We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed staying at the Desert Riviera”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
1 review
“Enjoyed staying at the Desert Riviera”
Reviewed July 16, 2007

We stayed at the Desert Riviera Hotel in April. The hotel is newly remodeled. The rooms had a very nice kitchen, comfortable bed, and bright clean bathroom. The decor is contemporary. The staff was very friendly, helping us select a room, setting up dinner reservations when we arrived. They even have a limo to take you around town if you like doing that sort of thing. Altogether, a very nice stay.

  • Liked — Nicely furnished rooms. Very clean and modern
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Arrow_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,804
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
180
1,335
54
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2007

For the first time ever I dreaded going home from vacation. I love vacationing, but enough is enough at a certain point. Two days before I had to leave the Desert Riveria I was very sad. I have been many places and I have never received treatment like I have received from Larry, Patty & Judy. They really have the making of great hotel owners (They should teach seminars). It was my girlfriend's birthday and she loved it. She is a very outgoing person and during this vacation all she wanted to do is stay in the hotel and relax. This place has everything you will ever want from a hotel. Come on now, how many hotel have a BBQ grill for their patrons? How many hotels have free bikes for you to take on a mini tour of the city? How many hotels give you a complimentary limo ride to an eating place of your choice? We also found that the hotel modest on it's website as far as amenitiesgo. They didn't mention the incredible star shaped showerhead each room has. This place really made us feel at home. I would strongly suggest anyone reading this review select Desert Riveria as there next hotel when in Palm Springs.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — not one single thing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bward2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Nuys
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2007

We were looking for someplace relaxing to spend our wedding anniversary and came across Desert Riviera's website. We checked out the reviews and decided to go for it! And we have no regrets.

We loved every moment of our stay. The owners and staff were friendly and made us feel right at home. With few rooms, every guest can receive individual attention!

When we arrived there was a welcome basket with treats and goodies. The fridge was stocked with complimentary water and cool drinks. There was a room with hot coffee throughout the day, newspapers and magazines. They also had a small DVD collection. And they provide free local, long distance and to our surprise, even international calls.

We loved the pool especially by night when they put out little candles and made it so beautiful. We were also given an ice pail and jar to have cool drinks by the pool. We had a great time riding their tandem bike during the cool evenings. We definitely recommend the relaxing in-room massages by Pleasann and don't forget to book the complimentary limousine ride to dinner!

The rooms and grounds are very neat and well-maintained. It looks like a small resort island once you step inside the premises.

We'll definitely go back if we get a chance!

Joel & June

  • Liked — Hospitable service
  • Disliked — None..
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jnj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

We had never been to Palm Springs before and looked at many hotels before deciding on the Desert Riviera. And we were so happy we chose to stay there! First, it was easy to find, right on the main drag, but far enough away from the heart of downtown so that noise is not a problem. When we checked in, Judy made us feel welcome and gave us recommendations for dinner and breakfast. We tried a couple of her recommendations and they were good -- exactly what we were looking for.

Then we went to our room -- Wow! Everything was spotless and the room was spacious, with cool but comfortable retro 50's decor. Every evening and morning we took a dip in the pool -- they keep it very clean and there are lots of pretty flowers planted all over. After spending a day out hiking at Joshua Tree it was so nice to return to the hotel and relax by the pool.

If you happen to stay there on a Thursday, be sure to check out the street fair downtown in the evening. Larry can even arrange for the hotel's limo to take you down there and bring you back. My husband and I enjoyed sitting by the pool talking with Judy and Larry before we ventured down there.

We definitely recommend the Desert Riviera and we look forward to going back again for another get-away!

Charles & Sonya, Fremont CA

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sonchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo Ca
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2007

What can we say….. We are still relaxed and we have been home for 5 days now. It is so hard to explain what a wonderful place this is. For only being open for 5 months, it seems like Larry the owner, and his sister Judy have been doing this for years. The hospitality is so generous and warm. They think of everything to create a romantic getaway to be truly relaxing. From the bottle of Champagne when we arrived to pre booking the golf, the massage, and the 5 star dinner (with limo compliments and driven by Larry). They promised the world and they delivered.

Larry and his wife Patty, really did a wonderful job with the renovation of this 1950’s hotel. In just 80+ days they sent us back in time to a tremendously creative period of modernism. From the original tiled bathrooms, to the décor, and the landscaping.

Watch out Judy…. I will be calling you soon to book our girls weekend!.

Pat & Claire
Camarillo Ca.

  • Liked — I can't put anything one thing above the other.
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank claireht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia,NM
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2007

I was priviledged to stay 3 days at this lovely hotel. The staff are very caring and responsive, the atmoshere is warm ,friendly and inviting.
Very relaxing and beautiful.

  • Liked — the management/attention to detail
  • Disliked — blank
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marge58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,540 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
570 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing