We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful atmosphere to relax and be productive.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Riviera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
1 review
“What a wonderful atmosphere to relax and be productive.”
Reviewed February 26, 2010

After a hectic prior schedule, coming to the Desert Riviera was like a breath of fresh air. Super convenient location with breathtaking views inspired some of the most creative space for juices to flow.
The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. Our wishes were catered to more than pleasantly and yet we were not hovered over. All of the other guests were so.... just plain happy as well!
What a pleasure to find a business that is run with integrity and service in mind. Our travels take us to many hotels throughout America to find expensive rooms that are common place with added charges at every turn. We run our business using the internet. To have highspeed wireless internet provided at no additional cost as you sit next to a beautiful pool, talking on the hotel's free Voip phone, being treated as if you were family places this small boutique hotel on the top of our list. We only wish that this model was repeated throughout the nation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TakeBackYourHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    64
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
183
1,339
55
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2010

What a great place to stay when in Palm Springs. The hotel is 5 minutes from the downtown area, very convienent to shopping and dining. The staff is very gracious and kind, and were spot-on in their recommendations of where to have meals and travel within Palm Springs.
The grounds are beautifully manicured, and it is an absolutely fantastic place to relax for a few days. We will be coming back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, CA
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Me, my sister and my two brothers took our mom for the weekend to celebrate her 80th birthday. Each of us felt this was the best place we've ever stayed. We entered a door into a little magic garden setting. Once you're inside it's very private and the grounds were immaculate. We were so catered to that we became spoiled. We received great suggestions on restaurants and they offered to call and make reservations if we wished. We were taken to our restaurant in a complimentary limo and to a show the following night. We didn't have to worry about getting lost and we could all drink because we had a driver. Upon returning from our show, the owner brought us a bottle of champagne on ice and flutes to toast our mother. It was all the little details and extras that made this stay so fun and care free. You can get a room anywhere but you can't get such wonderful service as we received at the Desert Riviera. We love Patty & Larry for making our mother's birthday stay, one she will never forget. :-)

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vovvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2010

My wife and I just returned from the Desert Riviera and can't think of a single bad thing to say about it. Great location. Spotlessly clean grounds that include a great pool and hot tub, a barbeque and a fire pit . More on the fire pit in a moment. Beautiful rooms with very comfortable king beds, and as far as value is concerned, well, the Desert Riviera gives new meaning to "value added". The special treatment we got upon our arrival (an offer of a beer, or a glass of wine and a goody basket in our room) was only the start of the things that were included in the price of our room. Things such as long distance phone calls to anywhere in the world. Use of bicycles for sightseeing. A large selection of DVD's to take back and watch on our large flat screen television. But the most impressive thing was the limo that was available to drop us off and pick us up. Not just from the airport, but for the entire length of our stay the limo was available to get us to and from wherever we were headed for dinner. Finally, a word about our hosts at the Desert Riviera. Larry, Patty, Judy, Steve and Casey were warm and welcoming, to say the least. I must also mention Bob. Bob is Patty's Dad and was actually the first of the Desert Riviera family that we met. He is a great ambassador for the hotel and a real character. One last word about the fire pit. Guests are invited to sit at the fire pit and share stories and drinks. This was a great part of our stay. Whether it was Larry holding court, or Steve and Judy visiting with us, it was always entertaining and a lot of fun. I know that we will not be staying anywhere else when we return to Palm Springs. It is simply outstanding.
Rick and Susette,
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildwestVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I think the Desert Riviera is a little "point of light" in Palm Springs! Incredible energy and calm. 5 stars.

The morning we were headed out for an 8-hour drive home, our truck broke down. The original estimate was that it would be repaired in a week! The owner Larry was so helpful and accommodating. Our room was already reserved for incoming guests, so Larry personally called and found us a very nice place to stay within walking distance. Then, he enthusiastically extended the invitation for us to come back and socialize, use the pool, etc. while we were waiting for the truck to be repaired. I intended to send my husband back on a plane and drive the car back alone. I knew I had a friend in Larry as I considered being alone in Palm Springs for a few days. That was incredibly comforting in a stressful situation.

The staff at Desert Riviera are really, really, really good people. Larry, Judy, Steve and Patty...it was nice to meet you and thanks for everything!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToTheGoodLife63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

My husband and I were in Palm Springs for 8 nights, from Feb. 10th to 18th, 2010. We spent the first four nights at a major resort in Rancho Mirage to fulfil a commitment there. On Valentine's Day we moved to the Desert Riviera, and to our relief we were able to check in early. Patty had left us a cute valentine on the living room table, such a nice touch, plus she also left chocolate and candy valentine treats tucked into the usual basket of goodies each room receives. We stayed in the fairly large double queen room, #10. It has a perfect little kitchenette so you can make your own meals or snacks whenever you want. The beds are GREAT. They are new pillowtop mattresses which provide an excellent night's sleep. The pool and hot tub are right outside every door, and I must add that the temperature in each is just perfectly set. Not too hot, and not too cool. Every morning the coffee is available in the office beginning at 6:30 a.m. (thank you Judy) and is refreshed throughout the day. There is a basket of fresh fruit for guests as well. Although we wanted to borrow a couple of bikes and do a ride-about, we just didn't have time. That's on the to-do list for our next visit. We also didn't have time to make use of the barbecue, which I noticed Steve/Gourmet Chef often presides over. There are many wonderful eateries close by, you just need to ask, or check the menus that are on hand in the office. One that Judy recommended for our last day was Spencer's Restaurant on the Mtn, and it was all she said it would be and more. Every morning we got up early and walked for about an hour. Although the hotel faces the busy E. Palm Canyon Dr., you can be in total quiet within seconds just walking a short way down one of the side streets. We loved the tranquility of laying by the pool and swimming in the early morning (until it got too hot around noon) and then later in the day as well. One evening when we weren't going out, we went to the office and Steve helped us pick out a couple of recent DVD's--so many choices! And if you finish your favourite novel, the lending library in the office is full of great titles. The best part of our stay was the homey family atmosphere provided by the owners, and the comfortable well stocked rooms. The only negative we could say about this hotel was that being in #10 put us only a few feet away from the highway curb, and since the headboard of the bed is along the wall against the highway we could feel every vehicle roaring by, particularly the large trucks. Despite that, the Desert Riviera is everything you will read about from other reviewers on Tripadvisor. Anything you need, or anything you need to know, just ask Larry, or Patty, or Judy, or Steve. They also check with you throughout the day to make sure you're being cared for, and that there's nothing they've left out. In the evening, there's always time to gather around the fire pit for talking and getting to know each other. If you are looking for a quiet, secluded (and romantic) getaway that is close to downtown Palm Springs, if you want wonderful vista views of the mountains, if you want to meet new and interesting people from all over the continent and farther, and if you want to relax in an immaculately clean, retro-style home-away-from-home , then you absolutely MUST check out this hotel! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancybteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We have visited Palm Springs many, many times over the years-rented private homes, stayed smack dab in the heart of old Palm Springs, but this is THE place from now on! The proprietors, Larry, Patty, Judy & Steve very obviously love what they do and have over the top pride of ownership of the place -the grounds are park-like, meticulously attended to grouds and furnishings...the furnishings are both comfortable and attractive-nothing was skimped on. The place is not big, approximately 11 rooms so you get to know everyone-should you choose to. The rooms are large, very clean and furnished with fun and flair very mid century yet not stark. The welcome is warm and inviting-they are consummate hosts and provide lots of extras such as treats and beverages in your room upon arrival, a limo at your diposal for a nominal suggested trip charge...bicycles for your use, on and on. Great pool, great jacuzzi. Rooms 7-10 could be a tad noisy as they back up to E. Canyon...Our room #5 was just perfect and not noisy at all. Beds are very comfortable. Obviously I can't say enough good things about the place and the owners...one last note they seem to get lots of return guests and judging by those that were there during our stay, all great, fun people. We will be back and soon too!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctheworldSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,544 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
575 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Riviera Hotel

Property: Desert Riviera Hotel
Address: 610 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Riviera Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing renovation of a beautiful vintage property, that takes you back to the old Palm Springs feel. Panoramic view of the San Jacinto mountains, impressing clean and manicured gardens. Sparkling pool and hot tub and poolside guest barbecue. Personal attention to every guest, Customer Service is #1. Come feel the vibe. (ADULTS ONLY PROPERTY) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Desert Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Riviera Palm Springs
Hotel Desert Riviera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing