We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Yummy Little Summer Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2010

After reading many amazing reviews here, I just had to experience the Desert Riviera Hotel for myself. I had never been to Palm Springs and my best friend and I were looking for a great place to do a ‘girls wknd’. Larry and his staff did NOT disappoint. A litte harried and lost upon arrival, Larry “talked us in” from the phone and greeted us with frosty beers and warm welcomes. Our room was what I would call the perfect, scrumptious Summer getaway. The pool was completely yummy and inviting as was the hot tub that I took advantage of both mornings. We did the in-room massages with the girls from The Body Center’d and they were amazing. Of course we were thrilled to get to use the hotel’s limo service and went to town in style! There was actually an earthquake while we dined at the elegant Falls Steakhouse – and although the restaurant rocked nobody seemd to care. A true California moment! Later, we chillaxed and watched movies that the front desk offered an array of. The next morning we took the hotel’s cool beach cruisers out for a spin to check out the swanky neighborhoods and golf courses nearby. I was there to see some potential destination wedding spots, so I did see some other hotels during the wknd…and after that, I must say, I was so happy we went with the Desert Riviera ~ of ALL the cool hotels in Palm Springs . . . I already believe this is your IT spot!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayamaiden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,926)
There are newer reviews for Desert Riviera Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,350 - 1,356 of 1,926 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2010

My brand new husband and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon trip, driving from vegas and then heading onto san diego (all easy drives).

We arrived late and were met with a fantasticly friendly welcome by the staff.

There's so much on offer here. Lots of free stuff, which was a welcome relief after vegas, coffee, fruit, a welcome pack of nibbles and drinks, dvd's a book exchange.

All the staff are willing to help you with any queries and advice you may need about the lcoal area.

The premises are also excellent, with high quality rooms and communcal areas, expecially the pool/hot-tub/fire pit area. This is particularly nice at nice, when the hotel owners fire up the BBQ and you can cook you own food with the other guests and chat over the fire pit.

Its one of the nicest places i have ever stayed and will definately return at some point!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

If you are looking for a relaxing, low-key, unpretentious hotel with the most friendly and considerate management anywhere, comfortable rooms, and a terrific pool, then this is the hotel for you. Judy, Larry, Steve and John: thank you all for making us feel right at home and for the terrific restaurant recommendations. We'll be back--hopefully many times. LW & AC

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldharborfryfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I had the chance to stay at the Desert Riviera hotel recently, after having wanted to stay here for so long based on what other reviewers have said. The hotel was well worth the wait.

I was constantly (and pleasantly) surprised by the little details that made the vacation here so effortless and pleasurable - free drinks and snacks, dinner reservations, great pool furniture, well-stocked towels, sun protection, free telephone calls, wireless internet, a masseuse who made you feel totally at-ease... The team at Desert Riviera really think about their guests and how to make us hardened road-warriors go weak at the knees.

The pool is wonderful, the rooms are terrific and well-thought out, but the thing that makes this place so amazing are the people. Judy, Larry, Jay and all the others were like long-lost friends who could not have been more welcoming and friendly. If ever a hotel has lived up to the idea of 'relaxed charm', then this is it.

Don't let the temperatures put you off, this place is fantastic and (as an Australian) the perfect place to sample the very best of American life. No wonder it's the top hotel in the United States. Americans should feel very proud of this place.

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AC-Elite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

I recently stayed here for 8 nights with my wife following 2 nights in Vegas. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it was exactly what were after. All the reviews posted previously will give you a good idea of what to expect, but in short it is a small family run boutique hotel where the owners provide service that is second to none. We went to Palm Springs to relax with good intentions to explore the surrounding area, in fact because we found the hotel so comfortable we spent most of our time by the pool! A very nice hotel perfect for couples who want to chill-out by the pool and explore Palm Springs.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimill007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

I am always happy to comment on the good,but sometimes you have to comment on the bad-that is what tripadvisor is for.
This was a return trip to Desert Riviera for my husband and i.We had spent 6 days in Vegas and this was to be the 'relaxing' part of our holiday.
Having been before we accepted that the accomodation was basic,and the air con noisy,but because of the staff and the pool,we were more than looking forward to it.
We arrived Saturday afternoon,for a 4 night stay.On check-in we were asked by Patti if Larry had informed us of the planned maintenance work around the pool/patio area on the Tuesday(our last full day).He hadn't.
We were a bit taken aback,but hoped it wouldn't be too disruptive.
Patti later told us we hadn't been charged for Tuesday night.
We had concerns at this point but tried to enjoy our time.
Sat/Sun were fine,but on return from dinner on Sunday night Jay told us that the work was being done on Monday AND Tuesday,and there was equipment already in place.
Monday morning we were woken at 7am by gardeners(too early for us on holiday).We sat by the pool,wondering if we were going to be asked to leave.Then more gardening,but now it was REALLY noisy.3 men all with strimmers,mowers,hedge cutters etc-ALL AT ONCE!! And as we were the only guests at this point there was spring cleaning of the rooms,shower curtains hung over the chairs,it was like we weren't there!!
At about 3pm Judy told us someone else was checking in so work wasn't starting that day.
On Tuesday we had been told we needed to be out for the day,and as we had wanted to go on the Aerial Tram,we tried to be co-operative by doing that on Tuesday.
BUT we really felt pushed around,and the main reason for our return visit (the pool)was not available to us.
This was meant to be stress free and relaxing for us,we were driving around in 105 degree heat and all we wanted to do was sit by the pool.
I told Judy how upset we were,and we also told them that we had a long day travelling on Wed,but just to REALLY add insult to injury,on Wed morning at 6.30am the work started again!so noisy,and the pool taped off,so we couldnt even have a quick swim before leaving.
We just couldn't believe it.We packed up and as we left i told Judy how upset and disapponted we were.Larry had left and at NO point did he,as the owner,offer any kind of apology to us.We should have been told before our stay that we would not have full use of facilities for half our stay,and we would have made other arrangements.
The free night was a gesture but we would have rather paid and had the holiday we were expecting.
It is with sadness that i post this review,but our holiday was spoit,and we were let down.Unfortunately i would no longer recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank wendiEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

My partner & I stayed for a week at the Desert Riviera from 19th - 26th May and truly had the most perfect time....everything you read here on TripAdvisor holds good and is spot on.

We were welcomed by Jay on arrival, he had spotted us enter via the gate and came out of the office and greeted us poolside. After a long drive it was great to be offered complimentary beers! We were shown to our King Poolside room and - wow - out of all the rooms we'd stayed in on this trip this was the best. Ultra clean and very retro....and loads and loads of closet space...two "proper" closets so ample space to fully unpack and treat it as home!

As everyone else has said what makes the Desert Riviera so special is the way it is run and the hospitality provided by Patty, Larry, Judy, Jay & Casey. Meeting the other guests was very special too as, with just 10 rooms, the place is such that you get to meet everyone!

The commplimentary stretched limo was a real treat...just reserve in advance what time you'd like to be taken somewhere and it's as simple as that!

Larry & Patty really do encourage you to treat the place as "home", for example when BBQing feel free to use their kitchen to roast your potatos, help yourself to their condiments...etc!

We visit Palm Springs nearly every year and can say, without a doubt, that we'll be back at the Desert Riviera!!

James & Steve
Burgess Hill, UK

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimSouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,566 reviews
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
187 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $199 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing