We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the DR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We returned to the DR for our second annual winter break from Oregon's wet and dreary winter. We discovered the DR in 2010 and loved the entire experience. And even though we were unable to get our fav room this time, the stay was again great. Hard to beat floating in the large 90-92 degree pool all day with no crowds, no kids, and beautiful surroundings.
BTW, The owner of DR, Larry, has recently purchased and additional hotel (Hotel California) just down the street and we expect that the new hotel will be just a friendly in it's own way.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrprich9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,308 - 1,314 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2011

While preparing for my upcoming trip to Palm Springs (in less than two weeks) I realized I hadn't written my TripAdvisor comments about my last stay! It was Fantastic! we stayed in our favorite room (room 9), the weather was great and as usual Patty, Larry, Judy and Steve made our stay Fabulous! They could teach a course on "How to do it right!" Anything I can say has already been said, so what I will say is believe it! I've stayed at some of the best hotels in the country and the Desert Riviera Hotel is my favorite to come back to! This coming trip will be my sixth and I can't think of any place I'd rather go to! (the fact I'm escaping three feet of snow and sub-zero temps in minnesota might have a little to do with it too)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sclem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

There aren't enough words to describe this place...it was the most relaxing trip I've ever had hands down! Within 4 hours of arriving we already booked a room for the same time next year. Within an hour of arriving home from our vacation we booked another trip in April! I think that speaks for itself. We feel like part of the Desert Riviera family. Thanks Larry, Patty, Steve, Judy and all the rest of the staff! We'll see you again in three months!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyintheSun526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

The Desert Riviera and the folks working there have become an integral part of our PS vacations. We look forward to the warm welcome and the at-home atmosphere. It is obvious why so many guests are returning guests. The hotel and its amenities show great attention to detail. But Larry and his team are what make this place truly special. We have seen the plans of their new hotel, the Hotel California and it looks really promising- will our loyalty be divided? The best thing we can say about this hotel is that while we have attempted to purchase a condo, we really can't imagine staying anywhere but here while in PS.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BYJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I was looking for a nicely rated place to stay in Palm Springs. The Desert Riviera Hotel came up. How can you go wrong with that many 5 star reviews.

We were out in CA with our college sons for the Rose Bowl and a week of leisure. The hotel did not have the room available that would accommodate us all, so they offered us two rooms at the price the larger room would been. Very nice.

The grounds are meticulously maintained The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Free Internet. A vast DVD library for free use. Warm pool. They even fired up the grill for us.

Great place to stay.

Thanks!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scamquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Our week here began with us being picked up at the airport in a limo by the owner Larry, who greeted us with a smile, a handshake and a laugh. This set the tone for the whole stay - everything was just so, and yet utterly unpretentious, open and friendly. The hospitality was amazing, and really must be experienced to be believed. You can tell that running this place is the passion of the people who work here. There were so many 'little extras' that made our stay stand out - from a common room where you can grab a cup of hot coffee or piece of fruit, a novel or a dvd to watch in your suite to a bowl of goodies and a couple of sodas and bottles of water in the fridge - all provided free of charge. The rooms and pool were immaculate, and we would not think of staying with anyone else. We were already planning our return trip as we were leaving!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPRandSEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Having read previous reviews on this hotel I didn't think it could possibly live up to it's reputation - but it certainly did! Many thanks to Judy & the team for making our stay so memorable - we would have loved to stay longer!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traineebiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,602 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 75 in Palm Springs
199 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#13 of 75 in Palm Springs
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $235 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing