party, family gathering, wedding or business meeting. This is a great private venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Warm Sands Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warm Sands Villas Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing